reading that I realise I made an embarrassing error, it refers to a red 9 or 10 of course.
How about not robbing at all when thereâs a shite trump out and you have a few anyway? Controversial but Iâve done it
That is guaranteed to raise voices.
âWhat the fuck? You never fucking picked the 3 of heartsâ
âI dont fucking have toâ
âŚ
If you donât rob, your hand goes down. Hard enough to account for the tricks after that though.
Wonderful thread @Fagan ODowd. I could write a book about itâŚ
My favourite memory (not in a personal sense) involves a well known potless neighbour, who got to the final of The Abbey Bar hamper about 30 years ago.
The Hamper included the usual goodies, Turkey, Ham, Whiskey etc.,
He was then the local grave-digger, a bachelor and well known for a fondness for porter. Heâd drank about 12/15 pints before the Final which would be no bother to him.
In the throes of death, as the game ebbed to itâs end, he summoned more porterâŚ
To cut a long story short, he travelled the 8 of Hearts (trumps) to his left (one before the dealer)
Winner all rightâŚ
He then lead the 7 of hearts (beaten by the Queen) before claiming victory with the Knave and Five in the latter stages. All the time the hoor knew it was in the pot, but the banter, dropping cards, calling for more drink, cursing all round him was colossal entertainment.
Of course 25/30/45/110 are great games, I love them, you need good players, but the local/Christmas Hampers are a bit of fun.
Hmmm not sure youâre allowed do that. There might only be a tenner in the pot but youâd get the head boxed off you in the local if you tried it.
[SIZE=3]I rarely sit in but I love watching the old lads in the corner roaring at each other. There was a qualifier and semi for the Christmas Hamper one year while I was home and I made the final, got the old lad to stand in for me in the final as I probably wouldnât have been around and the auld lads wouldâve been seething if I walked out with the hamper after only putting in two quid.
There was massive controversy in the final last year as one of the finalists was drunk as a lord, kept playing out of turn, dropping his cards, not stealing etc yet still managed to win. Thatâs the trouble with 45 or whatever your having, if you arenât getting the cards there is fuck all you can do. [/SIZE]
[QUOTE=âJulio Geordio, post: 1054926, member: 332â]Hmmm not sure youâre allowed do that. There might only be a tenner in the pot but youâd get the head boxed off you in the local if you tried it.
[SIZE=3]I rarely sit in but I love watching the old lads in the corner roaring at each other. There was a qualifier and semi for the Christmas Hamper one year while I was home and I made the final, got the old lad to stand in for me in the final as I probably wouldnât have been around and the auld lads wouldâve been seething if I walked out with the hamper after only putting in two quid.
There was massive controversy in the final last year as one of the finalists was drunk as a lord, kept playing out of turn, dropping his cards, not stealing etc yet still managed to win. Thatâs the trouble with 45 or whatever your having, if you arenât getting the cards there is fuck all you can do. [/SIZE][/QUOTE]
Highlights the benefits of 110. That drunken lad would have been overreaching with his bets.
Agreed. @TreatyStones[/USER] could you [USER=258]@cluaindiuic[/USER] [USER=686]@Kinvaraâs Passion put your gambling and IT skills together and set us up an online 110 site.
Great sport last night egging on the drunk lad at the table. âYou were right to go for itâ "you have to take chances to win it " etc after he went 20 without the 5 while they were on 80. His partner seething opposite.
Were ye playing straight out or was he going to be stuck on 90 anyway?
Straight out and I actually got that wrong. They were on 100, it put them back to 80.
But the fucker jinksed the next hand to win it.
[QUOTE=âTreatyStones, post: 1054937, member: 1786â]Straight out and I actually got that wrong. They were on 100, it put them back to 80.
But the fucker jinksed the next hand to win it.[/QUOTE]
Serves ye right for tormenting him. How long do you think Iâll be waiting for this 110 website to be setup?
A very long time.
Nothing like a 6 on a Sunday evening during the lull between the end of a match and the start of the music
Progressive 25 isnât a bad way to spend an evening, although itâs years since Iâve played in one.
I have no idea whatâs being discussed here but feel compelled to learn having read the thread
The only way to learn is to play.
If you were to watch the game it looks like there are no rules whatsoever.
[QUOTE=âTreatyStones, post: 1055031, member: 1786â]The only way to learn is to play.
If you were to watch the game it looks like there are no rules whatsoever.[/QUOTE]
Grand, Iâll be over in an hour with a bottle of whisky and my wallet
Can someone explain this to me?