It was there in 04 anyway
I reckon it was 06 the Western Star closed. In my memory I was there that year, and twas gone when we went back to Cork the following year
it was demolished and all by 06 iโd say.
Nicely done
A man moved into the estate 6 months back with his 2 kids he got legal custody of. Lot of similar hallmarks to my own story.
Fast forward to Friday and his 15 year old daughter killed herself.
Canโt fucking imagine how he is coping. Having gone through the divorce/custody process etc its harrowing and taxing enough in its own right. To then finally get a glimpse that theres light at the end of the tunnel only to have that extinguished into darkness, to lose your little girl, Iโm not sure how youโd go on.
Tbh, have only briefly spoken to the man a few times and same with the daughter but this really hit hard because of the parallels. Lot of emotion I thought Iโd clearly dealt with and moved on from brought right to the surface with the overarching thought thankfully being how lucky and grateful I am to find Iโm not in the same situation.
Can I ask, what is etiquette in these situations? Removal is in the house today 4-6 and mass tomorrow. Do neighbours in Dublin call into the home where the body is laid out or is it just family/close friends? Or is it more appropriate to stand outside the home as the poor wee girl is removed? Or is it just the mass that should be attended?
If you feel you know the dude well enough call in. Dont stay too long but do call in. That is fucking horrendous.
We had two suicides in one week in our park around 8 years ago. Next door neighbour and then 3 doors down. Go to the house, pay your respects, be there for him as much as you can. So sorry to hear about this, tragic. What your neighbour and his family are going through now we can only imagine. RIP.
Poor man. RIP.
Thatโs desperate, only a child. RIP that misfortune will never be the same again how could you.
Thatโs truly awful. Puts an awful lot of our own troubles and issues in perspective. May he find the strength to keep going. RIP.
Iโd agree with this @LionelRitchie
Just pop in and say youโre sorry and if thereโs anything you can do etc. then leave. Youโd never know, it might mean something to them
Yeah, will do that.
Iโm sure it will.
The wife is gone out to a double funeral in Caherconlish. Mother and son. The mother, well into her 90s died last week. The son took his own life the day after. He never married and lived his whole life with her. His heart was broken when she died. Very sad.
Take care out there lads.
Ah lord. I know a few in similar positions and it wouldnt surprise me to see it go the same way. Rural Ireland.
I heard that one. Very sad. The son used to work with my brother in law in the maternity hospital. Brother in law very upset over it.
All the staff are very upset.
Thatโs it.
In ways a strange relationship between bachelors and their mothers in rural Ireland.
I know of a case of a bachelor who was fucked on the drink. He dried out, dried in and out again and all sorts but to no avail.
Couple of years ago his mother died. He would have been in his early 50s. Stopped drinking and has stayed off it since. We surmised that he saw himself as almost protected by her (dinner ready every day) and when she passed he took the view that he needed to look after himself now, cook for himself and most importantly stopping the drinking nonsense.
Iโd seen that one and wondered was that the case. Jaysus, thatโs fierce sad. The poor man must have been heartbroken.
Very sad.
I donโt mean this in a bad way but he probably never matured. Never flew from the nest. Then complete dependence sets in.