I take it you’re there on your own. Fuckit, don’t drink, talk to people, ask how they are. You can leave any time you want but put in an effort first
There on my own yeah.
We spend too much time worrying about what other people think/trying to make other people happy. Do what suits yourself and immediate family. Life is short and too short to be worrying how people perceive you. Look after yourself @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi . I wish I had learned the above lesson much earlier in life.
You are 100% correct Fenners.
Hey bud, you do you mate. Dont worry about anyone else. I’ve missed a share of weddings. Its not personal and they dont see it as such.
As for drinking, the amount of lads I know who’ve packed it in tells me its fairly normal for lads to shelve it these days, at least socially.
A move of mine for years…. Once I passed 30 I just couldn’t socialise like I once did.
A switch would flick and I’d be headed for the leaba without so much as a good luck or bye bye.
Don’t overthink it if that’s the situation.
But if you feel the load without alcohol in the system, pls don’t be afraid to go & talk to someone about how you are feeling buddy. Anybody….
I’ve been in the same situation a heap of times. The amount of times I’ve cancelled going to stags, often way too late to get a refund. Very difficult thing to fight through.
It’s probably something that develops with age in many people.
100 percent
Fair play @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi for even bringing this to the forum.
I would have said that you were probably doing the right thing, hard to know, if you had somebody there that you could have a pint and an easy catch up with it might have helped, not as part of the ensuing bedlam.
But once you’ve ever made the decision to leave a situation like that and you won’t be immediately missed you’re as well to slip off, I do it if I feel that I’m close to making a fool out of myself, for the longest time I was unable to.
Mind yourself anyway, hope you feel a bit better today. Get some help, good luck
This is why Thunderstruck is so vital at weddings. Lifts everyone’s spirits.
I’ve yet to meet a person who gave up drink by their own accord who had regretted it.
The problem is there’s always a couple in a group who can’t just have the handy few pints and leave it there. Others feel obliged to go along with it then… Thankfully I’ve always been an obstinate prick and done my own thing… Except on my stag when I was all but nearly murdered. @caulifloweredneanderthal
True, I think our values and wants change entirely in our mid 30s. Wife, Kids, family, mortgage and career generally curtail what we might have wanted during our 20s. The nights sleep, being sober to take off in the morning, time and money demands take priority. Health aswell become far more relevant - I couldnt physically do a days beering nowadays
You’ve basically just said you could, were it not for the wife, kids, mortgage and career
You have an innate inability to read a room. Fuck off and try be clever somewhere else
Fuck yeah
Hope you’re feeling better this morning
Speaking for myself and myself alone I find that depression has an awful lot to do with my ego. If I can reach a point where I can stop taking myself so seriously I can usually deal with the depression. I’ve accepted that I’m a stupid bollix with a few saving graces. That’ll have to do me.
But not everyone’s situation is the same
We all have that one friend who is rushing and pressuring you when you’re drinking. Not necessarily a bollocks but it’s a bollocks habit. Usually he’ll be someone in very poor health.