Suicide

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 851011, member: 686”]They are out of reach for a lot of people unfortunately.

A decent one will be set you back 100 euro for an hour. If you need any form of regular medication then you need to consult a psychiatrist also. Another 150 per hour.[/quote]

A psychotherapist, which would be who most people suffering depression, anxiety, grief would go see, is about 50 a pop. Still not cheap but there are also low cost/hse services… The girlfriend is currently on way to becomeing one.

[quote=“Whiplash, post: 851016, member: 638”]I went to a counsellor before and she called me a couple of different names during the process. She was beyond Shit and the worst €50 I ever spent. It was like she wasn’t even listening. Just waiting for me to finish up so She could start talking. Having said that I’m sure there are plenty of good ones. And if anything its good to talk.

Instead I read a few articles and a book about cognitative behavioural thinking. I dont know if you could call it self medicating but it helped. I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t depressed but Life had been very tough at the time and I was suffering. The black dog is never too far from the back door.[/quote]

what kind of names did she call you pal?

she has her fucking work cut out with you anyway

Anyone who has private health insurance through their place of work usually has a scheme where up to 6 sessions with either a counsellor or similar come as standard as part of the plan.

It was the only way the relationship was gonna last really, pal.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 851011, member: 686”]They are out of reach for a lot of people unfortunately.

Instead I read a few articles and a book about cognitative behavioural thinking. I dont know if you could call it self medicating but it helped. I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t depressed but Life had been very tough at the time and I was suffering. The black dog is never too far from the back door.[/quote]

I read a similar book…very good and it helps explains the reasoning for thinking a certain way…its a heavy reading …its a book you need to keep going back to just to remind yourself as the brain has a default it will always go back to unfortunately …you are spot on about psychologists. They can be very hit and miss…that’s why the good ones cost a lot more than 50 quid unfortunately…

[quote=“Whiplash, post: 851016, member: 638”]I went to a counsellor before and she called me a couple of different names during the process. She was beyond Shit and the worst €50 I ever spent. It was like she wasn’t even listening. Just waiting for me to finish up so She could start talking. Having said that I’m sure there are plenty of good ones. And if anything its good to talk.

In contrast, I went to a cognitive behavioural therapist and found it to be the biggest crock of shite going. I also went to a counselor and when I spilled my guts she had no problem asking me difficult questions which completely got me thinking in a different way. I didn’t even particularly like her as a person, it wasn’t like she was a kindly lady or someone I wanted to sleep with like Dr. Amalfi in the Sopranos, she was a good listener and then tough when she needed to be. I used to walk out of the sessions high as a kite.

For me, the solution is getting it all out. And in a sober environment. Life, it’s pretty fucking weird, yeah? Your head, it thinks mad things, doesn’t it? Talk about it. When you get to the point where you think like Bill Hicks, you’re doing fine. Sounds wanky but I mean it.

That’s my point.

Like everything you get what you pay for.

have you availed of this Mac?

I have indeed. Thanks for asking. And would recommend others do so.

its sarcasm you utter moron, we do fcuk all in this county for mental heath issues, nothing, its a stigma to admit you even have an issue. But we’ve had great investment in road safety and drink driving, because we can easily could the summon’s the guards issue on a sat night

I got it through my work too. One of the best things I ever did.

If Tony fucking Soprano can go to a therapist than any man should be able to.

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 851037, member: 129”]I got it through my work too. One of the best things I ever did.

If Tony fucking Soprano can go to a therapist than any man should be able to.[/quote]

Definitely robbing that quote thraw.

Just say it straight out then,no place for sarcasm on this issue either positive or negative.

Not only did Tony go. Paulie fucking Walnuts went to a therapist also.

“'ey!
I had a few issues, I went to somebody and I sorted them out…what’s the big deal?”

fuck off, you sanctimonious prick

Most, many or some people (it must be a lot anyway) who are at risk of committing suicide don’t want to be helped. And for a lot of them I would say, the one thing they don’t want is to be helped.

Wouldn’t necessarily agree but see where you’re coming from. Once people reach a certain point they’re beyond help. But getting to them before this happens will work at reducing the risk. In my unqualified opinion anyway.

Lads talking a lot of (but well meaning) shite here. Suicide is like a terrorist attack. You rarely see it coming.

Is there a reason the Hurlers name is not being used? @Rocko[/USER] & @[USER=9]Bandage.
I think his name should be used, positively. Even saying “Galway hurler” but not mentioning a name is adding stigma. I might be missing something here so would like guidance.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 851056, member: 273”]Lads talking a lot of (but well meaning) shite here. Suicide is like a terrorist attack. You rarely see it coming.

Is there a reason the Hurlers name is not being used? @Rocko[/USER] & @[USER=9]Bandage.
I think his name should be used, positively. Even saying “Galway hurler” but not mentioning a name is adding stigma. I might be missing something here so would like guidance.[/quote]

Nialls name wasn’t used last night as it hadn’t been reported publicly. No reason other than that I’d guess.

In my experience it’s often the opposite with suicide. No matter what is done it’s inevitable that it will happen. The person obsesses about it and it’s the only way out they can see and will openly talk about it.

I’ve been told of notes of my cousins case where the doctors remarked that he told them he was feeling suicidal. However at the inquest a doctor stood up and said at no point did he feel that the patient was suicidal. Figure that one out!