The Daddy Thread

Only a phase, softly softly approach advisable, donā€™t go in with the 2 feet but politely let him know how his behaviour needs to change

Sent Rascal to hurling and football training last year. Wasnā€™t gone on the hurling but he went. He goes to school a bit away so didnā€™t know anyone at training but he seemed grand. This year heā€™s downed tools. He went the first couple of times but got hurt and has refised to go back. Didnā€™t force it but wondering should I send him back again. Heā€™s well able to play but there were tears the last time I tried bringing him back.

You need to send him where his friends are.

School he goes to was a pre covid decision based on childcate availability and is too far away for GAA training and school picks ups. He made friends pretty quickly last year.

Be careful taking advice from this lad @Fitzy. He was pucking the head off his own brother at Christmas. Iā€™d say he has a violent streak.

Would he play for the club that his school friends play for so at least heā€™d know more there?

Incredibly astute Mac.

Itā€™s not an option. Donā€™t think his buddies play GAA.

Are you going to let your young child decide what he is going to do on a daily basis? What if he doesnā€™t like school, or vegetables? Put on his helmet and drop him at the gate and no more about it

Lads, can someone call TUSLA on Dan?

He needs to get the retaliation in first. Tell him swing left and right and clear a path for himself

A young fella just needs to feel like heā€™s part of the group. If he doesnt see any friendly faces there, its even more important that the coach realises that heā€™s got a newbie there, who needs to be included. Any decent nursery coach worth his salt will spot this, and if he doesnā€™t, @mikehunt needs to let the coach know as much. A few weeks, a few soft goals set up for him by a sympathetic tap forward, and the young fella will be flying it.

Club colours will help him feel part of the thing also. Its the little things at that age.

Give him time, every young fella comes on in their own time. I would tell him that his mam and dad want him to get exercise, and to play and this is as good a place to do it as any. Treats after help also.

You can bate tyres out the back or down the field, but either way the tyres are getting bate

I was doing that the last time but thatā€™s when the tears came so didnā€™t want to force it.

Young fella is togging out for ulster today ( school sports day participation medal looking nailed on)ā€¦hes obliged to wear something yellow apparently- so he informed me yesterday, with ten minutes to go in clones. This morning i took him to asda, tesco and finally sports direct. Heā€™s away in to school in a lakers t shirt. If asked why heā€™s late Iā€™ve told him to explain that some gobshite of a teacher decided to send a hundred parents scurrying round looking for suitable attire when it would have been simpler to hand out training bibs. Wankers. They should be stabbed in the eyes (the teachersā€¦not the kids).

Our lad was similar. They started doing hurling in school which brought him on massively. We eventually got him to enjoy training but then he was too scared to play in matches. Heā€™d roar his head off. We persisted but didnā€™t force him to do anything he didnā€™t want to do. Tis a fine balance between trying to encourage him and souring him completely.

Lovely, without these same teachers your young lad would not have this opportunity.

If the young fella was playing away at home I wouldnā€™t worry about him training at that age. Sure itā€™s only a free one hour day care service really. Absolute carnage with very little improved. Theyā€™d learn more with an hour out the back

Could you find a club his school pals are in?

I think based on mistakes Iā€™ve made myself thatā€™s the key to it

I brought him to a few matches and he just stood in the middle of the pitch not getting involved. Tried to encourage him to help his team but he said he didnā€™t want to hurt anyone which was code for he didnā€™t want to get hurt.