The Let Kev at your Back thread

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 898621, member: 24ā€]I have been suffering for a back problem for a long time now which has brought an end to my astro career.

I first noticed it on a balmy evening in Stillorgan as we faced a Champions League evening. That evening is remember for a number of things - @Rocko[/USER] 's penalty that made your manā€™s from Palace look low and the much recalled take from @[USER=9]Bandage of how courageously played on with a severed thigh muscle. Well I also suffered, in silence, as a stiffness enveloped by lower back and hip areas.

This continued after every match for a while and then became a common occurrence in my daily life. One stage last season I completely seized up and was unable to turn. There and then I knew I was fucked.

Like the typical Irish man I am, I waited about a fortnight to see someone. My first port of call - a physio, which some say was a mistake. She didnā€™t do much only look at how I walked and sat. She massaged my back but it didnā€™t feel any better. She seemed to rule out wear and tear as being the cause for some reason. I decided to chuck her.

Next stop was my GP who recommended an X Ray which I got gone. Nothing showing up. He recommended that I see his physio before he referred me for a MRI. Then a couple of weeks later it improved somewhat so I left it alone.

Today it has come back with a vengeance. The pain is now focused directly on my lower spine and is moving out from there.

I am feckin frustrated with this. The original physio gave me stretches to do which I did only to be in more pain afterwards. She then recommended I stop. Which I did.

My own hunch is that my lack of proper warm up during my astro career, plus having a back a mile long and more ergonomic in the work place is all contributing but at the moment this pain needs to calm down.[/quote]

Get the MRI and save yourself multiple trips to quacks, only way to diagnose it. Thereā€™s a healer in myshall in Carlow called Danny Neill who might sort that out for you. He did wonders for my back. Yes I realise in some unenlightened corners he may also be considered a quack.

May also be? Surely he is the definition of a quack?

@farmerinthecity DO NOT GO NEAR A CUNT LIKE DAN O NEILL.

I cannot stress this enough, the cunt is a quack and you will find yourself in a queue with horses and the like, this should be enough of a warning for you.

My boss at work was going on about him.

A ā€˜healerā€™?

There are enough of those chancers down my way.

No chance.

Cheers for the advice though. The MRI is the only way to go.

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 898621, member: 24ā€]I have been suffering for a back problem for a long time now which has brought an end to my astro career.

I first noticed it on a balmy evening in Stillorgan as we faced a Champions League evening. That evening is remember for a number of things - @Rocko[/USER] 's penalty that made your manā€™s from Palace look low and the much recalled take from @[USER=9]Bandage of how courageously played on with a severed thigh muscle. Well I also suffered, in silence, as a stiffness enveloped by lower back and hip areas.

This continued after every match for a while and then became a common occurrence in my daily life. One stage last season I completely seized up and was unable to turn. There and then I knew I was fucked.

Like the typical Irish man I am, I waited about a fortnight to see someone. My first port of call - a physio, which some say was a mistake. She didnā€™t do much only look at how I walked and sat. She massaged my back but it didnā€™t feel any better. She seemed to rule out wear and tear as being the cause for some reason. I decided to chuck her.

Next stop was my GP who recommended an X Ray which I got gone. Nothing showing up. He recommended that I see his physio before he referred me for a MRI. Then a couple of weeks later it improved somewhat so I left it alone.

Today it has come back with a vengeance. The pain is now focused directly on my lower spine and is moving out from there.

I am feckin frustrated with this. The original physio gave me stretches to do which I did only to be in more pain afterwards. She then recommended I stop. Which I did.

My own hunch is that my lack of proper warm up during my astro career, plus having a back a mile long and more ergonomic in the work place is all contributing but at the moment this pain needs to calm down.[/quote]

Something similar happened a mate of mine and he was fucked for ages trying all sorts of shit, turned out it was some problem with his groin/hamstring canā€™t remember which.

No. Constant stiffness and pain this morning across my lower back. Ok when I am sitting or standing still but when I go from either to the other I am barely able to move.

How did he figure it out? MRI?

@farmerinthecity - that sounds exactly what I am suffering with mateā€¦ In my case I am almost certain it is my S.I joint- which is where the hip/spine meet hence the reason the stiffness shoots over to you hip and can affect your groin and hamstring area as in my caseā€¦ If thereā€™s a boots or chemist go out now and by a pack of heat patches and places it on the lower back where you are suffering, it will bring relief (boots brand are 7.50 for 4 so itā€™s not a every day solution) I generally find heat works on it.

