Is that gimp a chef?fuck me all his posts about the financial markets can be disregarded.he left school at 15
Good man @anon67715551, itâll be no bother to you. I havenât had a fag since May 29. Go cold turkey, youâll feel like shit for a few days and after a fortnight youâll be wondering what all the fuss was about.
I must say markets were expecting a more dovish comment from you this morning.
My father used to smoke Sweet Afton. Then he decided to cut back and changed to No 6 in later years. He smoked for about 40-50 years, gave them up for lent one year and never went back. Not a bother.
A complete bollix of a habit. I was a 20 a day smoker (much more at weekends) until July 2010. During a preseason training session I nearly collapsed with my lungs on fire. I had 2 in a box on the way to the training in the car and them 2 are still lying around somewhere. I can honestly say it changed my life in ways I never imagined. Never been fitter and I very rarely seem to get sick now.
who would have thought youd learn so much useful shit while your shovelling french fries out to high school kids.
I was giving boxty health advice not culinary advice. Lean meat in moderation like most things in moderation are no problem but if you have even moderate levels of arteriosclerosis as boxty has, then best to avoid animal fats.
As an aside Iâm not a chef, I just like to cook and was taught by a chef.
Are you referring to me? If you care to check my commentary on the financial markets since last summer youâll find by and large I have been spot on. Recommended exiting stocks and going to cash which isnât looking too bad, considering global stocks as I predicted then are in a bear market.
why would i check your commentary on financial markets?
Ah right, I never know whether to take culinary or investment advice from the Labane crowd
I could care less whether you do or not, but if youâre saying they should be disregarded maybe base that clueless comment on something rather than nothing.
Both mate, and building houses in flood zones.
Thanks for the post Boxty - and the best of luck to you with it. Mark Twain wrote that giving up smoking was the easiest thing in the world, and that he should know because he did it thousands of times!
The only close family member I have that quit is my old man. He was going to bed the evening before Ash Wednesday about 20 years ago, and he had 3 cigarettes left in the box - smoked the lot then fucked the box into the fire. Went cold turkey - no substituting with other addictions.
Just like to add, thatâs a good post from @anon7035031. Heâs bang on the money with what he said on diet, tumeric and garlic. Adding a boosted diet into the equation along with quitting smoking is the only right step.
Boxty, this might be the easiest thing youâve ever done. I take it you have grandchildren? Thatâs all the leverage you need. My kids spent time this Christmas with two of their great-grandfathers - both well into their 90s - and I wouldnât trade that time for the world.
Youâll have plenty of time yet to come on here and enjoy the fine examples of pompous and gratuitously snide posts from people that know sweet fuck all. A votre sante.
Itâs all a pure habit pal, I was off them cold turkey for 3 years, but foolishly went back on them 4 years ago.
Their a cunt of a habit, take one day at a time giving them up - you have to be fully motivated to do it, and after that take it one day at a time, then 3 days, then 3 months, and after that you wonât even crave them anymore.
Iâm going to give them up myself soon again for good. First 3 days are the worst, once youâre over that it gets a lot easier.
[quote=âironmoth, post:1116, topic:12919, full:trueâ]
Boxty, this might be the easiest thing youâve ever done. I take it you have grandchildren? Thatâs all the leverage you need. [/quote]
Iâm not saying Iâve cracked it or anything but Iâm entering Day 4 fag free. I envisage their innocent faces and wonder if a diet of fags can destroy the vision and become re-energised. A great point @ironmoth .
Iâm currently however at 1am. enjoying a superb chicken sandwich with a âcrafty stoutââŚFuck it, something will get me.
FĂłgraâŚI have a hoor of a headcold (new), a bastard of a back-pain and dizzy feelings when I see Enda Kenny on TV.
Great job pal, you are through the worst days, but important to persevere.
Symptoms may be withdrawal, nicotine is a strong narcotic.
do you have any faith Boxty? try and sya a few prayers to get you over the worst of it
Medical advice: donât go to Wexford hospital*
*Know this from experience.
Yup. Itâs a viking trait apparently. My Bro and my dad have both had to have surgery for it.
As an aside it can also affect your knob by all accounts.
Great effort boxty. I read somewhere that nicotine is about the most addictive substance known to man.
Does any of ye smoke those ecigarettes?