TFK Travel Thread 2009

Hello,

Ive been planning on attending a London derby involving West Ham at some stage. What ones would be the worst for violence do ye know?

[quote=“Eric Bristow”]Hello,

Ive been planning on attending a London derby involving West Ham at some stage. What ones would be the worst for violence do ye know?[/quote]

Charlton…

[quote=“Eric Bristow”]Hello,

Ive been planning on attending a London derby involving West Ham at some stage. What ones would be the worst for violence do ye know?[/quote]

West Ham are fackin maggy two bob cants

The War Office and myself are visiting Rome for 5 days in early Feb. staying in the city centre. Any suggestions regarding places to eat/drink/avoid would be welcome.
The “don’t come back” suggestion has been provided already, so thanks in advance. Il Papa is aware of my impending arrival.

AS Roma fanatic NCC is bound to have a few tips Boxty

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]The War Office and myself are visiting Rome for 5 days in early Feb. staying in the city centre. Any suggestions regarding places to eat/drink/avoid would be welcome.
The “don’t come back” suggestion has been provided already, so thanks in advance. Il Papa is aware of my impending arrival.[/quote]

watch your pockets in the Termini
catch a game
have you been in Italy before? at restaurants ,the Primo & secondo is one part of Italian culture that we are missing out on by not doing
San Crispino for Gelatos

What ever you do don’t have your lunch in any of the restaurants near the colussiem…Fucking rip off…30 euro for a pizza…Greasy Italian cunt

whatever you do boxty dont take travel advice from a bog monkey like puke

I am seasoned at the travel lark ncc…I would also advise boxty not to try and snare pigeons at the trevi fountain even though it is over-run with the cunts, you will only get the quairest of looks

Rome’s a cracking city Boxty. Go there with work a couple of times a year. Have a couple of nice restaurants but can’t remember the names of them when I’m pissed. I’ll come back to ya on it though.

It’s not a Fs trip I’m on Puke eventho’ I admire your witty riposte. Appreciate the caution/s comments elucidated so far.
Admitting to being a bit of a greenhorn at that soccer lark, Would any worthy team be kickin’ that weekend?
FOOTNOTE: Is Liam Griffin still an advisor at Lazio?/

http://www.romantickets.com/v01/buy.asp?lang=it&evento=Biglietti%20AS%20Roma%20-%20Genoa&id=264

dont go to the Curva Sud

The fascist derby. Does anyone care?

Boxty,

Stayed in this place http://www.hotelmellini.com/ and was very happy. About 10/15 minutes walk from the spanish steps and not far from the rest of the attractions

Ate in place called Capranica on P.zza Capranica which was excellent. It’s not far from the Panthenon.

[quote=“Fran”]Boxty,

Stayed in this place http://www.hotelmellini.com/ and was very happy. About 10/15 minutes walk from the spanish steps and not far from the rest of the attractions

Ate in place called Capranica on P.zza Capranica which was excellent. It’s not far from the Panthenon.[/quote]
Nice one Fran. I’m going over with MRS.GSH in mid Feb for gceann cple oiche.
That hotel looks nice.
I like the offers for non-refundable.
Yours in being thrifty,

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]Nice one Fran. I’m going over with MRS.GSH in mid Feb for gceann cple oiche.
That hotel looks nice.
I like the offers for non-refundable.
Yours in being thrifty,
GSH.[/quote]

I went for the non-refundable offer myself when booking a hotel in Berlin the weekend before Paddy’s. Some seriously decent rates to be got out there.

Rome is an amazing city and while this place isn’t the ritz or anything, it’s nice and quiet, does a decent buffet breakfast and is within walking distance of all the sites.

Early spring is the best time to visit also as it’s not too busy

Has anyone ever being to Lisbon?

Going on a bit of a lads weekend there next week - heard its got a very good nightlife.

Back from 5 days in Rome - a fine city with wonderful sights.
As the War Office indulged in some retail therapy, Boxty perched outside a small restaurant for a coffee to be joined shortly by a Gorgeous Italian Rideable Lovely who with a querulous wink sat down across from me.
B: Hello!
G: Bonjourno - hello!
B: Ah, you speak English.
G: A ltle.
B: How much?
G: 50 the lot.
Fascinating really.

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]Back from 5 days in Rome - a fine city with wonderful sights.
As the War Office indulged in some retail therapy, Boxty perched outside a small restaurant for a coffee to be joined shortly by a Gorgeous Italian Rideable Lovely who with a querulous wink sat down across from me.
Fascinating really.[/quote]

so did you dick her? 50 is very reasonable

did you watch AS Roma? you would have seen 3 cracking goals?

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]Back from 5 days in Rome - a fine city with wonderful sights.
Fascinating really.[/quote]

reasonable enough, mgg quoted 1800 + vat earlier