Initially I was suffering in all the areas I pointed out above so couldnā€™t pin point it- but after a while and everything settled down the cause of it was clearly coming from just left of spine very lower back and going into my hip (or piriformis area) and then onto the rest of the body. Sitting and lying aint bad but periods of standing or slightly tilting brought it on for me and I would be fucked until I took a warm showerā€¦ I put on one of those patches for the first time Saturday when I was working on a market stall and I was grand for the day, no painā€¦

Anyway, If I were you, I would go to a osteopath or back to a good physio and tell them you suspect itā€™s the S.I joint- Iā€™d also go to a sports massage therapist and get every thing stretched/massaged out and release all that tension in around your hips etc.

Good luck with it mate, I feel your pain, literally, but deffo get on the heat asap

You need to visit Francis in Ardpatrick Co Limerick. A lady in her mid fifties with magical hands. Your hips and pelvis need realignment, sheā€™ll do it for you for a fair fee. Ask for her in the village to get directions to her house which is a mile or two outside village. She will fix your back. She fixed mine and Christ did I suffer. Do it.

@farmerinthecity - I should have added that I am in no way qualified to to diagnose your condition and it could be a number of things including piriformis syndrome that is very similar to S.I joint painā€¦ I should have added that initially it was very painful to sit as my hammy was constantly pinching but that has dissipated recentlyā€¦ Had you ever discomfort from sitting down?? Anyway, iā€™d roll with the S.I joint for now and let the fuckers rule it out if it aintā€¦ apparently it is a very underdiagnosed problem when it comes to lower back pain.

@Mark Renton

Cheers for that.

How did you discover it was the S.I joint? No offence but so many people have come to me and said ā€˜oh that sounds like exactly what I haveā€™ etc. What I am looking for now is a means of determining what the problem is otherwise I am taking shots in the dark. Wouldnā€™t issues with joints show up on an X Ray? Considering that I have had one of those and no problems were diagnosed.

I have never really had any discomfort sitting down.

Farmer donā€™t be listening to this fucking idiot talking shyte to you. You need hands on spinal manipulation not some cocksucker talking through their hole. If you want your back fixed go see that lady.

Sounds like itā€™s all your head

Farmer, I suffered a pelvic injury and a hamstring tear back in my younger days. I was sent to some lad in Tempelogue or Terenure or somewhere like that and he creeped me out no end. He made me walk around and all that sort of stuff while he watched. Then he did some work on my back and told me I was getting up too late in the mornings (I was a student at the time) so my back wasnā€™t prepared for a dayā€™s work. Iā€™d advise not going to him.

Great advice mate. Cheers.

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 898688, member: 24ā€]@Mark Renton

Cheers for that.

How did you discover it was the S.I joint? No offence but so many people have come to me and said ā€˜oh that sounds like exactly what I haveā€™ etc. What I am looking for now is a means of determining what the problem is otherwise I am taking shots in the dark. Wouldnā€™t issues with joints show up on an X Ray? Considering that I have had one of those and no problems were diagnosed.

I have never really had any discomfort sitting down.[/quote]

Being honest I am still not 100% as the only other alternative is lumber disk which I refuse to believe. But essentially I ticked all the boxes of S.I joint and when I last went back to physio and described exactly where the pain was coming from, the affect it was having on my hip etc he said it sounds like S.I but it is very hard to determine- The reason it probably doesnā€™t show up in a scan is because the problem is more likely the ligaments around the joint - which in my case explains why heat helped relieve the painā€¦ The joint is also really small and it may only be slightly out of placeā€¦

I guess one way of describing my discomfort is if you are sitting down and put your head down onto your chest and try to lift the leg of the side you are having trouble with- it feels like the top of the buttock is locked going from lower back straight across to hip. I did also suffer slight sciatic discomfort and again the hammy when sitting down which are both symptoms ā€¦

From what you describes it is either piriformis or S.I - Try the heat patches anyway for lower back and see how you get onā€¦you should be stretching every day for either condition- hamstring/groins/glutes etc they are all connected and you need to work them all out to get to the problem. Imagine a piece of string all knotted up, you have to work out the knots on the outside first so stretch regularlyā€¦ A good sports massage therapist I reckon will tell you a lot and work out knots and troubles area as well as giving you a good stretch. Iā€™m getting it done for free at the minute as i am acting as a case study for a chap learning his trade. Youā€™ll be surprised where they will find knots/problems on the body.

I gave you a little advice about a half an hour ago farmer lad. Poor display of character for you to not even acknowledge it. I hope the pain in your back puts you in a wheelchair for the rest of your life you useless pontificating cock sucking faggot!

Lads, who keeps replying to this thread? I have a few people on ignore so not sure who it isā€¦ If itā€™s that arse bandit Peter G he may be worth listening to, Famer, as he has been bent over for a lot of his life and has probably had an amount of back problems to deal with.

Youā€™re fucking dead!!

you have Farmer on ignore?