The end of Oasis?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]This is all farcical. Because I throw up songs by bands that some people have never heard of, in an attempt to share it, I am immediately categorised as being obsessed with discovering the next big thing or dislike bands because they become popular. Yet none of ye can show me evidence of where I did this.

I am passionate about music. When I see people saying things like Noel Gallagher is the greatest musician ever then I have to respond.[/QUOTE]

Perception, farmer, perception.

Why do you have to respond?

Every poster on this site knew that you would post on this thread.

I’d say CM put up the thread in the knowledge that some Oasis related arguments were inevitable with you as the main player in the anti-Oasis camp.

All it does is adds to the perception you are giving out about and calling farcical.

Farmer you snob, where do you get off telling us what we should and should not listen to? :clap:

Snob.

[quote=“HBV*”]those with any favouring towards mainstream musical productions seem to be classified by farmer as…

A Neanderthal.
An ignorant prick.
A gobshite.
Talking through your hole.
Stuck in your ways.[/QUOTE]

Maybe they just haven’t walked into the light yet, like Farmer did at Pixies in Phoenix Park.

[quote=“HBV*”]those with any favouring towards mainstream musical productions seem to be classified by farmer as…

A Neanderthal.
An ignorant prick.
A gobshite.
Talking through your hole.
Stuck in your ways.[/QUOTE]

No, the ones who slam me a music snob are.

Nothing wrong with liking conventional bands, I like them myself, but don’t give someone abuse for liking other unconventional music.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]No, the ones who slam me a music snob are.

Nothing wrong with liking conventional bands, I like them myself, but don’t give someone abuse for liking other unconventional music.[/QUOTE]

Here he comes.

Did you not make a post before saying that you pityed fans of some band or another for not listening to better music?

I have to go digging for it but I am sure you did.

You always have an air of superiority about you - probably more than anyone on here in fact.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Here he comes.

Did you not make a post before saying that you pityed fans of some band or another for not listening to better music?

You always have an air of superiority about you - probably more than anyone on here in fact.[/QUOTE]

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Here he comes.

You always have an air of superiority about you - probably more than anyone on here in fact.[/QUOTE]

Relax farmer, you don’t have to take everything so personally. I’m just pointing out something fairly obvious, that you get a kick out of having a ‘superior’ knowledge of all things musical, and from my own experience lads like you take it a bit too seriously. It gets a bit annoying for everyone else that’s all.

One of my issues is how farmer reckons that Oasis should have “moved on” from the heady days of the 90s, and “tried new instruments”, like Radiohead did. Why? I wouldn’t want Oasis to make an album like Amnesiac, and Oasis themselves don’t want to make albums like Hail to the Thief. I think the 2 albums mentioned are, for the most part, shit, and the tracks on them are never going to be really fondly remembered by very many people. If Radiohead look back over the last 10 years, maybe deep down they’ll think should have made OK Computer the furthest they went in terms of experimentation. It’s a 13 track album I think, and in terms of self-indulgent wank, surely not a lot of stuff that other bands have done can rank alongside Fitter Happier, More Productive.

Sock it to him WTB. :clap:

While Radiohead were sitting moping around a studio trying to think of what to do that no-one would be expecting them to do, Oasis were banging out tunes like My Big Mouth, which while not being in the same ballpark as most of the stuff on the first 2 albums, still had people excited 12 years later in Slane. I don’t think anything on Amnesiac comes that close.

From wiki, on Amnesiac:
According to guitarist Ed O’Brien, “We had to come to grips with starting a song from scratch in the studio and making it into something, rather than playing it live, rehearsing it and then getting a good take of a live performance. None of us played that much guitar on these records. Suddenly we were presented with the opportunity and the freedom to approach the music the way Massive Attack does: as a collective, working on sounds, rather than with each person in the band playing a prescribed role. It was quite hard work for us to adjust to the fact that some of us might not necessarily be playing our usual instrument on a track, or even playing any instrument at all. Once you get over your insecurities, then it’s great.”[1]

Maybe it’s “great” for you Ed, maybe for you.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]While Radiohead were sitting moping around a studio trying to think of what to do that no-one would be expecting them to do, Oasis were banging out tunes like My Big Mouth, which while not being in the same ballpark as most of the stuff on the first 2 albums, still had people excited 12 years later in Slane. I don’t think anything on Amnesiac comes that close.

