@johnnysachs how has the first month gone?
Calgel I think
@Chucks_Nwoko if he has problems latching on, get someone to check if heās tongue tied and if it needs to be snipped. If heās anyway tongue tied then itāll be only torturing both himself and Mrs Chucks.
Both our lads were tongue tied. We left the first lad as he was and put him on a bottle fairly early and he was a dream child, slept the night after 6 weeks. We got the 2nd lads tongue snipped and he breastfed for a good 7 weeks until Mrs Mac got mastitis. He barely slept a night in his first year and had all sorts of reflux / wind / vomiting issues that had our heads melted.
In short, bottles are grand as the real good stuff is in the boob in the first few days. Beyond that, the sanity a bottle can give can have a bigger impact and can mean your good lady can sleep at night while you do later feeds etc.
Reporting live from the lactation consultants. I asked her and she sorta smiled and asked where Iād heard about that. I told her my e-pal @Mac suggested it. Anyway she checked and all ok. It took 30 minutes and the use of the nipple shield but heās started to suck well now. Whether we can replicate this success at home is another story. No doubt Iāll be a very supporting husband over the weekend as I eye a 4 hour reprieve from duties come Super bowl Monday.
Congrats to you all.
Get her to go to local breast feeding classes kid , theyāre drop in and a good support---- Do you get a public nurse call out to you like here in Ireland?
They do that here on the public system alright. We had the birth privately so stayed in our own room in the maternity ward for a week after the birth. Had our own midwife and pediatrician round the clock which was reassuring, in a time of relentless self-doubt. There was a night nursery too where you could throw the sprog in for the night if you wanted a decent kip. So in terms of follow up care, privately, we need to go back and see the team in the maternity ward (which we did today).
Thatās a shame ā public nurse visit would help with a bit of latching as well.
fair play man - thats the only way allrightā¦ we had the same with the first fella when he was born in Petak Tikva- youād deposit āitā cc @Bandage around 10pm - id head off off then and theyād reunite mother and baby around 0500 - id reappear on the scene then late morning.
private room is the only way to go
I wish you well pal
The guilt about packing him off to a stranger had completely vanished by Night 2.
Congrats to all Chucks.
Iām literally humbled reading this thread.
Bollox
Congrats @Chucks_Nwoko fair play to you. Iād say youāre so wrapped up in celebrating the joy of the little that there wasnāt a subbie busted over the last week
Correct. And I wonāt be signing off on any invoices for the next 2 weeks
Sure you donāt pay them anyway
I donāt, the company does. Duh.
I donāt know how they do it.
Congrats mate. Welcome to the club. Make sure you take plenty of time off initially. We were discharged on a Friday and I was back working on the Monday. Due to the nature of the work I do I couldnāt take any more than a few days. I will take the paternity leave around the middle of February when it is quieter.
First week or 2 I was all over the shop but thankfully I have developed some skills. Things like trying to get a vest on can be difficult or sometimes you are left cursing the manufacturer of a baby gro as the buttons dont line up straight. stupid shit really.
The missus is breastfeeding which means I dont have to do the night shift. Iād advise ye to stick at this. It takes a while for the milk supply to arrive and there will be courses a plenty if your other half is struggling with it. Iād advise winding the baby for a good half hour before you attempt to go to sleep. They are more robust than you think so dont be afraid of hurting them.
Other than all that all youāll have to do is keep the coal/timber supply up, fridge stocked, etc. Dont be shy in accepting outside help from in laws or your own family members if they are nearby be it a cooked dinner, offer of doing the washing or running to the supermarket. It all helps. Most of all enjoy these early stages and all the goodwill.