The Battle for Sam 2009

2-15 to 18, GET IN THERE

Dublin win.

Shower of knackers.

FT Dublin by 3, what an epic

Great game alright. If only all football matches were as entertaining.

Thanks for the updates lads, sounds like it was an absolute cracker. Great scoring in fairness from both teams. Kildare will be a threat later in the year still maybe?

Yeah wouldn’t like to get Kildare in the qualifiers

[quote=“The Dunph”]No way should Dublin have won that free. Shocking decision there, probably cost Kildare any chance they had. :guns:

Dublin by 2. 1 min left.[/QUOTE]

Have to agree with Sledge here - shouldn’t have conceded a free but one of the Kildare lads was just reckless with his attempted tackle and gave the free away.

That was a magnificent game of football.

Kernan called it right in the commentary - Henry and Bernard Brogan were excellent and Cullen was an inspiration when he was on.

That’ll stand to both teams but particularly Dublin will benefit from a tough test that they came through and Gilroy got to have a look at Whelan, Cullen and Ryan.

Thought the negatives for Dublin were:
Brennan - shocking punch and wasn’t playing great anyway
McConnell - gave it away in tackles too much
Magee - blown away by Earley a bit
Flynn - won some cracking ball in the second half in particular but his shooting and passing were brutal
Connolly - not on that long obviously but had his one shot that was a poor wide. Not quite good enough, at the moment anyway.

Great match though.

What a game that was. Fair play to the Dubs-some heart and battling to the end from them. Henry was superb at the back.
Whlan came on and scored a great point but was absolute shit after. Time to call it a day lad.
Some great scores taken by both sides.
Could finally be the year for the Dubs

Classic game earlier - well done to both sides, it was really super to watch as a neutral. Good to see Bernard Brogan and Mikey Conway backing up my claims as to their impending greatness too. :guns:

Can’t go into it too much as I have to leg it out for Springsteen but what a great game of football.

Best Dublin game I’ve been to since '95 and I’m on a huge high after it. First time for years Dublin have dug out a win like that. Tactically Dublin were destroyed in the first half, Whelan Ryan and especially Cullen changed things.

Second half performance was pure guts. Bernard Brogan take a bow. We are there and we are contenders. Bring on the Kingdom.

Dublin will not win the all-ireland this year. I repeat, Dublin win not win the All-Ireland this year.

[quote=“sid waddell”]Can’t go into it too much as I have to leg it out for Springsteen but what a great game of football.

Best Dublin game I’ve been to since '95 and I’m on a huge high after it. First time for years Dublin have dug out a win like that. Tactically Dublin were destroyed in the first half, Whelan Ryan and especially Cullen changed things.

Second half performance was pure guts. Bernard Brogan take a bow. We are there and we are contenders. Bring on the Kingdom.[/QUOTE]

here comes the hype- when dublin beat someone when they arent favourites than then they will be contenders- when was the last time dublin had a surprise win?

dublin made hard work of winning a leinster championship & only did so because they called on the failures of the last few years to save them

What was the qualifers draw in the football?

[quote=“north county corncrake”]here comes the hype- when dublin beat someone when they arent favourites than then they will be contenders- when was the last time dublin had a surprise win?

dublin made hard work of winning a leinster championship & only did so because they called on the failures of the last few years to save them[/QUOTE]

My NAP of the year pays out but only just. Dancing baby took the hint at 6/4 whoelse was on?

[quote=“north county corncrake”]here comes the hype- when dublin beat someone when they arent favourites than then they will be contenders- when was the last time dublin had a surprise win?

dublin made hard work of winning a leinster championship & only did so because they called on the failures of the last few years to save them[/QUOTE]

So Dublin are not contenders? Who are the contenders then? Who? Go and fook.

He’s just bitter 'cos he didn’t end up being as good as some of the lads playing yesterday.
Dubs showed bottle and Gilroys decision to go with youth and bring on the old timers like Cullen, Whelan and Ryan is worjking to an extent. Whats not working is Ciaran Whelan, not sure what he offers.

Bandage shown up again though for not rating Kildare.:rolleyes:
Yesterdays experience will be worth alot to them, and i wouldn’t fancy meeting them the next time they are in CP.

In fairness, Kildare were dogshit when they played us-just we were worse.

Didn’t think so at all, ye were useless, but they looked like a team heading in the right direction i thought and showed some signs of real potential that night, but were probably dragged down a level or two.:rolleyes:

Hold on now, thought you said you didn’t see the Wexford game!!

No Kildare were shite alright-brutal defenders but they’ve progressed as they went along though.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Hold on now, thought you said you didn’t see the Wexford game!!

No Kildare were shite alright-brutal defenders but they’ve progressed as they went along though.[/QUOTE]

I’m winding Pike, but your awake this morning, fair play.