The 45s or alternatively 25s or 30s thread

3 x 3 is great but youā€™d need your wits about you. Best thing is that virtually every card is in play in every deal, 46 out of 52 including the head deck.

Random draw for partners. Cast for first 3 jacks and first three aces.

First to 5 games wins - the maxi-rubber, as itā€™s known.

No ham unfortunately. 20 notes a head, so the winners split ā‚¬180 between them but the glory of the parish is whatā€™s most at stake. Worst thing is having one good partner and one bad one. Wiring is virtually impossible. Iā€™ve a brother playing who takes a scientific and analytical approach to playing cards, hence heā€™s a useless, irritating cunt.

There will be blood.

Winner, winnner Chicken Dinner!!!

My wordā€¦about to get a game of 110 goingā€¦ Unreal.

110? In Cork? Must be a city thing.

25 with partners is the only job,absolutely no room for fuck ups

Live updates,

@ChocolateMice ?

Winner.

Bottles of whiskey and 5 hours of 45s last night. Just waking up now. Seedy. But I played some cracking cards on the night.

Had a nice rubber of 45 after the match yesterday evening. Great way to pass an hour.

Your two euro donation to my drinking fund was greatly appreciated :dollar:

Played several games of 25 with an 89 year old man, a 73 year old man and a 65 odd old man in the local at home last Friday night.

I was happy with my haul of 6 games out of a rough total of 15 played.

Cue many comments of ā€˜itā€™s not off the grass he licked itā€™ as my Dad was an expert 25 player.

Didnā€™t teach me a bloody thing though. I had to learn it all myself.

:pint:

Fuckit Iā€™d love a game of 110 now.
While in Cork you should try to learn Don, a really great card game played in pubs around the city.

I taught a couple of lads I lived with in college to play just so Iā€™d have someone to play with. It was tough going, the game makes no sense really.

You said 2 beats 7 the last time?
Ya but they were black cards.

So the ace is one?
Ya. Well unless itā€™s a Trump, then itā€™s worth more than a King. Or unless itā€™s the ace of hearts then itā€™s worth more than a king or the Trump ace.

Ha take that you cunt.
No lad you lost, the 5 is only good if itā€™s Trump.
Ah your fucking making this up to take our money you cunt.

And explaining the rules is the easy part. Explaining how to play is nearly impossible and no matter how long your playing some cunt will always stick in you, saying you did it wrong.

Myself and @TreatyStones took down the pot in 110 the second morning of a stag recently. Early pints and cards are one of the great pleasures in life

@Fagan_ODowd you could have a 45 drive in your bread and jam shop. Auld lads love 45 and they love bread and jam. Itā€™d have to be separate though, no eating jam at the table you cunts the cards are sticky

A very formidable team.

We didnā€™t even need the cards

Theyā€™d ruin the cards.

110 with partners - a truly noble game :clap:

Great craic.

The sign of a great partnership is when you can call 20 knowing your partner has the 5 :grinning: always causes ructions.

Sure I only picked it up in the deal.
Did you fuck, how did he go twenty with no 5. He only had the jack and the king, sure you wouldnā€™t go ten with that ye wiring cunts.
Ah you canā€™t beat a good partner, I knew heā€™d help me out.
Cue seething all over.

Lads, whatā€™s the best way to learn the game properly? Without being humiliated by the auld fellas locally (ideally)ā€¦ I was taught the basic workings of the game when I was a young fella but the grandfather died before I had any real interest in learning.

Is it just to watch a game (is it dying out a bit, I donā€™t hear of it as regularly anymore)? Itā€™s one Iā€™d love to learn to play, Iā€™d say Iā€™d be class at it :grinning: