The Battle for Sam 2009

Yep but the ref was right to bring it forward too. Stupid foul initially and insane dissent.

Both referees did well today I felt. Really well. They are always going to miss the odd decision but they applied the rules well in general.

was the clare goal genuinely good or is someone taking the piss?

I dont believe theres any other footballer in the country who would have finished it with the style a grace in which he did.

It was sort of bundled over the line. I couldn’t see it proper at the match and of course RTE only showed about 2mins of the game so there were no replays.

Think Marty said yesterday that Kennelly has the same amount of All-Ireland medals as the entire Cork squad put together.

Good one Marty :thumbsup:

[quote=“Pikeman”]Think Marty said yesterday that Kennelly has the same amount of All-Ireland medals as the entire Cork squad put together.

Good one Marty :thumbsup:[/QUOTE]

Ah he never said that did he? Cheeky wee cunt, I love it.

Marty

Thats brilliant. Ah boy Marty

Liam Sammon has given Nicky ‘bad attitude’’ Joyce the boot off the Galway panel. ‘Missing training’ is the official reason but the two have never got on. Bold move by Sammon two weeks before the Connacht SF.

Joyce is very decent, thats a big move.

Wasn’t Nicky the captain this year or was that just for the FBD?

They’ve reduced the price of tickets for the cork kerry replay. Covered stand tickets 25, uncovered 20 and terrace 15 quid. Throw in 5 bells on Saturday

What price were they on Sunday? It was 20 blips into the terraced section of Cusack park.

Nicky Joyce is an excellent forward but if he is acting the maggot then there’s no option really in today’s environment.

Galways one of those counties that retains the captains spot for a member of the county champions, a practice I personally think has had its day, so Nicky was just filling in during the FBD. Our captain this year is the fearless and awe inspiring Damien Burke from Corofin!

they were all a fiver more on Sunday

Agreed and the fact that he acts more like a Brogan than a Joyce on the pitch means he wont be any major loss in the grand scheme of things.

Good footballer Nicky in fairness although he can be hard to handle but he’s a nice ;ad all the same.

Do you know the real reason Lazarus?? Don’t think it was for “missing training”

What kind of a job did they do to the covered terrace in Cusack Park runty…

[quote=“KIB man”]Yep but the ref was right to bring it forward too. Stupid foul initially and insane dissent.

Both referees did well today I felt. Really well. They are always going to miss the odd decision but they applied the rules well in general.[/QUOTE]

The Laois man gave one of the most inept performances i have seen at a Cork-Kerry match in a long time. The stuff he missed for both sides was very poor, and his adding on of minutes, coupled with the ridiculous free against Kerrigan from the last kick out were from the old school book of playing for a draw.

Now maybe Kerry “deserved” a draw for their determined come back, but time was up, as the idiot had indicated himself. As a referee myself i know that 45’s, frees etc are not a reason to add on time, they are just part of the game.

But on the game itself, I really don’t know what game some of ye were watching, but ye are probably wumming. Cork totally dominated over 3/4’s of the match with only about 5 players playing to potential, Anthony Lynch, Miskella, Shields, Canty,Pierce O’ Neill and at a stretch Alan O’ Connor playing well. I thought most of the Cork forwards were well below par, even though Kerrigan and Kelly did a few good things in the first half, but Kelly was cat in 2nd half.
But how disapointing were Kerry. I love beating the fuckers, and by more the better, but i genuinely enjoy the way they play, but yesterday was Puke football from them. Galvin was good, and the 2 younger O’ Se’s were superb with Dara doing a few good things, but the rest were a joke. Cooper will never play as bad, Kenneally overran every ball in 1st half, Declan O’ Sullivan was putrid, Tommy Walsh was only there for 7 mins and you could put him down as wasteful. He is wasteful quite alot in fact. To me Donaghy will always be a far better operator than Walsh, who i think is lacking basic skills. Tommy Griffen was destroyed, O’ Mahoney was poor. It was amazing to watch. In fairness Kenneally had a better 2nd half. Fair play to Bryan Sheehan, he kicked some lovely scores, but the reason he gets a hard time lads is because he’s a lazy bollix, its a well known fact and i have seen him numerous times for CIT as well as Kerry, thats why he looses out sometimes.

On the replay, i’d say its as open as last sunday. Both teams have huge room for improvement and i expect a great night and a huge crowd. Still Kerry are without Donaghy i give Cork a slight win. Great to see Kerry outnumbered in their own stadium as well, it could be 5 or 6 to 1 next week.
Come on da rebels!!!:smiley: