Suicide

Sometimes things seem insurmountable, permanent, or that they will never be the same again, but as quickly as things can appear bad they can also appear good again. If the sight issue is permanent thereā€™s no doubt youā€™ll adapt and change. You are obviously a highly intelligent and passionate person. Youā€™ll find ways to overcome this, while things seem bleak to you now, just persevere, donā€™t let those emotions consume you.

There might be support groups etc that could help you at this stage in your recovery. You are a good man. You can overcome.

Wishing you the best Sid.

Without you this place would be like Hamlet without the Prince.

I donā€™t know what to say to you mate. And being completely unqualified to offer advice I would be afraid i would say the wrong thing altogether.

But this too will pass. Keep fighting

Ask for help as others have said.

I wish you all the best @Cheasty

Best of luck @Cheasty. Hopefully getting that bit written out helps, and anything else you get from here. But make sure you take the next step and speak to someone else. Been a tough while for you, so mind yourself and keep strong

Stick with it @Cheasty. Things change.

Sorry to hear about your tough time of things Cheasty but Iā€™m wishing you the very best. You donā€™t deserve to suffer and as the lads mentioned thereā€™s lots of good resources to start you on the journey to better days. Take care of yourself.

Thatā€™s a very courageous post. And in it is resilience. You need help sorting out your thoughts and processing what you are going through. This has come on you suddenly and you were unprepared for it. Donā€™t be ashamed of your feelings or thoughts, most people get in that place from time to time. You have to cut your self some slack. Seek advice of some people who have gone through what you are going through. There is always a dawn. Look after yourself.

Keep going @Cheasty, your problems are temporary, that other solution is permanent. Weā€™re here for you mate.

A very brave post. Very sorry to hear of your difficulties @Cheasty. Things will improve in time.

I am sorry I made light of your condition. I didnā€™t know it was that bad. @Juhniallio was right to call me a cunt for it. I think this place can make you more toxic than you would be normally if you let it and people say some nasty shit at times.

for what itā€™s worth @Cheasty look at mymind.org - i had to help someone close to me who has been having a tough time dealing with life after a few setbacks and itā€™s reassuring to know there are people that can help.

There are people on mymind.org that can help with a variety of issues and if you say itā€™s covid related you will get it for free, itā€™s a great utility.

Be kind to yourself.

Iā€™m quite emotional after reading that. We talk a lot of shite here and fire barbs, but it pains me to know youā€™re in such a dark place. I know you donā€™t want sympathy but I am sorry and if I can do anything, let me know

You ought to get a second or third opinion regarding your eye condition - if itā€™s possible for you to do so.

Very sorry to read that @cheasty. Donā€™t have anything profound or practical to offer, just some solidarity I guess. Would echo what the lads have said about looking to speak with someone qualified in the area. Theyā€™ll hopefully be able to equip you with tools to help.

Having a gammy eye isnā€™t the end of the world, much as it may seem so now. Iā€™m an administrator on this forum, despite only having sight in one eye. And take @Fitzy too, playing an important squad player role in an over 50s football league winning team on the Central Australian coast.

:astonished:

Sorry to hear about your health difficulties @Cheasty. Thatā€™s a tough read. Weā€™re all rooting for you here.

Ah pal, you can still see out of one eye! Take the positive from that as hard as it is. Thereā€™s people in the world who have performed and done amazing things out of no sight! Keep the chin up, get an auld dog or that for a bit of company if anything, it might give you something to focus on, other than the things at hand! and do what the lads said, go for councilling! And keep at the HSE! Other than that, big solidarity from me :heart:

Take care @Cheasty Iā€™ve nothing really to add to the above sage advice given except definitely reach out for help

Ah here. Thats an incredible turn of events. 3 lads on the one forum!! Youll have cunts gouging out their eyes on here for a bit of extra attention. @Rocko can we get some sort of register of issues so we can know where not to attack lads? Also, it explains your decision to promote @briantinnion to help @Bandage with the heavy reading. I never got thatā€¦
@Bandage ill forgive you ignoring me at matches now on the basis of this disclosure.

@Cheasty your piece shows you have lost nothing in how your articulate matters. Even posts and lists you have compiled since you first mentioned your issues reflect your talent and knowledge in knitting words together into something engaging. I always find it entertaining.
Thanks be to God I have my physical health and now my mental health is reasonably good. But I know the debilitating affect of anxiety first hand.
As @estebandaface says, first and foremost, be kind to yourself, watch how you talk to yourself. Thereā€™s nothing snowflake like in that. And know there is help out there.
Iā€™ll PM you some info.
Take care.