did you view the piece? Where is the haranguing in public?
You haven’t seen it
did you view the piece? Where is the haranguing in public?
You haven’t seen it
RTE are anti working class people, always got that impression. I think what they’re after here is the lad on the dole, doing nixers with 5 kids that is on a package.
People might say that’s ridiculous but I get the feeling that when they go into certain areas, they are going out of their way to interview the biggest headbanger they can find. As the lads said, they never got the cameras to Roundstone or wherever the golf and Sean O’Rourke incident was.
I dont think fellas should be going abroad, but I reckon being shown doing this could have dire consequences for someone in the community so doing this is disproportionate on the person filmed.
Lady accross the road from me died of it, seventies, I’d say if the family thought a neighbour had been away in Spain there’d be war.
were they harangued in public, I’ve only seen a 30 second clip showing legs only except for a couple of lads who obviously agreed to be interviewed,
God forbid RTE would ask why so many people are getting infected in hospitals.
Next they’ll be standing outside your own front door and shoving a microphone in your face because most infections come from households.
Prime time sir, care to comment why there’s an extra car parked outside your door?
Did you view the piece?
100%
People should not be going abroad but when the gov allow it happen then why should these people be shamed? What laws have they broken, you can’t go 5km from your home but you can hop on a plane for a holiday.
Explain themselves? You realise the planes are allowed fly? Would you explain yourself for getting a bus too?
Unless they live less than 5km from the airport then they shouldn’t be travelling there.
I’m not even talking about RTE here, I’m more thinking of people they’d meet out and about, at work etc.
They can’t have been ignorant of the situation and the very strong advice to stay at home.
And being honest there’s nothing but legs in that clip except for the people who clearly agreed to speak, fair play to them for that anyway.
who was shamed? There was nobody outed - two lads gave their spiel and consented to do so. Doubt they’ll feel much shame. Everyone else left without being filmed.
The only sensationalism is the reaction here.
There should be a district court sitting in T2 every day, where people should be brought to explain themselves.
Would it not be cheaper to shoot them as they cross the tarmac to the arrivals?
deep down the Irish love an informer, RTE are pandering to this dark desire
it’s not the lads going on holidays during a pandemic, while the vast majority of people are staying within 5km not visiting loved ones and unable to bury loved ones properly that are the problem, they’re grand. It’s RTE reporting on it that’s the problem.
Fucking hell
RTE can’t create a divide in society - they can only report on it
So can someone now be fined for going on a foreign holiday?
If they can’t then the blame lies 100% with the government. It’s either allowable or it’s not but they have made a massive grey area on this. The opposition have been dreadful throughout Covid with their flip flopping but on this issue they are very clear on their position and what government are doing wrong. International travel should not be permitted and gov either need to allow it or ban it - not sitting in the middle ground of telling people not to do it but allowing them to take a chance and do it anyway.
we’re aligned with the European Union on foreign travel, no?
The same RTE who refused to take action against their top earners when they broke laws.
We can do what we want.
The Gov had no problem fighting the EU when it came to letting a MNC off with their tax bill.
Why don’t they challenge the government that allow you go on holidays but have made it illegal to go 5km from your home?
Yeah that is in essence a lot of it. It appeals to the lowest common denominator.
I thought it was a bit disproportionate the response to people coming from Lanzarote who’s incidence rate is much lower than ours. I wouldn’t do it myself but I think it is disingenuous to suggest that RTE were just trying to portray what is happening at airports. The line at the end was a giveaway to their true intent i.e. others were unwilling to comment or be broadcast which implied they were unashamedly doing this. Then when you see there were 66 cases in an ABP plant in a small town in Bandon a day or 2 ago which was the potential to infect half of West Cork and no one seems to care in RTE or social media it tells you everything you need to know.