Hereâs my thoughts. Pretty good. Fairly gripping and fast pace suited it. Too much assumed knowledge maybe but youd be all day introducing twenty odd characters. Way too many love hate people. A few cliched bits (every scene Geraldine Kennedy had was the same and the shit in his local shop was twee as fuck) but loads of good machinations and manipulation. You get a real sense of the man(or their version). Good to see a friend of the forum figure largely as the developer.
Gillen - Deadly
Vaughan Lawlor- Donât buy him, too nidgy. Nidgeâs laugh, Nidgeâs quick facial change mannerisms.
Doherty- I liked him.
Colley and O Malley.- Great
The AIG insurance guy and the traveller from love hate I didnât buy(terrible wigs!!!) but the groundsman was quite good.
Risteard Cooper- Very good
Terry Keane- Very good
Interesting enough to be fair. I enjoyed Dohertyâs contributions, confirming local legend as the great fixerâŚWhat will be more crucial to the veracity of the series will be the portrayal of Ray MacSharry. Of all of those who featured in various Haughey administrations, only MacSharry and Reynolds were never intimidated by him or his persona.
Rumour abounds that @artfoley[/USER] âmayâ make a cameo appearance in the next episode as AG Paddy Connolly while [USER=217]@Garda Sean Horgan will play Gda Tom Tully as a foil to a Doherty re-settlement offeringâŚ
Great times, tremendous conclaves of supporters, liberally drink-fuelled, having their say with regard to heaves/removals etc.,Meetings suspended, HQ informed, cries of âcome out you (name parish) fucker and say that outsideââŚWhatever about his legacy, itâll be hard to beat Haughey for stirring the blood among rural followers of the soldiers of destiny.
Iâve never seen Love/Hate so wasnât affected by the over use of the acting pool so much. It was a bit scrap Saturday-like. Still good to see RTE or whoever trying it. I look forward to the series about Bertie.,
Surely John Bruton is next? Having also not see the Glenroe lite that is Love/Hate, this Nidge shit never bothered me at all. The dialogue was clunky in places, but overall relatively decent. I would Maureen and her family wonât be best pleased with her role so far.
[QUOTE=âBoxtyeater, post: 1066814, member: 246â]Interesting enough to be fair. I enjoyed Dohertyâs contributions, confirming local legend as the great fixerâŚWhat will be more crucial to the veracity of the series will be the portrayal of Ray MacSharry. Of all of those who featured in various Haughey administrations, only MacSharry and Reynolds were never intimidated by him or his persona.
Rumour abounds that @artfoley[/USER] âmayâ make a cameo appearance in the next episode as AG Paddy Connolly while [USER=217]@Garda Sean Horgan will play Gda Tom Tully as a foil to a Doherty re-settlement offeringâŚ
Great times, tremendous conclaves of supporters, liberally drink-fuelled, having their say with regard to heaves/removals etc.,Meetings suspended, HQ informed, cries of âcome out you (name parish) fucker and say that outsideââŚWhatever about his legacy, itâll be hard to beat Haughey for stirring the blood among rural followers of the soldiers of destiny.[/QUOTE]
Boxty i was only born in 1979 so im reliant on you for some information on said Doherty
was he the individual when questioned âhow are things in Letrimâ retorted with " shur how would i know im from Roscommon"
is the portrayal of Lenihan Snr. as a the local fence sitting fool accurate?
clearly he did what he had to do to enhance his own career but he is looking like a stooge⌠in the absence of memoirs are RTE trying to shape his legacy here?
FF killed both the old man in 1996 and then Brian Jnr in 2011⌠the family are some âdynastryâ allrightâŚ
[QUOTE=âJuhniallio, post: 1066776, member: 53â]Hereâs my thoughts. Pretty good. Fairly gripping and fast pace suited it. Too much assumed knowledge maybe but youd be all day introducing twenty odd characters. Way too many love hate people. A few cliched bits (every scene Geraldine Kennedy had was the same and the shit in his local shop was twee as fuck) but loads of good machinations and manipulation. You get a real sense of the man(or their version). Good to see a friend of the forum figure largely as the developer.
