The Grand National - The Blue Riband of Horse Racing

ah that was fantastic lads
the sun came out here at 3pm to give a wonderful evening
I was dispatched back to the paint shop where i returned with ronseal sage and used that for the picket fence outside the house
I emabarked on my task at 4pm with the transistor tuned to 5 live where the championship action was outstanding thruout
reception was grainy so i was delighted when saturday sport actually had 5LIVE commentary of the race of which Gary O Brien did excellently- thats one of the great things in sports sommentary when they switch between commentators for The Race, Jim McGrath used to have the business end of proceedings historically and when he came in loaded up with 3 out it was time to get to the edge of one’s seat.
It was a beautiful afternoon embodying everything that is good about an irish spring saturday, I paused Angelus like for The Race and my son who drove me crazy kicking a football in front of oncoming traffic thruout proceedings also got it,
Herself provided impromptu coffee and baklava ( that she had been making all day) and it turned into a wonderful family time in the garden
until next year

https://twitter.com/ewanmackenna/status/1114639952501977089?s=21

Sums up racing nicely to ge fair.

How many horses died this year?

One. First casualty in seven or eight years but Ewan is blithely ignoring that bit as it doesn’t suit his narrative.

One too many. RIP

The moaning about Gordon Elliott having “too many runners” is like if Armagh people had moaned that their 2002 team had too many Crossmaglen players or if Offaly people had moaned that their 1990s hurling team had too many Birr players.

Quality is quality and it doesn’t matter where it comes from.

Ewan is so negative these days that when he does do some good investigative journalism or highlights legitimate wrong doing, his arguments are cheapened. I get the whole contrarian thing and that consensus can be dangerous but fucking hell man lighten up.

wtf? a horse died

disgusting

The horsey set trying to justify horse murder.

its “just the one”

Like lads running marathons and half marathons. You’d want your head examined.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thejournal.ie/man-dies-belfast-marathon-3998744-May2018/%3Famp=1

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/london-marathon-death-matt-campbell-masterchef-collapse-runner-lake-district-a8317836.html%3Famp

Those guys in Cardiff and Belfast were running of their own accord. The poor horse didn’t have the luxury of that choice.

They also make horses live in stables man. Imagine they did that to a homeless family. You’d have war.

https://youtu.be/97dBfdNrf9A
The Brits never had a problem with slaughtering horses.

Horrendous stuff. Horses flogged just for gambling purposes. Should be banned

:joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy:

They died doing what they loved

For a journalist he has a very poor grasp of the language.

The sad thing is if the jockey broke his back the same cunts wouldn’t have a word to say