The official Roman Catholic thread

I think Satan might have influenced me there for a few weeks, I nearly became a liberal

That photo brought me back to serving mass in the late 80s. The white vestments, the dong of the bell before liturgy of the eucharist… I remember the enormous pressure of being the head server at a few huge funerals and making sure you didn’t fuck it up… The smell of the burning insense, the sprinkles of holy water, the choir are singing ‘How Great Thou Art’, women weeping, men staring into space. The long slow walk with the cross held high…

There was alway savage pressure heading backstage to light the incense. It was an utter bastard to get lit properly.

bringing up the water and the wine at the exact right moment, making sure your hand was steady, the pressure was unreal

you had to hold your nerve

You got a savage appreciation of death too and the impact of it.

you’d make a tenner at a good funeral, that was savage money in 1988

head altar boy at a wedding was another great gig, much sought after, you’d be well looked after

10:30 midweek mass was prime time too, get out of schoool for an hour or so to do it.

Heading a procession into the church and cunts trying to blow out the candle as you were walking past

Serving 6pm mass on a Sunday in winter in my own was utterly depressing. Fr Frank used to give me a fiver for my troubles.
One night he lost it with the few dozen gathered and shouted he was heading home.now if he didn’t hear any response. Never was a congregation more attentive to their faith duch was the fear. I pissed myself laughing.

Utterly wonderful . Great festivals of faith there in the spring in the run in to Easter .

We were advised to break off a bit of a firelighter into it, was a great job. Until one day one fella lit the whole firelighter, made shite of the Thurible and nearly burnt the place done.

Hell of a funeral

Ffs, there must be about 80 of them. They’re not even carrying the weight of a bag of cement apiece. The Latin lads have no shame when it comes to a bit of melodrama.

A few dnh tales

very hard get that right, that last thing you wanted was a firelighter odour overbearing the incense

Nothing worse at a funeral than a drop of wet incense. It would ruin the day for everyone.

Lads, wound ye have had the bell, or the gong?

I was at a mass recently and there’s was a button to press, and it played a noise, Jaysus I didn’t know where to look. Really took from the occasion.

I had a lovely way with the bell, the local parish priest would regularly praise me on my wristy nature.

That’s an open goal right there

Anyone ever serve at a confirmation?