The Cork GAA Thread 2011

o’flynn. clichéd bilge for the most part.

unless your point was that o’flynn is bringing considine to the table? i could see those two getting along alright.

Ger Fitz and Ger who?

Whatever about flynn, Considines articles are awful self indulgent tripe, having cuts off Davy and others. He’s a joke who’s wrong more than he should be for a so called expert.

Cunningham

Oh right. Cunningham would be a decent choice, but why the need for 2 Managers? Would be ridiculous and just an attempt to keep more people happy.They need a manager, who then appoints a Coach, S&C Trainer and another selector.Its that fucking simple.

Don’t shoot the messenger. Only relaying what I was told. Agree it would be hard to make something like that work unless roles are clearly defined. Having both of them involved wouldn’t be any harm though.

Not sure where i was havinga go at you, but anyway you sensitive fuck. :stuck_out_tongue:

Ya, kind of a similar role you’d think they’d both employ. Cunningham has more real coaching experience IMO, training U-21’s isn’t as detailed as training a top Club team like Cunningham has done recently.

I would like to see Fitz get a chance as a selector and maybe learn the ropes and possibly become the manager down the road. If Cunningham gets it, its a buddy of mine will get the S&C gig more than likely and will have them in good nick if nothing else anyway.

Rumours also abound Donal Og may be the coach. Was suggested in the paper and on rebel gaa, but i believe certain people are not against the idea was it to be suggested.

As per the gaacork.ie website

[size=“2”]COUNTY SENIOR HURLING TEAM MANAGER[/size]
[size=“2”]The Appointment Committee has decided to recommend the appointment of Jimmy Barry Murphy as County Senior Hurling Manager. [/size]
[size=“2”]The appointment is subject to ratification by the County Committee at its next meeting on September 6th. [/size]
[size=“2”]By decision of the County Committee at its last meeting, a new Manager will have a three year term and has the right, subject to ratification, to appoint his own Selectors and ‘Backroom Team’.[/size]

Jaysus, i’m in shock, didn’t really think it would happen. Well, thats it, we have to get behind him, he is a legend.

His backroom team is almost more important than himself. I just wonder do the William Egans of this world revere JBM the way the likes of me or Fenway would.

Did i ever tell ye i have JBM’s phone number? :slight_smile:

wonderful.
take it to the “People Kev knows” thread

What was JBM’s reasons for stepping down last time? How long did he serve, was it 4 years?

Did Puke ever tell you that he has yours?

Did i ever tell you i got his too.

JBM stepped down to have a break,let someone else take over etc. He was there 3 years i think, 98-2000 inclusive.

throw it up there so

Is JBM “old school” or would he have a progressive coaching/management style?

I would like to think progressive Runt, i think he is smart enough to get the right people in with him and not try to do a Ger Mac on it, JBM is a humble man and will do whatever he thinks is right for Cork Hurling. Of that i have no doubt.

was he not in charge of them the time they got roasted in PuC in 96?

Was he not over the team with Tony O’Sullivan and Jim Cashman as selectors that was a un-mitigated disaster?

that was 97 i think and yes that was his first year in charge.

Tom Cashman was the other selector. to be fair they were taken over at a time when cork hurling was aguably at a lower point than it is now.

So I was right, it was 4 years he was in charge for. My knowledge of Cork GAA never fails to impress.