Gillen - Deadly
Vaughan Lawlor- Donât buy him, too nidgy. Nidgeâs laugh, Nidgeâs quick facial change mannerisms.
Doherty- I liked him.
Colley and O Malley.- Great
The AIG insurance guy and the traveller from love hate I didnât buy(terrible wigs!!!) but the groundsman was quite good.
Risteard Cooper- Very good
Terry Keane- Very good
Looking forward to next week.[/QUOTE]
Last night I was starting to think you were cool, and now this!
[QUOTE=âmickee321, post: 1066840, member: 367â]Boxty i was only born in 1979 so im reliant on you for some information on said Doherty
was he the individual when questioned âhow are things in Letrimâ retorted with " shur how would i know im from Roscommon"[/QUOTE]
Yes it was, although Doherty was actually TD for Roscommon/Leitrim at the time.
Obviously I havenât seen it, though I canât wait. Re Brian Lenihan, he liked to portray himself as the hail fellow well met local interest only simpleton, but Lenihan was a very cleve man whO knew where the bodies were buried. He made a bad mistake in 1990, but many of the achievements Haughey claimed as his own, were down to Brian Lenihan.
Can we please have a moratorium on these âah shut he was a real leader and we could do with him now commentsâ.
Charlie haughey was a cunt, end of. Fuck off with this bollocks ridiculous nostalgia.
[QUOTE=âFitzy, post: 1066861, member: 236â]Obviously I havenât seen it, though I canât wait. Re Brian Lenihan, he liked to portray himself as the hail fellow well met local interest only simpleton, but Lenihan was a very cleve man whO knew where the bodies were buried. He made a bad mistake in 1990, but many of the achievements Haughey claimed as his own, were down to Brian Lenihan.
Can we please have a moratorium on these âah shut he was a real leader and we could do with him now commentsâ.
Charlie haughey was a cunt, end of. Fuck off with this bollocks ridiculous nostalgia.[/QUOTE]
He was a cunt fitzy no doubt and I have no time for his personal disgraceful way of life or indeed for the shocking carry on FF were at for the last 40 years.
However he wa a worker, and he had high standards, was genuinely (in his own way anyway) patriotic and wouldnât take shit from too many foreign leaders. He was a leader and while an ideal leader would have all of the above and a bit more personality, itâs someone like him from a more socialist background we need now.
[QUOTE=âFitzy, post: 1066861, member: 236â]Obviously I havenât seen it, though I canât wait. Re Brian Lenihan, he liked to portray himself as the hail fellow well met local interest only simpleton, but Lenihan was a very cleve man whO knew where the bodies were buried. He made a bad mistake in 1990, but many of the achievements Haughey claimed as his own, were down to Brian Lenihan.
Charlie haughey was a cunt, end of. Fuck off with this bollocks ridiculous nostalgia.[/QUOTE]
You might be taking up some posts wrongly The drama depicted him as a leader held back by his bumbling cabinet. The majority see him as a hypocritical cunt with an inflated sense of entitlement bur he did have a few redeeming features like strong leadership and drive to improve the country
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 1066872, member: 273â]So do I, but not shite politics and shit acting.
Well itâs not the acting, more the writing and production. The actors can only do so much.
Itâs well below par.
Have you acted? I seriously considered it in Oz a few years ago. I think Iâm full if shit enough for it. and emotional enough for it.[/QUOTE]
I have acted. I think itâs savage buzz. Very good for the development of young people too.
I donât think I would call him a strong leader as his leadership was primarily based on fear. I think he was genuinely shocked at the reception he got at Lynchâs funeral. He was loudly booed throughout it.
He definitely had the material to potentially have been a great leader. But the Black Prince title is appropriate.