The Official "Good Places to Eat (GrubWatch)" Thread

You, Bandage and Rocko?! :stuck_out_tongue:

Are you still scarred by the lad trying to sell you his bike outside the place?

I found that Gerrys place average enough myself.

Yah - nearly sure the veg and mash is microwaved so that it comes out so hot.

Ah lads you had to ruin it, and here I was hoping farmer would arrive here tomorrow afternoon complaining about the place and saying how the food was so bad :angry:

Anyway, it doesn’t a decent fry up alright but the lunch / dinner would be alright.

Mac we don’t all have the same hatred for Farmer as you.
I would hate for his lunch to be spoilt in the name of a practical joke.

Hatred is far too strong a word. I’ve a lot of time for farmer as the man himself will testify when we shared a few pints. I do find it amusing though when he starts to lose the rag of himself on here. Alas, it’s been quite a while since it happened last.

Comparing carveries is like comparing lumps of coal.

Steakhouses are where its at. Marco Pierre’s does a nice one.

For a bit of Mexican, Acapaulco is tasty.

Marco is a legend really.

He likes to season his steak with a bit of knorr stock cube

I’ve heard that rumour…from a source…

Im gonna head to unicorn on baggot st for some pasta this afternoon. anyone try that burrito place down around there?
Diceys and D2 carveries are poor enough fare. Price is the only good thing. Sinnotts is that bit better, but really only ever have the beef sandwich. mortons do a nice sandwich i find up on hatch street, and theres a very nice steak ciabatta place there in the market on the thursday.

Just back from Chocolat in Limerick, top notch stuff. Anybody who posted it here was spot on about it. We went for the early bird menu which was €16.50 for started mains and a coffee. I had smoked salmon starter and the surf n turf. I’d highly recommend it, big lump of fillet steak and prawns.

I find Acapulco poor enough. The best Mexican food around is Taco, Taco in the Epicurean Food Hall despite the paper plates, plastic cutlery and ridiculously small handkerchiefs.

I miss my Saturday afternoon visits to the food hall. A great spot.

It’s gone to shite IMO - Taco Taco is the only decent spot, quality Mehican grub.
My mate’s brother owns the new Mexican joint on Baggot St, Pablo Picante. Limited menu but the burrittos are tops. Very filling for 6 lids.

Excellent kebab spot there back in the day.

Whereabouts on Baggot St is the Mexican place, Spidey?

On the corner of Baggot St and Pembroke St across from Tescos - small enough joint but is well busy at lunch.

I’ve passed by that Pablo Picante place numerous times and got the impression it was more of a California/American themed joint than Mexican :unsure:

The kebab place in the foodhall is fairly moderate, the ā€˜Italian’ buffet at the back is very decent and La Corte is tremendous for coffee. Otherwise, apart from Burdocks there’s little to tempt anyone. There’s a new Mexican place called Bojum on Millenium Walkway that’s due a visit.