The Official Irish Times Best Places to Holiday in Ireland Thread

Where are ye planning on selling these fireworks buddy?

Kildare.

Would you believe I stopped there only last week on the way to Dublin. I went into the same pub O’Bama had the pint in and where he met his cousin Henry something, and would you believe it, I saw your man Henry inside in the pub. He looks like Lar Corbett. And acted a bit like Lar too. I wonder has he come out of that pub since.

@Joe_Player @KinvarasPassion

http://thetouristczar.com/peace-mind-north-clares-flaggy-shore/

Lucky enough to live within a few miles of it. Had the kids down there for a picnic at the weekend. It’s a great place to hear yourself think.

The only danger is that it will get over run.

Nice for them to get a bit of culture

@myboyblue Few of us are in Mountmellick and possibly Portlaoise tomorrow afternoon/evening.

Hit me with the latest artisan bakerys, tapas bars, gin palaces and lappo joints for the discerning male traveler.

There’s a place called “Mount Mel & Lick” down one of the side streets.

Only seeing this now, what in gods name is taking you to fucking Mountmellick? There isnt a spot in that place whose door I’d darken. Dowlings at a push.

Get out of there with your life.

Ex team mate living near there now. Ive been told we’ll be in mountmellick for a game of pool and 2 stout before the bright lights of Portlaoise. Anywhere good for spuds first in big P?

You could head into The Manhatten Mixer tomorrow night and you might see a neighbouring clubman of yours on the decks if you’re lucky? :wink:

Kellys Steakhouse is the go to in Portlaoise right now I believe. Following that keep away from the likes of Coppers, us auld fellas arent built for that sort of shite. You could go to Peigs and listen to Portlaoise fellas telling you how great they all are and if it werent for the Dublin superclubs they’d have numerous All Ireland’s.

Neighbouring clubman’s sister may be in our company :wink:

Yep coppers for the 30 pluses is required.

Ah I have you now, good stock, very very good stock.

@myboyblue old buddy.
Is o loughlins hotel in Portlaoise ok ? I’m just there for one night ( mid week) and expect to just use it to put my drunken head down for a few hours and a quick shower before I leave.
I got it very cheap and am kind of concerned about it at the price tbh.

Ah it’ll do the grandest, it’d be old but grand out for that. Pop into Kavanaghs next door for a pint, good spot.

Good man. I’m at a seminar in the Heritage but pulled a stroke re expenses. This place is fairly central I think?

Going to Seafield in Gorey for for a couple of nights. Have heard great reviews about the place. If any of the wexicans have any tips on stuff to see and do I’d appreciate it and maybe advice on best value for money green fees around Wexford?

Have stayed there, hotel rooms are okay only. Food was overpriced and average at best. If you play Golf, the adjourning course is decent weather permitting.
If the good lady likes Spa’s & treatments then she will be happy.

Things to do? I’ll leave that to local specialist @Mac

Just yourself and a missus? Or kids in tow? Midweek or weekend?

Ah yea smack bang in the middle of Main Street. Back in the day Cheddar was the manager of the nightclub at the back of it.