TFK exclusive: Donal Og's Gay

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]All the lads doing their best to brush this off as no big deal and saying ā€˜sure we all knew this for agesā€™ are missing the whole point of why this is such a massive Irish sports story and such an amazingly brave thing for the cunt* to do.
I canā€™t think of one other sportsman, in any country, at least definitely not in a popular team sport, who has come out as openly gay while still playing. In fact I canā€™t think of even any golfers or tennis players or the like where at least you wouldnā€™t have to deal with teammates etc.
This is a ridiculously brave groundbreaking move and itā€™s even madder that the first openly gay sportsman Iā€™ve heard of comes from the supposedly backward world of the gaa.
He definitely deserves a :D. Could have easily just stayed in the closet like all the thousands of gay soccer, basketball, american football, rugby etc etc players thereā€™ve been in the past.

*heā€™s still a cunt.[/quote]

He came out to his team mates years ago.

Justin Fashanu did it I think in the 80ā€™s. Ended up killing himself.

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]All the lads doing their best to brush this off as no big deal and saying ā€˜sure we all knew this for agesā€™ are missing the whole point of why this is such a massive Irish sports story and such an amazingly brave thing for the cunt* to do.
I canā€™t think of one other sportsman, in any country, at least definitely not in a popular team sport, who has come out as openly gay while still playing. In fact I canā€™t think of even any golfers or tennis players or the like where at least you wouldnā€™t have to deal with teammates etc.
This is a ridiculously brave groundbreaking move and itā€™s even madder that the first openly gay sportsman Iā€™ve heard of comes from the supposedly backward world of the gaa.
He definitely deserves a :D. Could have easily just stayed in the closet like all the thousands of gay soccer, basketball, american football, rugby etc etc players thereā€™ve been in the past.

*heā€™s still a cunt.[/quote]

there was a high profile NRL player who came out as there are NFL players as there as NBA basketballers - im not sure any of them would consider donal og a sportsman though

He waited until he retired as well. Had he said this mid-career with Cork it could have counted for a lot more.

When I read Donal gā€™s memories of his awkward moments going on dates with girls, Iā€™m thankful that heā€™s prepared me so that a now similarly anticipated future admission from Jugs will no longer be such a revelation.

Has he retired? changes it slightly if he has but I think heā€™s carrying on.

Who are the openly gay rugby league, basketball players etc Ncc? Definitely the first from ā€˜these islandsā€™.

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]Has he retired? changes it slightly if he has but I think heā€™s carrying on.

Who are the openly gay rugby league, basketball players etc Ncc? Definitely the first from ā€˜these islandsā€™.[/quote]

these islands??? as in - ireland? the aran islands?lambay?irelands eye etc - glenn crowe for a start

You really are a sad sad man

in fairness it was funnyā€¦:thumbsup:

Checked to here

I wonder if Wikipedia are going to send personal apologies to all those theyā€™ve doubted over the years. Their crusade has been vindicated with this revelation.

im more interested in hearing what the little cork bollix has said about kilkenny fansā€¦and whats the story about himself and davy !!

Pat Patterson is probably the most famous openly gay sportsman in the world.

Did a bit of googling there and it appears there was an NRL player who came out as gay and then played on for a couple of years back in late 90s. Created a massive stir in Australia apparently.

Six sportsmen from the four main US team sports have come out as gay but none while they were still playing. Some Amaechi basketballer was the latest about five years ago.

Whatever way you look at it, itā€™s a groundbreaking move for someone from the British Isles to do it, and in such a manly sport like hurling.

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]Did a bit of googling there and it appears there was an NRL player who came out as gay and then played on for a couple of years back in late 90s. Created a massive stir in Australia apparently.

Six sportsmen from the four main US team sports have come out as gay but none while they were still playing. Some Amaechi basketballer was the latest about five years ago.

Whatever way you look at it, itā€™s a groundbreaking move for someone from the British Isles to do it, and in such a manly sport like hurling.[/quote]

why do KK fans worry what a homosexual has to say about them.?
tyrpical paranoia from an inbred shower of gombeens.
are u also trying to insinuate that Donal og was involved in an illicit way with davy fitz now as wellā€¦
jesus if this was over on cahills homo website ud have a warning alreadyā€¦

These islandsā€¦ Fucking hate that

Says the gobshite who paid for the queens jacks roll.

What do you care?

Sure you recognise six counties out of this island as being a part of the UK.

Up The Raā€¦

koh

[quote=ā€œnorth county corncrakeā€]+1

koh[/quote]