The Cork GAA Thread 2011

When’s Aisake back training turenne?

He is in OZ permanently WTB. Not to worry though, we have Micheal Cussen to take his place…

:lol: :unsure:

Surely Cork hurling is not that fucked that they have to play fellas who haven’t even done their leaving cert yet. Encouraging this sort of behaviour is just crazy

He is repeating I believe, in his seventh year…?

The last player that played hurling for Cork whilst doing his leaving was one of the Egans from Delanys, I’m guessing.

He was probably the best club forward in the county after Patrick Horgan in 2010.

More reason for him to be concentrating on his studies

You’re still justifying DW’s decision. There is no excuse for it. It won’t happen, but if there was a system where he had someone to answer to (its Frank and the lads, but they only review yearly) it should get him at least a serios slap on the wrist.

With his poor choice of trainers and his total misunderstanding of the required physical work needed in the modern game this for me really is the icing on the cake. A CB bluffer put in to try and keep the peace, but get a few digs in (Sean Og) at the trouble makers in the process.

Kev you are truly a fucking spastic. If you are incapable of understanding my posts feel free to stop replying to them. Also, find out the difference between ‘explaining’ why someone does something and ‘justifying’ that same action.

I know. That’s the point.

:rolleyes: :lol:

predictable yet entertaining backtrack from the keyboard warrior.

You were justifying it, in black and white, you were justifying it for DW. :rolleyes:

Kev’s rattled. And wrong.

As you missed it the first time:

Nothing more to say really.

No need to justify your justification of DW.

he is not repeating. Brothers dont really do repeats anymore. last lad that played for cork while doing their leaving was diarmuid o’sullivan

Kev, I’m at a bit of a loss as to why Denis Walsh is so vilified in general. The players went on strike to get rid of Gerald McCarthy, and they did so in a horrible way IMO, but surely if they had a problem with Walsh, they wouldnt have accepted that. I just dont understand the point of the strike to oust one manager, to seemingly one that could be worse than what was there? I’m not trying to get a rise or anything, I just dont get how it was worth the strike. Also, I didnt think Walsh has taken any digs at Sean Og. In fact, I dont recall anything in the national media about Sean Og leaving, other than from Sean Og himself.

the impression i get is that the current squad would not be that enamoured with denis walsh. they cant do much as the cork gaa community would not tolerate another strike. they have largely had the support of the public in cork in their last two strikes but this would not happen this time round.

i said at the time of denis walsh’s appointment that he had nothing on his ‘CV’ to justify his selection. he was what you might call a bridge appointment. he was an appointment that was politically correct is that he was not seen to be aligned to one side of the strike or the other.

Its because he has made a number of massive blunders. Sean Og was told he was off the squad out on his own, nobody else was told for another month after, despite players supposidly been met at the same time. It was a statement, look “I’m willing to drop the big players”. It makes no sense from a hurling point of view GMan, others still there who haven’t a hope of playing or wouldn’t be any sort of inspiration to young players. Sean Og was one of the better older group as well. That was very poor management.

He also took on a strength & conditioning coach who he didn’t know, any coach worth his salt at all would have their own people at that level. This coach turns out to be well below par(IMO), and really only got the job because of a deal struck up with a gym that the hurlers are using. I’ve seen the programmes, and i have pointed it out here before, 3 people showed me a programme they got from this guy last year. One was a Cork Minor, one a Cork Senior and another a mate from a neighbouring club who is a good club senior footballer, but is 28 and has been doing strength training all his adult life (and had to pay out 60 or 80 yo yo’s as well, can’t quite remember how much). It was the exact same programme, no change whatsoever. Thats ridiculous in this day in age. Even in our club i’m doing individual programmes for the adult players based on tests. They would have a basic programme we work around, with slight adjustments to hone in on weaknesses. Now i keep it basic and don’t go too mad, as its club and i am doing it voluntarily, but if i was getting paid by the CB for it, i’d spend about an hour on each players programme. The PT part of DW’s backroom team never asked for the players physical histories from the last management teams (just like Ger Mac), and when offered them they said “no thanks”. Do they really sound like fellas with the teams best interests at heart?

Then on the training, and i have this on very good authority, is a good bit off the level of intensity required. I believe the players believe he has a good hurling head and is decent tactically and his hurling drills/games are fairly decent. BUt the fitness side isn’t up to scratch and training sessions are not very well designed.

Now you’d give a guy a year to sort that out maybe seeing as he wasn’t coming in with any recent IC experience. Thats fair enough, but his coaching team is more or less the same, the gym programmes haven’t improved much and then there is this crack with Lehane, which is simply fucking crazy. It shows a panic in his management and thats he’s not really thinking things out or planning, and is ignoring the players welfare.

It was plain for everyone to see that Cork peaked in May last year, and were not physically ready for KK in August. Thats poor management and poor physical preperation.

I agree with this, but i must say i agreed with it at the time too as we needed someone who was going to appease a number of sides. I expected him to be better though, and he isn’t as meticulous as people were making out. It’s very hard to get a grasp on how things have changed if your out of the loop for a few years. He took on Waterford 10 years ago when they trained like a club Intermediate side, but improved them because he trained them like a club Senior side. He trained his own club senior for 2 years (maybe more) and i think they got relegated under him. Possibly not much he could do about it as they lost a load of good hurlers. But as said, the CV wasn’t exactly bursting.

If he brings on 2-3 talents this year and steadies the ship a bit more then i’ll be happy enough with it. We weren’t expecting an awful lot either. But there is a bunch of very good hurlers coming through, and i hope this time next year Cork has someone else there who can drive it on a bit more astutely.

yeah I suppose I just find the whole thing baffling. the players clamouring to get rid of McCarthy as his training wasnt good enough, and now it doesnt seem to be any better. Personally, I didnt think he was a good fit at the time, as he hadnt any experience and didnt seem like the strongest of characters, and I thought it would need someone really on top form who knew what they were at to please both sides. but the players seemed more happy at the time from what I could make out, but it seems they have the wrong guy. Also, I think he was wrong to let go of Sean Og too, I wasnt saying he was right. Although I think Sean Ogs handling of it was worse, but he is a hoor for the media. A player like that, regardless of ego etc, is still worth having around. surely he would have some positive aspects to bring forward to the year, even if it is just making a young player earn a spot on the team ahead of him.

what will happen with the next appointment though? it still seems like it is a ticking bomb in that camp

Well the thing was at the time, guys the players wanted ran 100 miles from it, so he was the best of a bad selection is the impression i got.

I don’t think much will happen, but i heard a rumour the reason Frank stayed on one more year is to be involved when Walsh is inevitably gone at end of this year. I think some of the hurlers have just lost the appetite for fighting. Maybe i’ll be proved wrong. But i actually think it has stunted their hurling too, and mentally a few of them just are not what they were. Some of these guys are still only 29-30, which is astonishing really they’ve been around so long.

The training is better than Ger Mac’s though, over time i’ve heard a few anecdotes about it and it was ancient stuff altogether. He was forgetting very basic personal & logistical issues for the players, think Walsh is far better than that in fairness. And i’d say he’d be a guy willing to learn, but it will be too late.