The jockeys have a choice
A horse is livestock. A jockey is a human being
Jockeys choose to be jockeys, horses don’t choose to be ridden and beat by midgets for the benefit of rich people and gamblers.
You also don’t know what livestock is
A domesticated animal raised to produce labour and goods
That makes all of us livestock so.
Indeed comrade
4 legs good, 2 legs bad.
Oscar pistorious being the logical continuation of that sequence.
We are saved
Does racing have some issues?
https://www.racingpost.com/news/former-jockey-james-banks-took-his-life-after-losing-home-inquest-hears/433412
Some terrible tragedies in recent months.
The guy who lead in Kingman and Golden Horn tragically passed a few weeks ago.
Fozzy Stack’s missus too and the husband of yer wan in England too, Walcott?
Has racing ever tackled Mental Health in any meaningful way? Most other sports have by now, struggling to recall anything from TSOK?
Jockeys are wired differently to most people. Injuries and wasting away to get rides make them more susceptible to mental health issues than most. Id imagine that it has a very high incidence of suicide compared to other professions.
Was Liam Treadwell the Grand National winning jockey that Clare Balding was given a hard time to about his teeth?
Claire would give anyone a hard time about their teeth but yes
Boxing similar, given the demands on starving and dehydrating yourself.
For many it’s impossible to walk away from race riding. Look at Eddery and Swinburn. I must say I enjoy hearing from Kieran Fallon nowadays. He finally seems to have found some peace.
I’m surprised how well ruby and ap have coped with their retirement. I wondered is it because they went out on the top they found it a little easier to walk away. I heard mick kinane say it was very easy to retire after sea the stars as he knew he wouldn’t get another that good.
I’d say the further you slip down the line the harder it is to walk away from it. In your mind your just holding out for that one great horse to come along again and it probably gets the better of you eventually.
It’s a cunt of a life for the lads who don’t get the big break.
You’re up early, mucking out, riding lots, scrounging around for a mount on outsiders. Not eating anything. Getting hurt all the time