Suicide

Still in the Wash

Won a bit earlier I think. Remember driving over with him to a challenge match against Meath U21s in Cashel in the early 90ā€™s. I was minding the car.

he didnā€™t get in with the montgomerys did he?

No. Himself and Tom Kingston and a few more in the GAA circle

Were they the Reardons crowd?

:clap::clap::ok_hand:

Yeah. He married well now gone separate ways and her and old man took reardons back afaik and he has a few spots around cork himself. Built massive amounts of student accom around the college as well

Thinking of The Wash?

The Courthouse never had a GAA crowd in my memory,

Iā€™ve a cousin used to be in with them

Heā€™s going up the aisle again soon I think

Jesus would you be well

Youā€™d definitely deserve all the pain that comes with it for sure

The Courthouse is UCC GAA going back 20 years in the very least. Youā€™re a bit older than me so i canā€™t veryify pre 2000s

I didnā€™t know that, it used to be the Wash and the Western Star, two places to be avoided :+1:
Although the Star had its charms in fairness

The star was iconic. 05/06 it finished?

Star mentioned in one of Frank o Connor stories
He was being marched to prison
and the escort stopped at the star and they all had a few pints,
Gave their word they wouldnā€™t try and escape etc,
Irony of it , O Connors own brother was part of the prison escort.

Earlier than that Iā€™d have thought.

They used to have a bus outside to bring people into town. The bus driver went in to the pub to sound the klaxon one night that it was ready to go and when he came out one of my buddies was driving it down the roadā€¦he parked it up nicely inside near the mercy he didnā€™t chance the courthouse cornerā€¦

Except youā€™re wrong here. Completely wrong. Sometimes early intervention makes things worse.

The Star was iconic in the Crowey era. A crncky bollix but he needed to be.
A nice couple that used to run an establishment (maybe the Bull mcCabes ) bought it around 88, 89. They ran it well for a few years but yer man had an accident and not long after herself got cancer and passed away fairly quickly. It went downhil fair quick then.

How old are you?

I would have been in and out of the Western Star between 92 and 96 but I wouldnā€™t have a clue about the ownership etc
It was a great spot to set up for the day in after a Quarry cup match