The Man Utd Thread

Sublimely cheeky goal by Ronaldo. Heā€™s having an astonishing season and shows no sign of slowing up.

Scored one sublime goal and set up the other 3. Ronaldo is the best in the world this season. United need 4 wins and a draw to retain the league at least as the goal difference is plus 21 on Chelsea. The defence deserves a lot of praise too. Under 3 different goalkeepers the team has kept 5 clean sheets in a row in the league. Only downer of the match was that Ferdinand, Evra, Carrick and Giggs are all doubts for Tuesday night. Reminds me of last season when around this time the injuries piled up especially in the back 4.

Superb performance. Ronaldo was excellent. Super goals all round and Rooney is back scoring. Canā€™t beat watching Man U when we play like that. Roll on tuesday.

Whatā€™s the score on the injuries Shan? Rio is always potentially injured but Iā€™m sure heā€™ll make it. Carrick would be a loss alright as would Evra. Giggs I donā€™t mind so much.

I think they will be alright. All travelled to Rome this morning. Only Nani didnt go due to a thigh strain. You would wonder did he do it with the celebration he does. Totti looking doubtful for Roma.

No Totti would be a big blow for them. Worried he might drop Tevez again. No Nani is a big blow too. He has been excellent this year and really makes a difference when coming on during a tight game. They owe us,but all in all, we should be too strong for them. If our attitude is right and we get stuck in and play our oown game at a highish tempo, we will have no worries.

loved Bill O herlihy on the Premiership on Saturday talking about hte champions league. ā€˜Utd will surely win thatā€™ ā€˜Roma only drew with looks at paper in front of him Cagliari today, sure they are way down in Serie Aā€™. Typical response from the armchair Irish supporter. Doesnt know a thing about how teams are doing in other leagues if there isnt premiershp involvment. since they played Utd in league stages, they have won 22 games, drew 9 and lost 4 in all competitions. One loss in the Coppa Italia and they lost recently to Lazio in the Rome derby.

I still think Utd will get through, as they (and especially Ronaldo) are in great form, but I hate that shite here where if its not Premiership, then its not worth anything

In fairness to Bill he plays devilā€™s advocate a lot. He puts that out there and itā€™s for the actual ā€˜expertsā€™ to say ā€™ hold on Bill you canā€™t say that, that doesnā€™t say anything about the strength of Roma. I have watched Seria A and they are a very good side.ā€™

But you will find that they donā€™t. Well Dunphy says it about Spanish sides and he still talks through his holeā€¦

Overall Point - donā€™t blame Oā€™Herlihy.

yeah, I know someone should have corrected him, as he is just there to ask the questions and get responses from the ā€˜expertsā€™. But what I mean is that his view is reflective of a lot of people here who only see the premiership. Dunphy goes on about how great La Liga is and how he watches hours of it on the weekends, yet rubbishes Roma who beat Madrid 2-1 in both legs. I know Dunphy is a bad example as he is a walking contradiction. This is their job tho, and surely to God it wouldnt take much for them to know a bit more than the average barstool premiership follower.

I agree with you completely Gman.

I used to love the RTE panel but their dismissive view of Liverpool this season (reached two of the last three CL finals and have won one - far better than any other English team) has really pissed me off as have instances as you have described above.

I am there watching Giles being asked to comment on a CL game and he is there saying ā€˜I donā€™t really know much about Italian football. All I know is what I have seen so far in the Champiosn League but traditionally Italian teams are blah blah blahā€™ā€¦

I am thinking if I was to say to my boss that I donā€™t really know much about an area I am being employed to comment upon for no other eason than pure laziness then I would be fired.

Tried to make me watch Serie A, I said no, no, no
Tried to make me watch La Liga, I said no, no no

Superb performance from the boys last night. Tough when watching a game through the beer goggles(it started at 2.45am) but no arguing with a two nil away win. Great save from Eddie, super play from Rio, great goal from the golden boy. A real top class european performance. It means I can go on my holiday to Malapascua without worrying about finding a tv for the second leg.

Hope vidic recovers soon, him and Rio are excellent together.

Utd are through. Sure donā€™t we all know that Serie A is useless.:rolleyes:

Utd are now serious favourites amongst some bookmakers to win the thing. Prices from the bookies vary wildly with Skybet currently offering 3/1 and Ladbrokes the lowest at 7/4.

United and Barca in the semiā€™s should be a cracker.

fair play to Utd. Didnt think they had that in them away from home. a really good result for them. Iā€™m not sure about Barca tho to be honest. They have looked shite in La Liga and have been stuttering through this competition too. Fair play to Ronaldo as well, justifying his status right now. There can be no doubts about him if he keeps up this form and keeps showing up in the big games.

Ronaldo puts himself on the line to score that goal last night which just shows how special he is. Rooney as well. A team player. Gave Roma a torrid time. He does what is asked of him. Ill look forward to a Semi with Barca more than likely. Barcas defence not great. United would be home 2nd leg which is a huge advantage.

Donā€™t agree with that. I still think that the advantage in these games lies with the team away from home in the second leg for the simple reason that the home team has less time to respond to an away goal.

The last goal United have let in was that penalty against Portsmouth. The defence is unbelivable. I think United will get an away goal in the Nou Camp against Barcas poor defence.

Whatā€™s the story with Vidic? Will he be back at the weekend?

He is vital to the set-up.

I must say I find it strange United fans loving ā€˜Rioā€™ after the way he held out on his contract after ye standing by him when he ā€˜forgotā€™ the drug testā€¦

Sad to say, but I agree with Farmer. Also the first leg in most two legged games is often cagier* before teams have to go for broke in the second.

*With the exception of Liverpool games for which cagey is too kind a word. Guantanamo Dull, I believe is a better description.

Thats what United do though. Stand by players. Cantona, Beckham, Ferdinand and Ronaldo.

Dont know about Vidic. Ferguson was saying it was a nerve injury but he is having a scan today. Doubt he will play the weekend. Just hope its not a season ending injury.