Have had Bruggse Zod, Straffe Hendrik, Orval and Grimbergen in quick succession. There is nothing to match Belgian beer.
I picked up cans of Guinness Extra Stout instead of draught earlier. It’s not too bad.
I had an ale called Hurricane Jack on Saturday, it was fucking sensational.
Hurricane Jack opens with a quiet hiss, and pours golden blonde. There’s medium carbonation and a medium-dense white head that doesn’t want to fade. The aromas are grainy/biscuity with an edge of fruit, nothing overpowering. There’s a very light mouthfeel, but I can’t quite put my finger on the flavour. It’s very light, theres an incredibly delicate sweetness to it, and the aftertaste is bitter, but only a little. Almost a noble level of bitterness, I think.
Tremendous post !
Bluetongue is a middling premium lager but nice. The pale ales here are savage. Why Irish bars continue to rely on the old reliable heavily marketed shite is beyond me. The sooner Irish people realise there’s more to drink than this shite the better for everyone.
Irish bars stock that shite because it’s what most brain washed punters want to drink. Sad but true. Look at the amount of Irish lads on holiday who will go looking for a bar that serves something they recognise instead of drinking the local brew or something exotic.
[quote=“hannibal, post: 576567”]
Irish bars stock that shite because it’s what most brain washed punters want to drink. Sad but true. Look at the amount of Irish lads on holiday who will go looking for a bar that serves something they recognise instead of drinking the local brew or something exotic.[/quote]
True enough, the likes of rocko and bandage should be taken out and shot
I enjoyed drinking in only two pubs in Poznan in all my time there due to the fact they were the only ones that sold Magners. I also had chicken nuggets and chips for dinner each night, I suppose you think there is something wrong with that as well
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 576569”]
I enjoyed drinking in only two pubs in Poznan in all my time there due to the fact they were the only ones that sold Magners. I also had chicken nuggets and chips for dinner each night, I suppose you think there is something wrong with that as well[/quote]
Fair play chewy. Delighted you had a back bone to take a stance unlike the fat cunt who sold his soul before he left.
Farmers tan, white socs and two buck teeth is how Phil described you… I thought he was exaggerating.
Phil is full of shit, I wasn’t wearing any socks when I met him as I was bare foot. The rest I cannot dispute
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 576569”]
I enjoyed drinking in only two pubs in Poznan in all my time there due to the fact they were the only ones that sold Magners. I also had chicken nuggets and chips for dinner each night, I suppose you think there is something wrong with that as well[/quote]
Would you not , in a spirit of adventure, have tried some of the local brew and some of the local grub while you were there? It’s a terrible shame to travel that distance and eat and drink the same stuff that you can get the rest of the year at home.
Sure that stuff would only be pure shit
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 576574”]
Sure that stuff would only be pure shit[/quote]
I know, that’s why I wondered why you didn’t try the polish beer and food.
Just had a pint of Harp there in the city of Derry, Must be my first pint of harp in 25 years. Less cutting on the guts than I remember it.
Anybody tried the new bottled Guinness larger? I’ll be partaking later
Had a feed of Murphys last night , a lovely, lovely stout.
Tasted it but wasn’t really taken by it. I’d like to have few hottles to judge it propoerly
Fagan, before you had tried the cobra, do you mind telling me why you tried silage run off ?
Little creatures bright ale is a decent beer.