The Daddy Thread

and the best of all, they fall asleep but wake up when taking them out of the car and are in even worse form because they were woken up.

Yeah this is our first. The penny will drop eventually when hopefully we go again. The strategy I mentioned above wont work with more than 1. I think I’ll bite the bullet and proffer the services of a sleep consultant. Anything to improve quality of life. Driving around, trying to get her to sleep in a buggy etc have all been tried with some degree of success but you want something more than a stopgap. Getting enough fresh air is also vitally important and something we need to definitely do more of.

This guy fucks :clap:

Did the same with ours. Sometimes they just need a bit of space. Ours were hyperactive in their sleep, once they stopped hopping off the side of the cot, the job was oxo.

Elon Musk’s self driving cars will be a game changer.

Tesla please drive around for 12 hours but do not stray more than 5km from home.

I said it before, and we grew up in safer times, but my oul lad I can remember when my sister wouldn’t stop screaming when she was a baby, putting her in the pram and pushing it down by the gate and leaving her for the afternoon.

That’s when she’s tired and heads off. For around 2 months she’d sleep 10 hours handy from that time. The three yr old is down for 18:45, wakes at 07:00, never a gooks out of her for the night. Great girls in fairness.

That was exactly it. Our lady would be inside in the cot and wake herself from hitting her hands off the side or something, she was just an active sleeper always moving. Double mattress with rails and immediately we saw a difference.

Activity during the day too. Any day she would be at her cousins for a few hours playing you’re garaunteed minimum 10 hours straight.

The technique I said above, I think the missus called it Nanny 911 or something, is the one described by someone else above, where you put up with the crying and slowly move away from the kid incrementally until you’re outside the door in the hallway sitting down while they fall asleep. It 100% works. Easier explained to the kid when they’re a little older. I used to tell her I had a sore back and had to go to sleep on the floor, that’s what the doctor said to fix it. She says one night “Did he tell you to sit in the hall too daddy?” :laughing:

Ah the amount of evenings spent sitting on the stairs outside bedrooms. Thank God for phones so I could keep up my TFK averages.

Is there good reception that far down below ground?

Do you keep your kids in bedrooms underground?

I’ve contacted TUSLA. @KinvarasPassion

Drop me a pm if you want re sleep consultant

Great clip of alright sort Dyche @Thomas_Brady

@johnnysachs some things work for some people, some things don’t. Our kid has never been the best at night. We’ve tried all the structured things. And then you get the questions “how is she sleeping?” and so on. Don’t let anyone judge you or the Mrs on how she sleeps. Our wan used the fall asleep on the tit. Last summer I had to bring her out in the evening to get her to nod off. She was then sleeping brilliant for a few months but it’s regressed lately. She’s been in the double bed on her own since before two (the cot was a waste of time). She will tell us it’s bedtime anytime between 7 and 8 and go to sleep fairly lively. She tends to wake once a night (maybe 3am) and calls out “Mammy, Mammy”. If I go in, it’s “no Daddy”, so it’s the Mrs that goes in every night. That’s grand but the Mrs often ends up staying in with her as anytime she goes to leave, yer wan kicks up a fuss. I’m off the hook, but the Mrs is tired from it all. I’ve talked to her about breaking the cycle (i.e. the Mrs not going in) but she’s ok with it for the moment. As she says, it’s just a phase. We are not having any other kids so we won’t have to go through it again anyway. She’s a brilliant little girl and the best fun, and we know it won’t last forever.

All I’ll say is whatever way ye can make it work, go for it. There’s no point in trying to use logic with women when they become mothers. And that’s fine too.

oh god yeah

Imagine if Darren Frehill had been on RTE back then. You’d have been led to believe that Meath were winning senior hurling All-Irelands in the 90’s.

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

:joy::joy: The greatest milestone

We did the same. You have to be ruthless. My missus reckoned I was the greatest cunt going but its no good for anyone if you don’t get some downtime yourself. Becase when babu is gone to bed there is a list of jobs to be done before you can actually relax

I’m starting to come to the conclusion that breastfeeding brings more negatives than positives. Seems to take a very heavy toll on women even when it goes relatively well.

It’s cuntish, they get no break. And then the smallun is stuck to them associating the tit with sleep.

Not in our case, my missus was never happier than when she had a child latched on