Suicide

I agree and donā€™t agree with that bro. Depression is the widest ā€˜disorderā€™ known to man. We are essentially attempting to group together all instances of people with sympthoms of ā€˜feeling abnormally badā€™. Not only are there so many different ways of feeling bad but every single person in it has a different story to tell.

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 850977, member: 24ā€]I donā€™t agree with the first line Mac. I actually find it heartwarming to see the posts on this thread which show genuine insight and concern about this issue. I donā€™t think people are ignorant, quite the contrary in fact.

I have posted on here before about my battle with depression. I had it for years without telling anyone outside of my family about it. Then I was hit another wallop and I decided I had to tell my mates as I was in quite a bad way and they would be wondering about it. The reaction I got was incredible, people gathering around you. It really lifts your spirits

The majority of people in this world are very, very good.

Iā€™m not sure if that is what youā€™re getting at. I suppose no one is going to ask their mate if everything is alright all the time. I have had mates split up with their birds and I have asked them if they are ok. I have seen mates work 12 hours days for weeks and I have asked them if they are ok. I donā€™t know if there is much more that you can do.[/quote]

I get what youā€™re saying but its not really the point I was making. People whoā€™ve been exposed to the situation will tend to be better handled to deal with it. I still think thereā€™s plenty of people out there who have the opinion that itā€™ll never affect them or those around them.

Have you not learned yet that the consensus on TFK is usually the opposite of what mainstream thought is?! :stuck_out_tongue: Its part of the attractiveness of the place to be fair.

On a serious note, having been through what youā€™ve been through youā€™re far more likely to be aware of those around you. I think thatā€™s still a minority thing in this country. Youā€™ll still here the usual ā€˜sure heā€™s grand, doesnā€™t he have a great job for himselfā€™ or similar type statements when discussing these type of things with others. Maybe its more of a rural thing or maybe Iā€™m just unfortunate to be exposed to some very closed minded individuals.

As youā€™ve both said in a different way, people have to get on with their own shit too, and thatā€™s also human natureā€¦ Again, awareness of mental health issues should start at ten- not in your twenties.

[quote=ā€œMac, post: 850963, member: 109ā€] Bressie spoke at it and while I would have had both of them places as cunts beforehand you come to realise that at the back of it all theyā€™re really no different to any of us with the same things likely to keep them awake at night.

Bressie has spoken openly on national TV about suffering from panic attacks and depression. He says he combats it through exercise.

The lad is a fucking hero, in my eyes. (I spoke to him years ago when my band was playing a gig with his and he was sound, btw.)
I actually was going out with a lovely looking girl once and I confessed to her that I often felt depressed and suffered from panic attacks. Changed everything and we broke up soon afterwards. Pure fucking ignorance.

Speaking to a lad in the office here from Galway this morning. His view is that you just canā€™t start thinking too much about ā€œitā€ (i.e. ā€œlifeā€) or elseā€¦
He was devastated of course about the news but not surprised. Heā€™d heard the story of him heading out to the Laois game and turning backā€¦desperate no one could have turned his mind to a better place in the last few months.

weā€™re investing our money wisely in trying to stamp out the remaining 250 road deaths/PAā€¦thatā€™s the real issue of the day. Lets not get distracted with the few hundred lads slaughtering themselves in their 20s, Gayboā€™s not the face for that oneā€¦

What a stupid comment. Road deaths are a massive issue too, but thankfully less so than they were 10 years ago.
Agreed there needs to be more resources channeled into suicide prevention and awareness but why should be at the expense of a campaign that has produced fantastic results in cutting the number of deaths?

That is either the most pathetic attempt of a wind up ever seen or the most ignorant,brain dead comment you could ever make fuckin hell.

Wait until @mickee321 logs onā€¦

Canā€™t wait to see how edgy and controversial he is.

@farmerinthecity ā€¦what is your experience with psychologists?.. I think its very hard find a good oneā€¦ also I donā€™t understand the attitude to them in this countryā€¦everyone thinks you have to be nuts to go to oneā€¦in most other countries people use them as a way of processing their thoughts and clearing baggage from the pastā€¦

That post will probably get the highest number of dumb ratings yet.kid Iā€™m surprised at you.thats just a brain dead comment.ffs fuck off for yourself

[quote=ā€œMark Renton, post: 850966, member: 1796ā€]Exactly, pal.

Most of the people I know who suffer from it or have committed suicide, it has been down to loss and being single. -[/quote]

thatā€™s very trueā€¦if a person is in a dark place and cut off from others the voice in his head can totally distort his thinking in a very negative wayā€¦

What was this? Donā€™t remember hearing about it.

Youā€™d be surprised at the numbers of professional sports people who attend therapy particularly CBT therapists and im not talking about sports psychology. David Gillick spoke about it on the saturday night show recently.

They are out of reach for a lot of people unfortunately.

A decent one will be set you back 100 euro for an hour. If you need any form of regular medication then you need to consult a psychiatrist also. Another 150 per hour.

Post #476 on this thread and subsequent conversationā€¦

I would well imagineā€¦the isolation some of those top level athletes and boxers or even golfers face must be toughā€¦they are such single mindeded sports with huge sacrifices and such a fine line between success and failure that the comedown must be so fuckin toughā€¦

I went to a counsellor before and she called me a couple of different names during the process. She was beyond Shit and the worst ā‚¬50 I ever spent. It was like she wasnā€™t even listening. Just waiting for me to finish up so She could start talking. Having said that Iā€™m sure there are plenty of good ones. And if anything its good to talk.

Instead I read a few articles and a book about cognitative behavioural thinking. I dont know if you could call it self medicating but it helped. I came to the conclusion that I wasnā€™t depressed but Life had been very tough at the time and I was suffering. The black dog is never too far from the back door.

Iā€™d imagine it was only heard of in close Galway GAA circles. I probably shouldnā€™t even be saying it here. But obviously people were wondering where he was this year and my workmate says that he heard he was on his way to the Galway game (alone, in a car with teammates, or on the team bus, I donā€™t know) and turned back before he got to the ground.

shur why dont you just call up one of my family members like last time and ask them what i think as you havnt got the balls to ring me, then when you are done you can send facebook pictures of them around via PM ā€¦ freak