The vast majority of people that I know who have taken their own lives had it all to live for too, itâs really hard to know what causes it I have heard some vile stuff come out of people looking for answers to what has happened trying to some to terms with it
Itâs unfortunate that a Garda has the surname Bullying, that could lead to all sorts of misunderstandings.
Iâm always confused as to how people commit suicide throwing themslves into the Liffey. Youâre not going to be killed by the impact, itâs not as if youâre jumping off the Golden Gate bridge or anything.
The Liffey is poisonous.
Iâve swum in it numerous times and didnât I turn out grand
Another suicide in this village in the last few days - a 21 year old lad this time.
Tragic.
Another suicide around my neck of the woods last week. He had cancer but couldnât handle it. Left behind a wife and few kids.
The Offaly County Coroner has said that suicide is rampant and is a really serious situation in Ireland at the moment.
Dr Brian Mahon was speaking in Tullamore during the hearing of inquests this morning into the deaths of five people through suicide.
He said the situation appears to be particularly serious in rural areas, where there seems to be an increase in suicide deaths.
Evidence was given during this morningâs inquests on the deaths of five men in separate incidents.
We had a suicide less than a mile down the road 2 weeks ago and over the weekend there was an attempted suicide a half a mile away. The victim is seriosly ill in hospital.
It sends a chill down my spine to think about it but our local area is plauged by suicide.
We have an heavily staffed office in Ballina looking after road saftey spending a small fortune on national advertising each year and yet nothing is doen to address this silent killer.
Propietor of Fibber Magees hung himself in the run up to Christmas, only 34. Made the news years ago for being the first to be fined after the ban on smoking in pubs became law. Fined 10,000 but milked the publicity for all it was worth, Kevin Myers even did a piece labelling him a hero.
The silence of any policies from political parties in the run up to the election, in the general mental helth area, is deafening.
Christ this case sounds terrible
02/03/2011 - 15:33:44
The body of a man has been found at a cemetery in Adamstown in Co Wexford, it was revealed today.
The remains were found close to the grave of a young woman who was buried yesterday.
GardaĂ say they are not treating the death as suspicious.
The area has been sealed off and the body has been removed to Waterford Regional Hospital for a post mortem examination.
Ah Jesus, i got an awful pang reading that. Sounds a bit like the case in Galway recently.
Of all the places youâd expect to find a dead body it would be a cemetery surely?
Flano letting himself down again. Let me tell you, i DID minus you.
yeah heartbreaking stuff, the bird died from a brain hemorrhage completely out of the blue last thursday. they had just moved in together. he took his life at the graveside
I canât get this out of my head since i read Runts post. Its just horrible.
Did anyone mention the African lad in Kerry who killed his Polish bird and then jumped off a cliff, leaving his 2 year old nipper to fend for himself?
theres no votes in it.
if people gave a toss about mental health or were in any way grateful for positive moves made by a politician the good people of laoise offaly would have returned john moloney to the dail but instead they chose sean fleming and barry cowan one more useless than the other. i was as thrilled as any honest man watching the soldiers get their comeuppance but john moloneys frank admissions while a junior minister in this area regarding depression in his personal life did him great credit
Hate seeing this thread being bumped even though Iâve posted in it so much. This Adamstown case is messed up badly. My sisters sorta knew the girlfriend who died. That was tragic enough. What the boyfriend did was absolutely terrible. Itâs hard to even try put it into words what the 2 families must be feeling.
As terrible as it is to say, that Kerry case is possibly one of the most cowardly things Iâve ever heard of, if reports are true.