The Cager Thread

It said so on the 9 o’clock news

Yeah, id wait for the facts to come out as the article there is saying its a line of enquiry,regardless, anyone found guilty of dangerous driving causing death should be jailed

Saw a ridiculous near miss on the way home, just coming out of a 60 zone the road rises up, a suv comes flying past me and overtakes the car ahead of me going up the hill. Sure enough a car comes over the top of the hill and I’d say it was a split second where the suv managed to get back in and avoid the crash

I’m fairly sure the last report I read indicated that Kyle Hayes was driving a white Audi so there’s a good chance you can rule him out.
Thank God you survived yourself even if you didn’t catch the registration.

Crazy stuff

I was a bit shook after it. Definitely the nearest miss I’ve seen. I’d say the lad in the car coming against him got some fright.

Im seeing fellahs veering towards me day and night while texting on their phones. We need more unmarked Garda cars on the road to catch these gobshites

8,000 road rule breaches detected during Cork City bus camera pilot

I was driving last week in Shhpain and a street lamp blew down behind me. A lucky day…

Switched from diesel to hybrid there. Taking the hit on cost, efficiency, weight and reliability for the environment

TFK advocacy works guys

I did get it for free.

I’m burning more petrol than I did diesel

Hybrids are a load of bollix.

Because?

Either go electric or stay on fossil fuel. My experience from travelling and listening to mates is the battery in the hybrid is heavy and uses way more fuel when the battery runs out.

My tuppence worth.

By the way, Im fully in favour of electric vehicles, but not a fan of the hybrid model.

On a tangent, the electric vehicle is obviously still far from the solution to our transport issues, but I think we re on the same hymn sheet on that point anyway

I had to go into town there to get a few ā€œmessagesā€ and when I came out of the post office there was a notice for a €60 fine from the parking warden on my car regarding my out of date tax disc. Now I only got the car at the start of March and have yet to get the new log book from the dealer, so have been unable to tax the car. Have I any recourse or will I just not bother paying it?

Truck driver who left rugby star Conor Murray’s father with brain injury has convictions for drink driving and hit and run | Irish Independent

My anecdotal evidence based solely on my observations is there’s an epidemic (or should I be saying the situation is endemic?) of cagers going through red lights if they’ve only just turned red, ignoring stop signs & treating them as non-compulsory yields, & text driving.

It’s like people are angrier & less patient these days. They can’t tolerate waiting for the traffic light cycle to go around again & if that means going through red lights & milling into a kid on the pedestrian crossing then so be it.

I was behind a driver at a t-junction yesterday in Dublin 5. It’s a right turn only & no traffic was coming from the left. The driver made to turn right & edged out onto the road, I was getting ready to follow in their slip stream when the driver braked abruptly, straightened up, reversed back beyond the junction, indicated and drove back down the road we’d both been on. It was a stunning manoeuvre.

I decided to carb load last Friday lunchtime so took the 130 bus down to Dollymount & got the Post Workout pancake stack in Póg (with a side of sausage). I was monitoring the TFI live updates for my return bus but there was an unfortunate billing & takeaway drink order delay (I’ve taken to adding a syrup to my afternoon latte). Anyway I missed the bus & had 15 minutes to wait for the next one so I said I’d loiter by the wall at the Wooden Bridge & enjoy the sunshine. As I waited & watched the world go by, it seemed every second driver under the age of around 37 was text driving. I knew it was a thing but I’d never realised the extent of it.

ACAB