Stag destination

Dubs can get train to tralee or killarney and get picked up there.

Top top spot. Albeit last time i was there was huge amount of people having their dinner in the evening time so be gone for that

@anon32894817 showing the auld fellas how its done

I’ll show respect for whoever I want.

Stop crying will you?

Lashing out because we attacked his favourite pub

that he was probably in once.

I could do with a good stag.

See you Saturday night.

Galway is hard to beat as its is relatively small and compact and there is plenty to do. What you really want to do with a stag is to get a mix of lads, many of whom will never have met to gel together for the night. The last thing you want is to have separate groups of lads staying together and not mingling on a stag. Disaster!. To get them to gel you have to get them to mix before the drink is had and you have to try and keep them out of the fucking pub until about 5 or 6 pm or it will degenerate into a mess and lads will get a slap/arrested/worse. I have been on two separate stags in Galway that essentially did the same thing (one as a groomsman and one as an invitee).

1. Stayed in the Travelodge (091) 781400), contact them directly and they will give you a fantastic price (beware cheap and cheerful) but I think I got a deal for €25-30/hd/night. Most lads only want a bed for the night, if any lad bellyaches about the room, tell him its the hen party he should be on and to fuck right off. Its close enough to the city to walk home if you are in a pinch but also a short taxi spin
  2. Booked Grandprix event at Galway city Karting (€50 per head and this will include paying for the stag). If you have 15 or 20 lads, it will force them to mix as there is a qualifier set of races and they are randomly drawn against each other. This worked extremely well for both stags I was at and made for an enjoyable day as lads were still talking about the karting that night. Its also only around the corner from the Travelodge. It gets the competitive juices flowing and gets lads mixing.
  3. Head to the Huntsman Inn (10 minutes walk or so from hotel) and there is good grub (€20-25 per head) to be had there. Ring ahead and book a table or two a week or so before when you have numbers as it allows you to be sure ye will have tables for grub. The food is top drawer there and there is always a lively atmosphere there. You wont have a tables per se because you will have fellas arriving in dribs and drabs and they can order and eat when other lads have finished
    After a bit of grub, either hang around for a few pints or head into town and hit the city centre hostelries. As I said already, in both stags I was on it worked well. All in all its a relatively cheap stag.

Karting and dinner :sweat_smile: It’s a fucking stag he’s organising not a kids birthday party

22 Likes

Grown me talking about getting a room for 20-30 quid a night :smile:

Wife probably hasn’t let them out in six months and they’re expected to sleep in a TB hospital converted into a hostel. 70-80 quid a night should be minimum for any level of comfort or stay home.

+1. Worried about lads not mingling enough and being a bit too drunk early on.

Hey, they are your cousins!

Getting into pubs in large groups is impossible.

Food is important tho — When we went to @Phil_Leotardo’s stag we played that bubble ball thing for over an hour and pretty much just went on the lash after it with a few nibbles — By 1 am we were all demented… I was back in the residents bar with a fish and chips with 2 battered sausages by 1.15 am

Sure you want everyone as demented as possible for maximum destruction

True dat — but you need lads to make it to a club to really make a show of themselves ---- When we were on @Phil_Leotardo’s brother’s stag, @ChocolateMice pulled what can only be described as an orca whale

Ah I’m only slagging, each to their own and that. I know a lot of fellas have an activity or dinner on their stag. I just know if you tried to feed the West Limerick gang they’d turn the restaurant upside down.

I’m in no way advocating for a proper set down meal here — Just some level of grub to begin with, then it’s every man for himself