The Cheltenham NH Festival 2013

You can’t be betting on the Gold Cup. A layers market surely…

Ballycasey a non runner. More good news for our Vinnie backers.

McCoy has some book today !

For anyone who’s bothered reading here’s the reasoning for my selections.

In the Triumph, Our Conor has been the pick of the Irish and I don’t think the ground will matter a toss to him. His normally bullish owners have been notably quieter in the build up to this week. Dessie never brings a horse to Cheltenham without it being prepped properly so this lad will be spot on. He’s deserved favourite and I’m not worried about the drift this morning. The Irish horse have a shocking record in this race so my main worry is that we don’t have a grasp of what it takes to win this race and that maybe our 4yo’s are never as good as we think. Flaxen Flares win the other day has eased some of my concerns on this. On Kashmir Peak, I think he’s savagely overpriced. Similar profile to Countrywide Flame who won this race last year. Not much more detail needed.

Princeton Plains looks like a pure plot horse. Its a Gimme is a better horse but McCoy chooses this fella so that tells me all I need to know. We were all sick of hearing about Shadow Catcher on here last year with DB talking him up for the Triumph. Looking back at that race Carberry gave him no chance. He’s had cheek pieces fitted this year and as Laz says he looks like he’s been lined up for this race all season. Once Davy doesn’t try to go up a closed gap by the inside rail we should be ok.

Our Vinnie reminds me of Back in Focus. A dour staying cunt who’ll annoy the fuck out of you. He’s the perfect kind of horse for Carberry. Put him asleep out the back and deliver him when others are tiring. If they’re turning for home and the arse is cocked high in the sky then we’ll know whats going to happen. Ballycasey a NR in this race now.

On the Gold Cup, my earlier post explains the reasoning for SDC. Long Run wasn’t good enough last year so I don’t see why he is this year. Bobs Worth is probably a bit too short for me. Nicholls and Ruby know whats required to win this race more than most. SC does have star quality which is probably why we expected so much from him at an early age. He’s ok at the track, his jumping can let him down at times but he will have been schooled to death for this race. Nicholls horses not having as bad a festival as everyone thinks. Zarkander just wasn’t good enough. Celestial Halo ran a blinder yesterday behind Solwhit. Nicholls just doesn’t have the quality of horses this year as he had in previous years, apart from this fella.

Foxhunters is a lottery. Salsify & Chapoturgeon will likely fight it out but I’m taking a punt on my favourite for this race last year who never got in. Jamie should school him around and won’t give him a hard race unless he’s going to have a chance. Presume he’s being aimed at the Grand National again and Elliotts comments this morning wouldn’t fill me with a whole load of confidence. But the horse is still probably in the top 3 pointers in Ireland so demands respect on that basis alone.

Toner broke my heart in this race last year. Make Your Mark is almost thrown in at the bottom. Danny Lavery gave Moscow Mannon a peach of a ride in the bumper last year so jockey is no issue. From reading Elliotts comments, he wanted to have Toner in a chase but couldn’t get him into any so had to revert to this. Could be pure paper talk though and this race could have been the plan all year long. Make Your Mark is a better horse than Toner though and I think the UK handicapper has made a balls of this.

In the last, Henderson usually does his best to win this. Carberry gave an exhibition in this last year on Belvano. Anquetta was behind him in 4th. He’s had a lighter campaign this year and gets in on a fairly similar mark to last year with a superior jockey on board. As mentioned above Geraghty said he was due to ride him and I can’t find out why he’s not. Either way, he’s a value bet for me.

Dont rule out the jonjo horse in the AB…a little birdie told me he really fancies him. The little birdie was a previous owner …

Mac, gnd update please

He’s a NR shite, I am on our vinnie

Have a sizble ante post bet on SDC since December. Stand to make a four figure sum if he comes in. Would agree that McCoy isn’t ideal and neither the ground but I think he will still stay. His Jewson performance last year was excellent and the way he finished in the Lexus despite a erratic display of jumping was impressive. Should be a excellent race

Best of luck with that puke,

Mac, will you take your snout out of the Guinness glass and give us a gnd update

good luck puke, i followed the same logic as yourself recently and whilst i wont be making a 4 figure sum itll be enough for a flight home for the munster final on 7th july
will you reinvest the money in updating the clarehurlers forum ?

No change yet I believe. I’d love a Guinness now but don’t think I’d get away with it in work

Why did I think you were over there??

And more importantly what the fcuk do you think you are doing giving cheltenham ground updates from your computer in finglas?

I’m pinning my hopes on MAC today. Especially Shadow Catcher & Our Vinnie.

Lads gallant nuit being nibbled in the fox hunter , look at his form 2 years back explains the significance . Anybody know how he qualified for this?

Is trainer lees Murphy related to ferdie?

Kid, good to soft and good in places.

Ted veale may have a squeak in the County

I’d say that’s because you have been in a meltdown all week pal. I’d like to think you get a bit of peace and quiet over the weekend and are able to turn things around.

Fagan, are we riding on Mac’s back into the winning enclosure?