Suicide

A lot of them deserved it donā€™t be so hard on yourself!!!

This is a form of entertainment for most of us here. Escapism or a way to step away from the mundane and step in to the maelstrom of this place.

Iā€™ve tried to quit here a good few times but always come back because there is more good than baf. You included.

You arenā€™t a bad person because you posted bad things here.

I wouldnā€™t even reply to someone who doesnā€™t post horrible things. I donā€™t think ive engaged with bland @Fran on here in 5 years.

True it was a throwaway remark made in poor taste but id never have made it had say I read your post earlier today, kicking a man when he is down is never on. I think itā€™s a good idea to disengage from certain threads for spells or altogether entirely(ive done this myself), there has been too much negativity in the world particularly in the last 36 months with Covid and now the war in Ukraine, I know you have a keen interest in debate but unlike in the real world it can fall into the usual bickering and stone throwing very quickly especially on certain threads and topics.

Maybe plugging out from the potentially negative ones here even temporarily may help if even in some miniscule way.

Water off a ducks back. Stand up. It may take time but stand up. Go easy on yourself. Life is hard enough and thereā€™s plenty to be hard on you without doing so yourself.

Go easy.

Thatā€™s really shit @Cheasty stay strong, youā€™re one of the good ones

Fuck it sid. I know weā€™ve never really gotten along but if push comes to shove Iā€™ll ride you.

Yeā€™ll be married before Christmas and divorced before Easter

Hang in there @Cheasty. Youā€™re too stubborn to quit. The storm will pass. The sun will shine again.

Talk to somebody, go for a walk, find a little joy in every day. Itā€™s perfectly ok to feel shite right now. But youā€™ll feel better some time in the future. Everything has a solution with time and perspective.

Thereā€™s a future version of you whoā€™ll look back at this time and be proud of your resilience.

Very brave post @Cheasty, Iā€™m not sure Iā€™d ever have the courage to lay it all out on the table like you have.

In a strange way we all care for each other here and thatā€™s been played out in the responses to your post and in the reactions to some of the recent losses weā€™ve experienced on here.

And weā€™re just a bunch of anonymous weirdos on the internet so donā€™t underestimate your own importance to the people you interact with and more importantly the ones who love you.

I think itā€™s fair to say that weā€™ll always be here for you so keep talking, writing and saying these things out loud or amongst us if it helps but also talk to your real life loved ones.

If TFK was made into a TV show it would be called Band of Toxic Brothers.

22 Likes

I doubt Iā€™d be caoable of handling grief in the way Geraldine and Redmond Murphy have after the death of their son Red Og. Remarkable people.

Mental illness is something we really donā€™t understand very well. I just hope weā€™re becoming more empathetic towards those affected

Lad at work hung himself at home Tuesday morning. 32 years of age, married last year to a girl that works with us. The most laid back, nicest fella you could meet, the last person you would ever think would want to do such a thing. Canā€™t get my head around it.

22 Likes

That happened with us in Wexford Town only about 3 months ago. Billy Walshā€™s brother it was. Only this lad was outgoing, funny kind of fella. Still canā€™t get head around it. I know how you feel pal.

Tough going ā€¦Didnā€™t he have another brother who died in last few years as well ?

Yeah, thatā€™s Ollie. The father Liam only died a few years ago as well. Ollie went his own way, Liam wasnā€™t well. Hard for a nice family.

Late to the party and just reading this now @Cheasty. Genuinely sorry to hear that you are going through this torment. Talking to professionals or people in general is the best way to deal with it. Iā€™m glad the TFK brotherhood has rallied around for you.

Have since learned that his wife, our work colleague, is 10 weeks pregnant with their first child. How do you even reason with that :hushed:

A proper selfish prick. And Iā€™ll take on anyone who wishes to get into it on this.

Jesus, thatā€™s awful, I assume he knew,
Itā€™s a horrific disease, there but for the grace of God