The Cheltenham NH Festival 2013

[quote=“tallback, post: 743976, member: 1158”]Lads, I’ve an opportunity to go to a day of Cheltenham this year. I wouldn’t be a massive racing fan but enjoy the odd festival day out etc and would be up for going to catch a bit of the atmosphere for one of the sporting occasions of the year. Obviously there are a lot of lads here who know the Cheltenham scene. Couple of questions:

• What’s the best day to go?
  • Do I need to buy a ticket in advance? Is a general admission ticket fine?
  • Any other thoughts/tips/recommendations?

Thanks in advance for any assistance in this matter.[/quote]

Friday is mostly sold out so go for Tuesday or Wednesday. Buying a ticket in advance would be worthwhile, buy a Club Ticket - pricey but worth every penny. General Admission (Tatts tickets) are ok but not great.

As Laz says, get there early and soak it up. Go walk the course if you get there first thing in the morning. Don’t be worried about tips as once you hit the course you’ll get plenty of them. If you’re heading with a crowd then someone will definitely get word about the Irish Banker for the week. There’ll be a great buzz around the town too if you can get there the night before or hang around the night you go racing.

Fuck it, wish I was heading across now!

Cheers lads. Must get it organised now.

What are you thoughts on Golantilla?

I see he’s now as big as 8/1 for the CB.

What date is this commening, folks?

Tuesday the twelfth of March

Golantilla did a rotten piece of work the weekend…hence the drift. the horse is a machine…but might not be straight right now. WRT the bumper, nothing will happen between now and Che to dramatically change the betting unless NR…so hold your fire . I would have to see money/confidence for GTilla now before going on in again

Did ye notice the Pipe novice (ex GOsden) which got a champion hurdle and supreme entry :slight_smile: Beware/be-warned

Money this morning for Mr Mole for the County. Nichols talking it up I believe. 12s into 8s.

Was talking to a mate last night who was at one of them preview thingies in London. His missus knows Denis O’Regan and they had a chat afterwards, O’Regan is very sweet on Cotton Mill in the County, I took the 10s from Ladbrokes last night, best price 8s now. O’Regan also reckons Bordoni has a great chance in the Fred Winter, generally 12s. O’Regan also told them to get stuck into Zuider Zee in the 2:10 at Ayr on Friday. Make of that what you will :slight_smile:

[quote=“The Runt, post: 745022, member: 181”]What are you thoughts on Golantilla?

I see he’s now as big as 8/1 for the CB.[/quote]
He’ll want it bottomless and prefers going right handed. Stay clear.

[quote=“The Runt, post: 745022, member: 181”]What are you thoughts on Golantilla?

I see he’s now as big as 8/1 for the CB.[/quote]
Paul Casey of the RP said at the Barney Curley preview the other night that he’d be surprised if this one shows up based on rumours he heard doing the preview circut. Here are the panels best bets put up from that night.

Davy Russell- First Leuitenant (if it goes for the Ryanair), otherwise Dynaste(RSA). Russell said he had zero say in which race they’d go for with FL and that if they went for the GC that he would have a choice to make. Reckons it’s a sure thing for the Ryanair

Matt Williams- Dynaste, Super Duty(Kim Muir)

George McDonagh(Galway Bay fm)- Salsify(Foxhunters)

Paul Kealy- Menorah(Ryanair)

Patrick Mullins- Hurricane Fly:clap:

Hector- Salsify

Peter Casey- Our Conor (Triumph)

Nicky Henderson- Rolling Star (Triumph)

Barney- Whispering Gallery e/w (Neptune, currently trading around 25s on the TBP market if you fancy it)

Lazarus- Alderwood(assuming it’s good ground)

Menorah?? Jaysus.

fyi, Russell also put up Toner Doudarius for the beginners chase at Clonmel and Mullins had In the van for the bumper at Gowran this weekend as good things to fill your coffers for the big week.

Previous festival winner, has improved its jumping, value there imo. Also will be having a wee bit on his stablemate in the Gold Cup for the same reasons pretty much

This is your idea of improved jumping?

mistakes, held up in rear, not fluent 7th, headway to 4th when blundered 10th, no chance with leading trio when mistake 14th, stayed on to poor 3rd and blundered last

He’s saving it for when it counts Mac

Between Quel Espirit and this lad Laz you’ve a thing for horses who can’t jump fences

Right lads, who are we officially endorsing?

Mac, Kid, throw up a winner for each day please.

Sea the Stars was another Mac

Looks like the Jewson for Dynaste looking at the markets there

For Juhniallino, Donn tipped Zarkandar, Reve De Siviola and Sir Des Champs. He also tipped up Lyreen Legend for the RSA or Jewson who he thinks is too overpriced compared to Boston Bob. As well as that he managed to have a good laugh at Mac for tipping up Zaynar at 1/14 when he lost at Kelso that time.
Mike Cattermole was on too and reckons it will be a good year for the Irish.