Studying or not

You’re one of the better posters here but fuck off with yourself :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Say there’s enough of that local atm

I know in England they used to pay you to do certain subjects… possibly theology being one.

That’s great advice no? It’s all about knowing how to answer the questions which are asked. Working on exam papers is the best way of studying once you know the basics

Some people are different. Not all of us are teachers and none of us know his kid.

You’d fear for the kid when his father couldn’t pass a manual handling course there recently.

Ideally I want him local atm I’m nearly wiping his ass for him couldn’t see him surviving over there

Hahahahaha wasn’t that bud , twas a shagging COVID related bollox of a yoke , wiped out a nice little earner, hence I’m here on Tfk this morning

My mate’s father gave us great advice going in to the maths leaving. He was dropping us in the morning of the exam and the nerves weren’t great in the back of the car.

Don’t worry lads, ye’ll be grand

The only maths I know is £2.10 + Eddie = A pint of beamish. and I’m grand.

V good

@Corksfinedtboy

1. The normal route to being a normal (ie. Not PE) teacher is your d Arts at UCD/UCC/MAYNOOTH/NUI Galway and then you do another year or two (not sure which) at a teacher-training school in Galway or Dublin. That period includes a bit of time in the classroom.

2. What I really wanted to say as soon as I read your message is youve got to buy him grinds in Maths and Irish. And you’ve got to be ready to spend a serious wedge of cash in it.

There used to be weekend courses in the Institute if Education Leeson Street Dublin thayvwere seriously recommended but I’m not sure what the story is there with covid. Maybe they’re online now, I dont know. The key Maths teacher there used to be a guy called Aidan Rowntree, look for him, get whatever he’s selling this year. There was also an Irish teacher in my old alma mater, St Macartan’s College Monaghan, named Paddy Duffy (Padraig Duffy? Not the Gaa padraig Duffy from the Sem, a different Padraig/Paddy Duffy) who was highly regarded nationally and also a lovely lovely man and he would also be worth tracking down. However there’s probably more benefit from getting 1 on 1 private time from someone local.

I see esteban and Arthur are already arguing over the value of “money” in the Leaving and to be honest… Arthur’s right. The boys in the private schools aren’t any smarter but they’ve a vulture and system of excellence built up around them. That’s hard to bridge and it takes effort and investment. Hard work doesn’t 100% guarantee success on its own, you’ve got to work smart.

Who’s Eddie?

My mates father always said laughter was the best medicine.

He died of a septic big toe.

Practical advice like that is more helpful than stuff like “it doesn’t really matter, he’ll be fine” at this stage. That can come after

That’s fabulous advice , yes I am going to take onboard grinds, he needs them , I’ve a few bob put away for him so time to splash out, Bruce college do an intensive Easter study thing I’m going to look into it​:+1::+1::+1:

I presume he has teachers.

the man doesn’t want to be confusing the child with a load of shit off here.

His teachers are great , colaiste an spoirsid naoimh Bishopstown, they turn out decent boys, he loves it there now, gets on , is mature but I feel he may need the little bit extra , don’t want to push too hard so it’s a fine balance needed,his peers in general don’t know what they want bar the 3 in his class who want to go to trades

A parent taking an active interest in their child’s education is probably one of the biggest pre indicators of success

Success in exams is a lot to do with practising the exam. You are not learning history - you are learning how to answer a question in an exam about history.

You are a contradiction - you have a Robert Peelesque approach to raising kids and let the chips fall where they may but drove to Kerry to escape the zombie apocalypse of Covid. For a day.

Thanks