[quote=“The Puke”]I couldn’t be arsed going looking for the thread as I can’t even remember the name of the band or the singer but you said that Hansard only said that because he was jeaslous as he was nowhere near as talented as that chap you were on about and what he said was a load of bollocks, yet it validated mbb’s arguement, yet you brought no evidence to the debate to validate your own points about the chap…
MBB if you get a chance could you stick up a link to whatever thread that was on…[/QUOTE]
Well maybe you should if you are going to use it in an argument.
Doesn’t say much when you can’t remember the thread or the name of the band or singer.
As for Glen Hansard - well when he comes up with an album a quarter as good as Heartworm then maybe I will listen to him and his pontificating about his love for music over being famous.
[quote=“HBV*”]i knew when farmer said that walking into the Phoenix park while the Pixies had already started their set was like ‘walking into the light’ that he has his mush stuck in music mags too often to be healthy.
Cheers for grabbing that runty. What I like about Hansard is that he stayed true to his own, and still made it big. Was always an honest sort, no big headedness about him. Not into all of his music, but he seems like a gent and a scholar.
Liked how he used the cupla focail at the Oscars too.
I doubt I’ll ever feel different. So all this is pretty pointless.
Farmer does seem to have a hard on for obscure music. Fair enough. The problem comes when he on one hand endorses tiny bands and pans more recogised ones. It’s kinda like saying yeah United are shit, but Walsall, man they are class. Like it or not Farmer, Oasis are a big draw and they do not just live off their first two albums. There is no Oasis album that is end to end shite. There are usually 3-5 excellent songs on each. I’ll agree some of their albums may have too many songs that people would categorise as filler songs but I ignore those while people like you emphasise them.
I try to keep out of this music discussion shite[see linked post above]. I’ll agree with someone if they put up something I like. I’d rarely disagree about music because most of the stuff mentioned I’ve probably never listened to, and probably have no intention to listen to. With music I find that you have to want to like the music you are listening to. If I go to a gig I’ll listen to the supporting band but I’m here for the main event, I’m pretty indifferent to the support unless I know them previously. If after a few songs they haven’t caught my full attention then I’ll probably just tune out.
Farmer, I’d say you want everything to be good because it seems as though you are semi obsessed with being the first guy to listen to the next big thing. The perception of you around here is that you like to have the final say on all music related matters which in truth hampers any meaningful discussions about music that people are listening to.[/QUOTE]
This is all farcical. Because I throw up songs by bands that some people have never heard of, in an attempt to share it, I am immediately categorised as being obsessed with discovering the next big thing or dislike bands because they become popular. Yet none of ye can show me evidence of where I did this.
I am passionate about music. When I see people saying things like Noel Gallagher is the greatest musician ever then I have to respond.
I dont believe anyone said he was the greatest ever, it certainly wasnt me anyway farmer. I just said his voice defined a generation and he deserves kudos and respect for capturing the zeitgeist as he did.
[quote=“myboyblue”]Cheers for grabbing that runty. What I like about Hansard is that he stayed true to his own, and still made it big. Was always an honest sort, no big headedness about him. Not into all of his music, but he seems like a gent and a scholar.
Liked how he used the cupla focail at the Oscars too.[/QUOTE]
Used to be fond enough of the frames and saw them a good 4 or five times live and they were decent, saw Hansard live twice and he was epic…great showman, has some very good songs in his own right…if anything underrated when compared to the likes of Damien Rice et al…
MBB was arguing that the reason that Whipping Boy never made it big was due to McKee being a cock.
I said that rock journalists must be used to dealing with cocks and this couldn’t be a reason. I suggested that within the English music press in particular the fact that they were Irish could have been an issue.
MBB then introduced some farcical comment from Hansard that he worked with McKee and, where as Hansard was all about the music, McKee wanted to be famous.
I thought this was pathetic on two points:
Hansard was attempting to portray himself as a true music man and also slated a guy who was a mate.
Hansard has never even come close to producing anything as good as Heartworm, which shows him up to be a general cunt as he portrayed himself as the true music fan as opposed to big bad McKee who was only in it for the money.
That is not musical snobbery. That is an opinion which I am sure is heldby many more if the number 1 album ever thread is to be beleived.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]That above quote has to be put in context.
MBB was arguing that the reason that Whipping Boy never made it big was due to McKee being a cock.
I said that rock journalists must be used to dealing with cocks and this couldn’t be a reason. I suggested that within the English music press in particular the fact that they were Irish could have been an issue.
MBB then introduced some farcical comment from Hansard that he worked with McKee and, where as Hansard was all about the music, McKee wanted to be famous.
I thought this was pathetic on two points:
Hansard was attempting to portray himself as a true music man and also slated a guy who was a mate.
Hansard has never even come close to producing anything as good as Heartworm, which shows him up to be a general cunt as he portrayed himself as the true music fan as opposed to big bad McKee who was only in it for the money.
That is not musical snobbery. That is an opinion which I am sure is heldby many more if the number 1 album ever thread is to be beleived.
But sure take the quote out of context.[/QUOTE]
(exhales loudly)
by god you are some cock end when it comes to music
no, like somebody already stated you have to have the last word and be right, just read back over what you just wrote and point out to me one fact that you have stated, all fucking opinion, MBB used a fact(glen hansard) and you cut him down over it while you just dealed in theories and rhetoric…
[quote=“The Puke”]no, like somebody already stated you have to have the last word and be right, just read back over what you just wrote and point out to me one fact that you have stated, all fucking opinion, MBB used a fact(glen hansard) and you cut him down over it while you just dealed in theories and rhetoric…
fuck off and stop spoofing farmer…[/QUOTE]
Since when has anything Glen Hansard had to say fact?
To be honest I’d say we’ve all known lads like farmer in college at some point so I for one am never surprised to ome across them. Sound enough lads with a tendancy to become comic book geeks when it comes to discussing something like music. It’s a bit like the way star wars fans get so angry about trivial inaccuracies. It doesn’t really matter that people think oasis are a great band (which I don’t think they are) but there’s a sense of superiority in being the one who points out why to everyone else.