That's it ! everybody in RTE should be executed forthwith

The BBC will be kicking down the door otherwise

Ray D’Arcy will rule the airwaves if the BBC got their hands on him.

Just for a bit of balance this fella has been reasonably positive most of the time I think.

Light a candle for RTE lads. The COVID money will be gone soon

Will ye stop playing that tape in the airport with the dopey cunt jabbering on in Irish about the Covid?

Christ I hope so. The noise of it in certain corridors is mental.

He sounds like that cunt from Galway doing the GAA commentary on TG4.

Big shoes to fill

Why the long face?

Have the Democtic Party ratified this yet ???

Are they still paying Marion Finucane? Someone should tell payroll.

27 Likes

Objectively, for a company losing 7 or 8 million per year, it is a big problem. The talent are overpaid, staff/contractors whatever you want to call it.

You could broadcast two dogs riding on the side of the road at 9:30 on a Friday night and it will still do a decent number due to viewer inertia. I can’t see how those salaries are justified.

They could get 2 people in for what they pay Tubridy. They could then each focus on making a good radio show and a good TV show rather than 1 overstretched, overexposed guy failing at both. A lot of the top lads produced their shows as well, presenters need to look more at what they’re putting their name to. Many RTE presenters don’t seem to really know their subject.

With the talk of the BBC, the gravy train could be pulling in.

Was listening to Brendan O’Connor platitudes at the weekend on misogyny. He had all week and came with that shite.

Marian Finucane was a better calibre of broadcaster than him that stayed on too long. I’d actually have been interested to hear her take. In mitigation, Brendan was petrified of saying the wrong thing.

The 450 grand for D’Arcy is the real headshaker.

It’s bizarre. He was reasonably popular about 15 years ago but everything he has touched since turns to shit, his numbers are consistently on a downward trend and he’s widely viewed as an absolute dickhead.

He probably just needs one more big contract to set up the pension and then they can let him go.

Would they all be entitled to pensions from rte ? I thought I read before that they are seen as contractors .

No I’m say he is funding his own pension which is why he might need a couple of more years at the trough to fill it out. Plus he’s 58 this year and can’t draw down a pension until he’s 60 so he’ll have to cling on at least for another couple of years.

If he is getting a pension out of RTÉ then he’s almost certainly not a legit contractor and he’d have even bigger problems.

He’ll work til he’s 70 if he keeps getting those contracts …