The Official TFK 2023 Fun Running Thread

If you’re under 30, you’re either playing real sports or too busy drinking and riding

Someone reliable like @Elvis_Brandenberg_Kr was saying there’s an athletics renaissance in Ireland & a lot of youngsters are moving away from bog hobbies like stick stick.

I ran with a niggly achilles from mid September last year which had severely curtailed the marathon prep. I gave myself a few weeks off after DCM with the hope of doing the 50km in Donadea in early Feb but got badly sick before Xmas so waved the white flag. So I trained on as the physio told me that rest was no use for it. And then it eventually just got worse and worse. The cross country didn’t help but I’d say its been months since I had a 100% pain free run.

I’ve a new lad I’m going to who specialises in injuries and loves sticking needles into my calves. In fairness he calls it like it is rather than telling me what I want to hear which is what I think the previous lad was doing.

Its just a bit boring and uninteresting. And a lot of the last few miles are on horrible back roads that I hate running on. And you’re also funneling money into a GAA club under the guise of supporting a charity…

Me.
I ran with a pal yesterday, let’s call him Ron Jogers. He used run for NI and half killed me with hill sprints.
Now Paul wants to do the same at 0630 tomorrow :slightly_frowning_face:

Ya I agree it was a bit needy looking

Feedback received and activity renamed. I never considered the neediness nature of it :roll_eyes:

Relax

:astonished: :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Your masochistic tendencies predate the fun-run crew by a wide margin

Paddy Leahy is the only man for that injury.

As long as ye are not putting up walks and yoga and stuff like that on Strava, it’s all fine lads.

It’s all about @Mac

:roll_eyes:

I’ve got a couple of weeks of solid running under the belt as I get over the latest hamstring issue from Jan. I’ve focused on keeping it at a steady easy pace (which for me is between 5-6 min/km) and not get into any speedier stuff which has been the trigger for the hamstring in the past. A couple of 10k runs during the week and then a longer run at the weekend. Mostly just happy to be getting a couple of weeks running without niggles.

The next race pencilled in is the Wex half-marathon in April. I might see about a 10k or similar in March though too now that the legs seem to be working again.

Remind me. Laser on the scar tissue? How does it work?

Paddy will do ultrasound to see what is going on. He will laser/inject something etc. Honestly, i was back running a couple of weeks after seeing him. Takes 3 months to get appointment.

Dropped them an email for the craic. On top of the 3 month waiting list they also want a referral letter from my GP or Physio. My main says I’ll be fully healed by late April-ish :person_shrugging:

He gave me my third bout of shockwave therapy on it this morning and then some laser treatment for good measure too.

Fantastic running by @Rintintin and @TreatyStones today.

+1. Outstanding lads, well done. :clap:

Savage stuff