The Galway Criticism Thread

[quote=“Lazarus”]We would appear to have stumbled upon the causes of SSs fear of women and his grudge against Galway in one fell swoop.

A tragic tale indeed.[/quote]

Yes indeed, its all coming together now:clap:

[quote=“Gaillimharais”]Only place your missing is the shithole that is Glendara.

Lived in a total of 3 houses in that kip. The Mace that was at the front of the estate is now closed down I believe. The local scobies used to call it ‘easy-shop’ because it was robbed so often.

Once I believe the threatening weapon that was used was a simple but effective rock.[/quote]

:smiley: The wild wild west.

Yeah it’s closed now alright. My brother lived in a nice house in Glendara alright but the neighbours were fucking nutcases. On the whole westside is to be avoided.

[quote=“Watch The Break”]:smiley: The wild wild west.

Yeah it’s closed now alright. My brother lived in a nice house in Glendara alright but the neighbours were fucking nutcases. On the whole westside is to be avoided.[/quote]

Just make sure you keep avoiding it little banner boy

I’ll do what I want.

Its obvious now that SS only started this thread to share with us this awful moment, to get it off his chest. I truly hope this is a cathartic moment for him and would like to assure him that we dont think any less of him. Well maybe we do a little but not much. So brave

Couldnt be arsed starting a new thread for this. Anyone know what website this was?

Gardai in Galway have been asked to investigate the content of a website after allegations were made against a number of hurling people in the county.

The development comes as the county braces itself for a contentious annual convention of the Galway Hurling Board tonight, when all six positions at the top table are being contested.

Gardai have confirmed that they have been asked to investigate the content of a website message board, which contained serious allegations concerning a number of individuals.

“A complaint has been made and it is being investigated,” said a garda spokesperson.

The gardai have been asked to establish the identify of a number of people who posted the messages on the website.

A number of messages have since been removed or edited on the site.

Volunteer Thomas Courtney remembered: ‘Thinking back over the years, I have come to the conclusion that Galway town was, and in my opinion still is, the most shoneen* town in Ireland.’
*[size=2]Shoneen means an Irishman who imitates English ways.[/size]

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/39185/galway-the-most-shoneen-town-in-ireland

A shitehole with serious drinking issues, but the craic is mighty :rolleyes:

Also, the mandatory response to every question in Galway is ‘Ah Shtop’… What the fuck is that about??

Given the church dominated society they produced, I’d pay little heed to the cultural criticisms of that reactionary movement.

FOR ALL THE GALWAY HATING CUNTS ON THIS FORUM.

FUCK YOU AND YACHT YOU RODE IN ON.

:guns:

( Imagine the looting that would go on in Limerick if they tried to host this in Steamboat Quay http://cp12-eu.stablehost.com/~thefreek/board/public/style_emoticons/default/laugh.png )

http://campus.ie/sites/default/files/galway_ocean_race.jpg

We’ve held plenty of international events and all were a huge success. How has Limerick become notorious for looting now? Galway and cork have far higher crime rates. If I could add a angry face I’d really let you know how I feel.

I’d ask all TFK brethren to come visit the capital of the Midwest for the upcoming 4th of July celebration, as the premiere U.S city outside of the U.S celebrates freedom.

Thank you and have a good day.

I think we should organise a pirate ship festival in Limerick.

There was loads of boats sailing through the middle of the city this morning. Not sure what was going on.
I was in Galway for a few hours yesterday, great buzz around.

[font=Arial]

NEWS
[/font]
[font=Arial]

[center]

http://www.galwaynews.ie/sites/www.galwaynews.ie/files/imagecache/Preview/images/3233321427_7278731315_o.jpg[/center]

Gardaí call time on city bars’ late night drinks
August 14, 2012 - 8:36am

Stricter enforcement of the licensing laws

AN Garda Síochána has ‘called time’ on its lenient policing of exemptions to opening hours of the city’s late night pubs – Galway’s late bars will have to close at the legal extended time of 1am from now on, and not 2am as was widely assumed by the drinking public and practiced by publicans.
Galway Gardaí have confirmed to the Connacht Sentinel that a number of inspections have been carried out in recent weeks on city centre pubs to ensure they are complying with licensing laws in relation to opening hours, and in particular late night exemptions.
A spokesperson at Galway Garda Station said that there were no prosecutions pending following the inspections carried out at night in bars and pubs in the city in the past month.
However, it is understood the clampdown on late-night bars is causing disquiet among some publicans.
The law as it stands now is that pubs are allowed serve until 11.30pm, Monday to Thursday, and until 12.30am on Friday and Saturday with a half-hour ‘drinking up’ time.
Publicans wishing to open later can apply for exemptions to the local courts but these extensions only allow, and have always only allowed, for drink to be served up to 1am, with a half-hour drink up time, and not 2am as is the perception.
There was an ‘unwritten agreement’ between the late night pubs and Gardaí that the venues that had paid €440, per night, per premises, per extension, could stay open until 2am.
So, even though the late bars were not strictly allowed stay open past 1am, the Gardaí effectively threw a ‘blind eye’ to the practice. It seems, not anymore, however, as a new licensing sergeant in Galway appears to be implementing the ‘letter of the law’, which prompted the latest series of inspections

New licensing sergeant trying to make a name for himself here. Things will be back to normal by the time the students are back I reckon[/font]

Galway for a so-called “party capital” has always had a very early end to the night. If it gets even earlier, well, what’s the point in even going there. I’ve always thought it’s quite an over rated place to go out in anyway.

The publicans in Galway have a tough time of it alright compared to the rest of the country.

Galway used to be cool but now it’s too far up its own arse.

I think so many people believe this that it’s now cool again.

This.
It’s cool again by default