The Official TFK 2023 Fun Running Thread

I hadn’t heard of this but it looks absolutely class. Fair play to everyone involved in it.

Turns out the long-term damage of that washing machine trip has led to my earphones going glitchy and more or less giving up the ghost. I don’t know about these Shokz yokes ye are all on about them. The Bose soundsport are no longer made @backinatracksuit. I’ve found a Bose earbud type job, but I’m wary of things like that just falling out (as per one of the reviews I read of them). Any other recommendations?

I’ve moved onto these and I’m very happy with them

Any problems with them staying in the ears?
I’ve had lots of Sennheiser products over the years (headphones, microphones, etc.) and never had any problems with them.

I’ve a pair of the ones below arriving this week. Same idea as Shokz but half the price. Will let you know what they’re like

They’re actually better to stay in the ears than the Soundsport, same style wing bit for the ear

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit skeptical before I even use them

Fuck that. I don’t mess with knock-off audio stuff.

How could you not trust a package shipped by Beijing Logistics Ltd based in Portlaoise?!

Nothing good has ever come out of a basement in Laois.

Have any of my fellow fun runners tried the Saucony Endorphin Elite yet?

I’ll need to upgrade my shoes soon both for intervals/tempos & races.

I currently use the Endorphin Pro for the former & Endorphin Speed for the latter.

I was thinking of getting the latest Endorphin Pro (think it’s the Pro 3 now) & then the Elite instead of the latest Speed.

I read this review last night, which was positive overall. The horrible green colour would actually match my Raheny Shamrock green so that would be a key consideration too.

At €300, they’d want to make the tea afterwards as well.

I think I’ll stick with the Saucony Guide. I’m not sure if they’re a little tight on longer runs but need to figure it out next month to get myself ready

Why do you use the Speed for races instead of the Pro?

In a similar theme - I’m looking for a workhorse runner for the bulk middle-pace mileage accumulation between now and end Oct as my Asics Kayano’s are for the bin.

I have and love the Saucony Pro and Speed so I was thinking of something similar from them but something I could just comfortably log mileage in at a 5-5:30 type pace. I tried the Edge from them before but wasn’t the biggest fan but have read some good stuff online about the Triumph and Ride. Anyone have any experience?

I may have this the wrong way around but I thought the Speed was marketed as the racing shoe & the Pro, while you could race in it too, was geared towards faster workouts. My understanding was that this Elite shoe was now their premium racing one & their attempt to compete with Nike Alphafly & those sorts…so taking over from the Speed…or the Pro?

I use the Saucony Guide as my heavy duty runner for bog standard runs.

Would you use these for marathon? What did you go with last year? I’m wary of adding something new to my ‘shoe rotation’ at this stage, especially as I’ve been reliant on shoes with some bit of stability since I started road running. I’m also not as fast a runner as you or @tallback and probably have more modest marathon ambitions.

There’s an Endorphin Shift which seems to be more a stability shoes but has less of an offset. This stuff is quite confusing. I might spin down to Dublin to one of the specialist shops

I got the New Balance 880v11 and absolutely loved them. Really comfortable. Then “upgraded” to the 880v12 and never took to them at all.

I’m on look out for a new pair now will probably revert to the v11s if I can pick up a pair for handy money.

Irish crowd selling them cheap enough here: New Balance Mens Fresh Foam 880v11 Blue | BMC Sports

If you want to buy abroad, SportsShoes.com very reliable: https://www.sportsshoes.com/product/new693590/new-balance-fresh-foam-880v11-running-shoes/?_cur=1&utm_campaign=uk-unpaid-shopping&utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_content=Fresh+Foam+880v11+Running+Shoes&utm_term=New+Balance&gclid=CjwKCAjw5_GmBhBIEiwA5QSMxHgdCmyYG7ISJM7Ink2uUozeheTFAg1uHNJ2s7V6EhiQ4IUQWV-zCBoCkDwQAvD_BwE#sku-new693590

Limited enough sizes in both places

I’ve the Endorphin Shift. It’s alright but I’ve found it fairly firm cushioning wise. It also took about 50k or so to somewhat soften out.

I was hoping it would fit well with the rest of their Endorphin range but I wouldn’t buy again to be honest.

Pro is Race shoe with a carbon plate while Speed is race/fast training.

How do you find the Guide?