The Canine Corner

Meet Southgate

Is he chipped?

Bring him to vet to see if he’s chipped … check social media for missing dog posts or ring ISPCA

You’ve got a friend for life there.

What a bitch

Looks like a grand little fella? Are you thinking of keeping him if nobody already has dibs?

:heart_eyes::heart_eyes::heart_eyes::heart_eyes:

Hes a smashing fella. Well wear

Lovely dog. I’d say he’d be deadly for rats

Were you trying to explain to her how you picked up scabies in Poland?

Any port in a storm

I’m bringing him to the vet, hes a house dog I think if he were an out door dog I probably would. Herself doesn’t mind so I dunno yet!

He looks like a right ratter alright

only seeing this now TUM. How’s your pals dog getting on now? One of our labradors went blind when he was about 3. That was 7 years ago now. 2 separate vets fucked up big time and by the time a 3rd vet referred him to a specialist it was too late to save any sight. He is fine though. We have 2 dogs, so having the second one makes a massive difference in helping him. He just potters around the yard and gets along grand. Knows where his shed is and does ok for himself. He has a heart condition now too so cant over exert with physical stuff so running or big walks are out, so not missing out that way either.

How/why did he go blind?

his retinas detached. The specialist in Dublin said it was very uncommon for large dogs to happen to, it usually happens to smaller terrier like dogs he said. So they had to remove the retinas and the hope was that he would have blurred vision as the retinal focus would be gone. But because it had gone undiagnosed properly, the retinas being loose and moving around within his eyes caused serious damage to all of his eye so was left with no vision.

ah jaysus. the poor cunt.
They’ve good noses so he’d be able to get around the place. would you have to approach him noisily so as not to scare the shit out of him? i’m not being smart, genuine question

Getting on grand now. Can run and chase a ball.
Goes for walks. Finds way around house easy enough. Looks like a zombie dog with the no eyes.

Odd time you trip over him as he walks in behind you and doesn’t know to get out of the way.

Wears a blind dog collar which people mistake for guide dog so can think the walker is blind

I feel quite emotional reading this

no just treat him much the same as normal. he’d hear you anyway most of the time as the other dog would be up and jumping. He reacts kinda like when a dog wakes and has that little startle but nothing major really. one of the vets told us he’d have to be put down but the other one and specialist said no way, that he’d be perfectly fine and well able to adapt. the main issue we’ve had to date is the odd time the pair of them might go for a wander and leave the garden. And she’d fuck off home then and leave him on his own to get home. Would always find him, but was never good to happen. They’ve stopped that now anyway thankfully.