From wiki, on Amnesiac:
According to guitarist Ed O’Brien, “We had to come to grips with starting a song from scratch in the studio and making it into something, rather than playing it live, rehearsing it and then getting a good take of a live performance. None of us played that much guitar on these records. Suddenly we were presented with the opportunity and the freedom to approach the music the way Massive Attack does: as a collective, working on sounds, rather than with each person in the band playing a prescribed role. It was quite hard work for us to adjust to the fact that some of us might not necessarily be playing our usual instrument on a track, or even playing any instrument at all. Once you get over your insecurities, then it’s great.”[1]

Maybe it’s “great” for you Ed, maybe for you.[/QUOTE]

Neanderthal, ignorant prick, gobshite, talking through your hole, stuck in your ways.

Well I can’t agree with that. Amnesiac and Hail to the Thief are good albums.

Just as you have said that I can’t slag off Oasis for staying still, you equally cannot slag off Radiohead for trying to push the boundaries and try out new things. You have even went as far as to call it self indulgent wank. I would be shot if I made a similar comment on Oasis.

I think it says much more for a band that try and push themselves further. To me Radiohead have upped their quality significantly since OK, you look at this ambition as some sort of negative. They should just stick with the radio friendly stuff. Why should they? Radiohead are their own band.

You even say that deep down they will regret making such a move. Why would they? They are doing pretty well for themselves and they are doing what they want to do - which you place such an emphasis on obviously.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]What has he done since?

Happy living in that time and not branching out. Things have changed y’know. It’s not 1995 anymore.[/QUOTE]

If you’re that to it’s logical conclusion, you’d also have to tell all My Bloody Valentine fans to stop living in 1991, and all Pixies and Stone Roses fans to stop living in 1989. Beatles fans really need to stop living in the 60’s as well.

You’re living in the past. Quit living in the past!

Farmer I haven’t really got the time right now, but OK Computer is most certainly not radio-friendly, at least not as I understand it.

And I didn’t say that “you can’t slag off Oasis for standing still”, you can slag them as much as you want. I just happen to disagree with you, and I believe that there was no pressing need for Oasis to go off into the realms of synths and people standing around a studio twiddling knobs instead of actually playing instruments.

I don’t think you’ll be shot for calling some Oasis stuff self-indulgent walk (most of SOTSOG was), so calm down, you’re not that controversial despite your best efforts :clap:

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Farmer I haven’t really got the time right now, but OK Computer is most certainly not radio-friendly, at least not as I understand it.

And I didn’t say that “you can’t slag off Oasis for standing still”, you can slag them as much as you want. I just happen to disagree with you, and I believe that there was no pressing need for Oasis to go off into the realms of synths and people standing around a studio twiddling knobs instead of actually playing instruments.

I don’t think you’ll be shot for calling some Oasis stuff self-indulgent walk (most of SOTSOG was), so calm down, you’re not that controversial despite your best efforts :clap:[/QUOTE]

But just as you appear to have an issue with me calling for Oasis to push on to try new things, you also seem to be criticising Radiohead for doing just that.

It’s not the realm of synths either - let’s just get that straight.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]But just as you appear to have an issue with me calling for Oasis to push on to try new things, you also seem to be criticising Radiohead for doing just that.

It’s not the realm of synths either - let’s just get that straight.[/QUOTE]

Dunph, lock the thread… the snobby cunt has ruined it.

I wish I could argue my points and be as articulate as you.

Eh, yeah - they are consistent views aren’t they?