Being in your own car is a much more pleasureable experience than sitting on a bus. I agree that it will mellow farmer out.
I suppose so, heāll probably have a lot more legroom aswell.
farmerinthecity wrote:
As many of you undoubtedly know I am quite an angry man and Dublin Bus brings much of my rage out. The following instances brings anger tears to my eyes:
-
There are never queues as such for a bus and so people go to town on it. I always make it my business to let someone on in front of me who was there before me. I will never let someone on who has tried to use the fact that there is no queue to gain an advantage. Like this fook who used to get on at my old bus stop. Everyday he would stand in the position where the bis is most likely to stop so that he could get on first and get a seat for himself. I tried to physically push him out of the way once but he still wormed through. Then I heard him speak once on the phone and he had a thick Peopleās Republic of Cork accent - tosser
-
Another thing that pisses me off is people in seats upstairs on the bus deliberately sitting in the middle hoping that someone will sit in all the other seats apart from theirs as the bus fills up. It usually works. Then when someone gets on and asks them to move they make a big deal out of it as if they are doing someone a favour
-
I also canāt stand car drivers in the morning who wonāt let a bus out. For fook sake you are one person.
I will automobiled up from next Monday hopefully so my bus to work days will be coming to an end and I should be more mellow
Spot on Bandage with the people who make a big deal out of things. Just do your work and shut it. Bird at our level in my old work used to sigh constantly and would sometimes not even speak to you because she was ātoo busyā and everything was going āshiteā. The thing is it was going no worse for her than for the rest of us but she somehow thought she was more important
Farmer, this rage aināt no good, no sir. I think of Mr. Incredible hunched over the steering wheel in a frustrated rage crawling through traffic at the beginning of the Incredibles and I think of you(must be the hair).
Hereās a question or three- How far out of town do you live? How long does a bus/car take to get there? Have you thought of buying a bike? Youāll save a fortune and youāll be fitter and happier. And I wonāt even think of charging you for the advice.
Leg room is generally no problem on the new type of bus - you know the wheelchair accessible ones. Loads of it.
The older buses can prove to be a problem though especially if some seat is completely out of place and you donāt realise it when you sit down first
Also farmer if you lived near to Flango you could pick him up of a morning(possibly on a tandem) and ye might cycle in to town quickly, thus saving time and rage. I would even allow ye to give the finger to any cars you pass, thus enraging your former selves back to the future stylie.
People who are mean really annoy the scheidt out of me. Thereās a regular in my local who asked the bar manager if he could have a special deal on carvery lunches and weekend brunches because heās so tight. Heās now on half price 5 carvery dinners having been persistent in his campaign to such an extent that the bar manager said fook it to get him off his case.
I was down there on Saturday and one of the other barmen was telling me another one of his colleagues ended up having serious words with him the previous Sunday. Apparently a bigger crowd than anticipated came in for the Toulose-Leinster game late on Sunday evening and the barman was run off his feet. At one stage he looked further down the bar to see this tight fook in behind the bar pulling pints for himself down at one of the other taps on the sly.
He also takes home bog roll, sachets of sauce, vinegar and butter from the pub and on a few occasions heās been caught down in the kitchen helping himself to bread, ham etc and making sandwiches. He also leeches off a few lonely old codgers who buy him pints in exchange for having a bit of company and I donāt think heās ever bought a round in there himself. Heās about 60 years old and is a nasty, smelly fook.
Thatās shocking. Do they need his custom? Just bar him I say
Is that Fr Sean?
Were you one of the lonely old codgers who buys him a pint for the company?
BenShermin wrote:
More reason here why Flango and Farmer should ditch their cars:
Iād rather have my car even after seeing that. This malevolence towards cars is unbelievable. It really is a stupid argument you car haters are trying to make. FInd out who elses drives to work on here and donāt just single out myself and Farmer because we have actually engaed in this ridiculous debate.
Flano wrote:
BenShermin wrote:
[quote]More reason here why Flango and Farmer should ditch their cars:
Iād rather have my car even after seeing that. This malevolence towards cars is unbelievable. It really is a stupid argument you car haters are trying to make. FInd out who elses drives to work on here and donāt just single out myself and Farmer because we have actually engaed in this ridiculous debate.[/quote]
Iāll put my cards on the table. I work from home a lot at present. If I have to go to the office, I cycle to a dart, go to town and get a luas to Dundrum. This gives me wonderful thinking/sleeping/reading time. Also, no commitment to a car means, should the chance of midweek alcoholism arrive, I am in a position to take it.
Yeah the drinking thing is a plus I suppose. Not that Iām an alco or anything. Hints to the hints hints hints
Flano wrote:
Yeah the drinking thing is a plus I suppose. Not that Iām an alco or anything. Hints to the hints hints hints
Maybe not Flano, but drinking yourself to death is one of the kinder things a person can do for the environment.
- Shorter time on this earth means less pressure on the worldās resources.
- You wonāt be producing a load of kids if youāre an alco cos no woman will touch ya(unless youāre Frank from Shameless)
- You probably wonāt use much motorised vehicles on account of a) having your license taken when you did, or b)being too pissed.
- You become almost a ghost consumer, barely eating, no foreign holidays or fancy products, just popping down to your local on a regular basis.
Iād rather have my car even after seeing that. This malevolence towards cars is unbelievable. It really is a stupid argument you car haters are trying to make. FInd out who elses drives to work on here and donāt just single out myself and Farmer because we have actually engaed in this ridiculous debate.
How is it a stupid arguement? Please elaborate on the reasons why our arguement is stupid.
Unless youāre rich enough to be able to afford a chauffeur, not being able to drive in this day and age is like not being able to turn a computer on.
Whats your argument for disliking cars so much?
Flano wrote:
Unless youāre rich enough to be able to afford a chauffeur, not being able to drive in this day and age is like not being able to turn a computer on.
I presume being able to drive means you have a full clean licence? Do you have one of them? Pink coloured permit thingā¦
I donāt dislike cars. I like them for when I go surfing down the country. Some people need one for work. No worries there. Anyone who drives one into town everyday from an area serviced by public transport is an idiot wasting their money.
Make sure you answer the question about the licence.
I agree getting a bus when working in town makes sense because of bus lanes and such. No I donāt have a pink driving licence.
Unnecessary Pollution
Cause of traffic jams in areas well served by public transport
A cause of obesity
Backward
There I was today in my office struggling through my hangover, typing away (on here) when I heard a crash. I looked out the window only to see that some dozy fooker had crashed into the tree outside the office.
I should explain. I work in the middle of an industrial estate and the āroadā outside the office has about ten cars on it a day. Then this guy comes down speeding - canāt take the turn, loses control and crashes into the tree. Airbags and everything out.
A few lads went to his aid and he seemed ok. He checked the damage which was considerable - couple of grands worth at least. Then he calmly got back into the car and drove away.
What a dozy fookā¦
farmerinthecity wrote:
There I was today in my office struggling through my hangover, typing away (on here) when I heard a crash. I looked out the window only to see that some dozy fooker had crashed into the tree outside the office.
I should explain. I work in the middle of an industrial estate and the āroadā outside the office has about ten cars on it a day. Then this guy comes down speeding - canāt take the turn, loses control and crashes into the tree. Airbags and everything out.
A few lads went to his aid and he seemed ok. He checked the damage which was considerable - couple of grands worth at least. Then he calmly got back into the car and drove away.
What a dozy fookā¦
He was probably locked from last night. I was speeding like fook today to work and I was fooked from last nights festivities.