The Daddy Thread

First day of a new campaign for those of us who failed to get the “best father in the world” treatment from other halves on social media yesterday. I was refreshing pages up until The Sunday Game ended before accepting defeat. Back to the drawing board.

I mentioned our crèche travails on the wfh thread before. Between covid closures being WANTONLY applied and strict adherence to the rule that 3x shitty nappies in one day = not allowed back in crèche until the third day after the event, we’ve had the lads at home a fair bit over the last couple of years.

Text received from the crèche a month ago. Just to advise parents/guardians of upcoming days when the crèche will be closed so you can make alternative plans. Monday 20 June - staff training, Thursday 30 June - end of term cleaning, Friday 1 July - staff bonding.

One of the mothers set up a WhatsApp group in response (removing the crèche manager and staff from the crèche administered group) and there was full blown seethe. A synopsis of the comments:

“My blood is boiling.”

“Paying for a service we’re not getting.”

“I’ll have to take annual leave.”

“We’re just back from holidays that week and can’t take any more leave. I’ll have to find a childminder.”

“Cleaning should take place outside service hours.”

“They never closed for training pre covid.”

“Bonding is fine - but how about they close at 3pm & go for drinks/dinner then. A full day is a joke.”

Our lads love the crèche but they’re using the scarcity of places in Dublin and their strong bargaining power to completely take the piss here. My life partner stayed fairly neutral/calm amidst the venting but one or two others made forceful representations to the crèche on a one to one basis apparently.

End result was they’re closed today and next Friday, but not next Thursday. The mammies are still not happy but they’ve accepted it and an uneasy peace has been restored.

I’ve been in the park with the boys all morning, and it’s where doing fuck all in work compared to my life partner comes back to bite me.

That is taking the piss.
Actually they are going on the piss and not bothering with cleaning now. Some spot.

I didn’t even get the hour to myself that i requested as a gift. Instead I git to cook dinner and do clean up and got a bit of TSG only once Love Island was over.

A full review is certainly needed ahead of the 2022-23 campaign.

They’re having you on, our crowd told us the HSE rule is two runny nappies and they have to stay home 24 hours after the last such passing, so normally they’re home thevday aftervthey were home only.

My fucking God.

My missus was out Saturday night for a school mom’s night out (:roll_eyes:) and was slightly philogrobilized Sunday morning. I went to the gym and declined breakfast on my return. I visited my own father with one of my sons and came home and went for a long walk alone. Later on I watched that new Jimmy Nesbit show On Channel 4 that was not great. I made a few remarks about being disappointed and was a bit quieter than I normally am.

In reality I didn’t give a shit and had a great day.

However I’ve learned over the years that I’ll need to refer to this petty issue in the not too distant future when I inevitably make a bollox of myself or something and a recent grievance of my own within clutching distance will be like a rope ladder out of a prison then.

Im just back from my swim. Turns out a fair few of the wfh dads were around, seeing as it’s a cracking day for a swim. It seems fathers day in the parish this year suffered a massive hit due to the 40th anniversary of the local pub/swimming pool. All drinks were 1980s prices on saturday night and half the womenfolk of the parish were sporting extra large sunglasses at the last day of the football minileagues yesterday. My favourite was a mate who got nothing, had to cook all meals and put the kids to bed and whose wife asked him to tell people that she’d bought him his new sandals for fathers day so she wouldnt look bad. Mrs J also had a hangover, which meant i had to get up and walk the kids/dog at 8am but I felt very smug with my new tie-dyed t shirt and my pouch of overpriced kimchi. Mrs J then had to work yesterday and left the mini leagues at 2 just after Juhy juniors team lost their semi final, so i enjoyed a quiet beer or six with some neighbouring lads, while the kids looked up cockapoos they want to buy from dodgy bastards off the internet. A lovely fathers day all told.

There have been some less than stellar Father’s Day reports in this noble thread in the last hours. Personally speaking I’ve always regarded the whole thing as a cod and my opinion remains unchanged.

I had a grand day so to speak. I was the recipient, among other items, of 3 bottles of whiskey (one of which is pricewise so removed from my normal tipples that it’s frankly embarrassing). It was well meant and it didn’t hurt their pockets but it’ll sit in the press until I have a visit from some important figure such as Úachtairan na hÉireann with the presidential cheque.

I might post a picture in the whiskey thread and wait on @Malarkey to offer guidance.

+1 I grew up in a house where Fathers/Mothers day or similar nonsense days didn’t exist, I’ve carried it on to this house and my 2 have ignored it also once the obligatory making cards etc up to whatever class in primary school ceased.

Are you catching up on your TFK moderating responsibilities today?

To quote the great man himself, Dan Campbell, “Leadership is servitude”

This morning i handed my kids clean uniform, breakfast and a lunch. After the school run I moved a few cattle from one field to another, straightened up the house, made a futile trip to the mart, returned to base, made a quick inspection of the bees and now im back at the school. On the way home I’ll consider dinner requests and pick up the ‘ingredients’. Once home myself and the wee lad will weed a bit at a hedge planted in march, the wee lassie will walk the dog and then I’ll make a tasty, healthy and popular meal before dumping the kids with an aunt while i visit the oul lad to disappoint him with the mart report. Then pick up the kids, make them hot chocolate before the compulsory bedtime routine involving faux resistance to compulsory minor shows of affection. Check the uniforms, make the lunch and take an hour to myself.
Some variation of the above five days a week. I have no idea how i do it.

A bit of The Sunday Game or a bit of @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy ?

:blush::blush::blush::clap:vg

Will you chance a spin to Dublin at the weekend seeing as your county are getting a chance (a rare one at that) to exhibit their wares at GAA HQ. You could play a guessing game on the journey as to what man (‘twas a gorsóón actually) won medal at county and interprovincial levels back in the day.
Would add to the wains enjoyment immensely. Just a thought…. Good luck at the weekend in any event.

I’ll be lucky to get watching it on tv. Besides, weekends are for collapsing in a hape of mildly intoxicated exhaustion. And imagine if we get bate by Clare. I’ll keep my powder dry for a possible final

I take back my comment on the yellow bibs. I can appreciate the frustration in the circumstances.

A yellow bib could put a man over the edge given the right circumstances

Missed out on last year’s sports day so it was our first one to attend as parents today. Lot of fannying about for the first hour and a half but eventually some senior hurling broke out, the 50m sprint. Junior infants were first up and the tension was palpable.Teachers unsuccessfully pleaded with giddy kids and parents not to encroach on to the track. Eventually the Principal had to be called and he put us all in our place. Rascal told me who’d win but the fave took a tumble. Fair play to the wee man, he still got up and finished, no tears. The winner was ecstatic and got a big hug from his Mum.

Rascal was next up in the Snr infants race. We just told him to make sure and start running when the whistle blew. He had told me prior who would win his race too. The fave had an older brother and he and his mates started a chant for his younger sibling. Mrs Hunt murmured a bit of concern as our lad looked very shy all day and hates too much attention. The whistle blew and to our surpise and joy Rascal pissed it pulling up. Excuse the pun but he took it in his stride and said the fave was still faster than him.

After 6th class had their race the Mummies were called. It thankfully passed without incident apart from a brief but violent scuffle at the finish line. Once order was restored and all the false fingernails and hair was removed from the track the Daddies were called. Only 6 or 7 of us. I gave them all a look and after Rascal’s heroics I thought to myself ‘I’ll have these fuckers and we’ll do the double’. I finished a very creditable last.

24 Likes

The art of war