The Grand National 2015 - The People's Race

I usually go on the Thursday for the gold cup at Ascot, the real Gold Cup race IMO, some day out at Royal Ascot, the pageantry and protocol is unreal

HENLEY ROYAL REGATTA
Henley Royal Regatta is undoubtedly the best known regatta in the world and is both one of the highlights of the summer sporting calendar and the social season.

It attracts thousands of visitors over a 5-day period and spectators will be thrilled by over 200 races of an international standard, including Olympians and crews new to the event.

Aside from the rowing, visitors can take in the ambience enjoying the facilities within the enclosures.

Don’t forget Trinners Regatta next Saturday, mate. If the weather picks up again it’ll be only glorious.

I can certainly get him into the stewards enclosure at Henley.
Odd place. Good craic, but last time I was there it was 32 degrees and flat calm and utterly stifling and I was told to put my jacket back on even though I had a shirt and tie. Only the English would torture themselves thus.
I went out to the normal part as I couldn’t bear it.

Ps I nearly called out your man for the cuntish behaviour but the enclosure badges are all numbered, and as they are annually renewable from what I understand, the jumped up little cunt of a man* would simply have noted the number and removed the allocation the following year. It would have been unmannerly on my part.
Loads of Irish there btw. Irish rowing was well represented.

*actually he was the size of a door

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1122112, member: 1170”]Ps I nearly called out your man for the cuntish behaviour but the enclosure badges are all numbered, and as they are annually renewable from what I understand, the jumped up little cunt of a man* would simply have noted the number and removed the allocation the following year. It would have been unmannerly on my part.
Loads of Irish there btw. Irish rowing was well represented.

*actually he was the size of a door[/QUOTE]Jesus you can’t be roaring in a place like that, t=hank God you managed to restrain yourself and acted with a bit of decorum

I wouldn’t have roared. I’d have told him he was a cunt in a most civilised tone.

@Tassotti, our Royal Air Force also has some splendid summer events. I’ve been invited to The Royal International Air Tattoo by an international business acquaintance and it’s certainly worth popping along to.

http://www.airtattoo.com/

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1122106, member: 1170”]I can certainly get him into the stewards enclosure at Henley.
Odd place. Good craic, but last time I was there it was 32 degrees and flat calm and utterly stifling and I was told to put my jacket back on even though I had a shirt and tie. Only the English would torture themselves thus.
I went out to the normal part as I couldn’t bear it.[/QUOTE]
Look pal they subjugated half the known world without taking their jackets off. The least you could do was keep the jacket on for an afternoon by the Thames.

Did you drop a yoke like at Ascot?

It did hark back to mad dogs and Englishmen times. I was told that if it was “deemed excessively hot, the stewards would make an announcement that removal of jackets was permitted”
What the fuck “excessively hot” is, in the minds of the stewards at Henley is beyond me. It was seething with heat. Unrale even.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1122176, member: 1170”]It did hark back to mad dogs and Englishmen times. I was told that if it was “deemed excessively hot, the stewards would make an announcement that removal of jackets was permitted”
What the fuck “excessively hot” is, in the minds of the stewards at Henley is beyond me. It was seething with heat. Unrale even.[/QUOTE]
Typical Oirish roaster, thinks 32 degrees is hot. You wouldn’t have lasted long out in the Raj, Africa or the West Indies.

Couldn’t agree more, though, in my defence, the met office said 32. Surrounded by crowds and without a puff of wind, it felt hotter. I cannot for the life of me see why a society would enforce jacket rules when its so hot you can’t think.

@flattythehurdler is clearly not commissioned officer class.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rObSWkQA7og

Born and reared grunt.

Fresh from their Australian leader, Natalie Bennett making a show of herself in a radio interview, the Green Party have really gone and disgraced themselves today with calls to ban the People’s Race.

What’s their policy on the Masters, given that the winner receives a green jacket?

Might be some jurisdictional issues involved in lobbying on that front, but I’ve no doubt they’d want to ban it too. Shower of layabout tree huggers.

Surely if you wanted to hug trees, it would be the beautiful trees at Augusta, though?

They’ve probably got a policy document on last year’s removal of the Eisenhower Tree.