The Official TFK 2023 Fun Running Thread

The serious people at it would usually need jobs that afford them a lot of spare time and money to make up for the lack of working and expensive equipment. Probably a great thing for teachers to do. There’s a lad in our running club who does lots of them and he’s a swimming instructor I think and works most of his hours first thing in the morning so has tonnes of daylight hours to train. Oh, and not having kids is probably a big advantage too!

This is a quite an aside but there’s a tri-club in Dublin called Piranha. As well as their races, they seem to have a crack at different parkruns around Dublin from time to time. A bit of a club Saturday morning social outing vibe & they’d wear their club gear. I know my GP is a member of Piranha because we made eye contact & shared a little hello in St Anne’s Park after parkrun just over a year ago. This was mere days after he’d cupped my balls, said he was concerned that one was hugely bigger than the other & was referring me to a specialist.

Any of our running fanatics doing the Great Limerick Run?, I’ll be on stewarding duty around the Ennis Road/Clareview area.

Anseo.

I’ll be doing the half.

You’ll be right at the suffer zone so.

Clubs get €60 a head for volunteers, as I’m down for the match I said I’d do it

Yes doing the half also :grimacing:

Half here also, ennis road usually a good spot for strong support but as @TreatyStones says tis usually a slog in that area so the support is badly needed.

Your primary role is not to send the leader the wrong direction.

Best of luck lads. Expecting great things @TreatyStones @Rintintin @crutches and any other TFKers who line out

Doing the Belfast marathon on Sunday.

Your third rodeo there?

I know a few lads heading up here to do it. One of them did Manchester last week :laughing::grimacing:

Half as well here. Young lads 18th is on Saturday night so on the dry for that. Will make up for it on the Sunday though🍺

Yeah 3rd go at it chief. Did it in 3.09 last year and went back training at the end of November with the notion of trying to scrape in under 3 hours but that ain’t going to happen now. Training has fallen off a cliff the last 6 weeks or so between one thing and another. Somewhere between 3.30 and 3.45 is probably realistic now but sure c’est la vie.

2 marathons on consecutive weekends is fair going :exploding_head:, he must be a wiry yoke?

Actually it’s 2 in 3 weekends, my mistake, but some going. Yeah, I know the lad from a circuits class I do. He’s an absolute machine. He’s got the Mourne Way Marathon lined up in June then and three more marathons before the end of year

3.09 is a sensational time. I’d take a 4.09 :laughing:

Best of luck to our crew out in Belfast and Limerick today. Have ye on the tracker with a few ‘in real life’ buddies @Rintintin and @TreatyStones

Seconded. Best of luck lads. :running_man:

Good luck to everyone running today. Fine day for it.

Having a quick :coffee: before assuming my position best of luck to everyone :man_running:

I think @backinatracksuit just passed my station :running_man:

Ah the two boys @Rintintin and @TreatyStones knocked it out of the park altogether. Fucking hell.

@backinatracksuit were you in half or 10k?