The Daddy Thread

All slagging aside what do you honestly think of the whole thing? Is there a slight bit of you thinks youd love to have been more involved and that it would have made any difference? Or do you just think its all modern day bullshit? Itā€™s very hard to know what difference all this extra attention and stressing out is going to make to the children. Iā€™m sure all the 30s 40s lads here were raised with fathers having very minimal involvement in the nappy changing nitty gritty. Only time will tell reallyā€¦

Are you Alan Shatter?

Alright Mickee lad, calm down laā€¦

Give her loads of calpol mate.
My oul fella once put my sister in the pram and put her down the end of the garden cos she wouldnā€™t stop crying :joy:

Iā€™d add that he left her there for the afternoon

A pal of mine went into labour there a few weeks ago. She went into the hospital at 6am. I called in at lunchtime, and sheā€™d had her baby and gone home (second baby only) :eyes:

Maybe they just need to man the fuck up and get on with it?

My cousin and his wife were leaving the youngest lad (fat, relatively immobile, closing in on the year) out on the back lawn so they could have their dinner in peace last summer.

Great news chief.
Hope everyone is settling in well.

On fucking repeat here. My jaysus

Delighted to hear this news @Chucks_Nwoko, the perfect tribute to Kobe #girldad

Encourage her to stick with the boobie for a while longer, itā€™s not always easy, in fact itā€™s usually bloody tough but nothing bonds a mother and baby like it

And it puts you in the clear for a few months as well

And no weaning off bottles to be done. Took 12 months before I shifted to night duty, which is handy enough now truth be told.

Sugar is all it is

Tis a buachaill. He shit on my chest for the first time this morning.

Thatā€™s another big adjustment for Mrs Nwoko. Sheā€™d always taken great pride in having the place immaculate. Iā€™ve had three chat with her to accept thereā€™s gonna be shit everywhere and the place will resemble a pigsty. I stopped short of saying "Leave it all to me, honey "

@johnnysachs vests :rofl: such a torture. Thinking of sticking to the onesies as the vests tend to ride up his back and irritate him.

No continued success on the breastfeeding overnight. Weā€™ll keep going. Iā€™ll focus harder on the winding anyway. Have adjusted our bottle technique to mimic breastfeeding (Ref. Jessica Barton- Paced Bottle Feeding).

She can breast feed milk ( pumping ) via bottle too, pal.
There is awful pressure these days on women to breastfeed but some kids just wonā€™t have it.

Nothing wrong with the bottle, Mammy not going insane is far more important.

I have a winding technique which involves perching them on my knee and while cupping their chin allow them to lean over slightly while rubbing their back. Anyway stick with the breastfeeding. Prepare for 2 or 3 takes of nappy changes too. Youd have sudocream and everything on and theyā€™d destroy themselves again. Got it all over a vest one morning before work. Very distressing for dad and child.

Anyone know if you can have a christening on Easter weekend?

Did you wear the vest to work after getting the sudocreme on it?

So youā€™re winding technique is the way youā€™re shown in hospital?

I havenā€™t worn a vest since I was a whippersnapper. But the thought did cross my mind on the way to work that there may have been specs of shite on my trousers. A full inspection was carried out before I went into the office.