The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

allright ambrose
my symathies for a start pal
iisten, we have our lunatic in the creche, last wednesday when i picked him up, he had a new jumper on and the polish wan tells me that a kid got sick so our hero decided to put his hands in it, right
anyway thursday nite im with herself having a cigarette and a drink, we hear a cry, the poor fella is up in the bed covered in vomit, his hair , eyes the whole lot, 2 vomits later and heā€™s empty retching, i spent the night on a rocking chair and him on my should like a koala with his blanket
now , when this was going on there were scenes of utter panic, i was forced to call VHI nurseline, she threatened to go to Tallaght hospital, etcā€¦ next day we had to go to the doctor he calmly says look its a virus, gave me a dirty look as if to man up and fuck off out of here
TBH, its exhausting i agree, he wanted to get out of bed this morning at 5, heā€™s teething like hell , usually id try and get him back to sleep but his nappy was bursting with shite so had to get him up
sometimes i think id be fine as a single parent, women overract to things too much, if heā€™s sick im usually up anyway and its easier to take care of it myself than put up with herself having a meltdown also
weekends are exhausting lately, heā€™s up at 6, we were nearly sitting down for lunch last sat morning at 11 am

Rocking chair, lah di dah!

@mickee321ā€¦Has the wife neā€™re a sister or cousin whoā€™d like to escape the ravages of wherever sheā€™s from and put in a shift as an aĆŗ pair for a while. By the sounds of this post and your general level of rattledness youā€™re going to crash soon.
Fuck it, I know the enviorns of North Kildare arenā€™t great but at least thereā€™s no scud missiles flying about.
Think about it. BTW, a dropĆ©Ć©n of brandy before bedtime would work wonders for both of youā€¦ :wave:

I remember the first time our eldest lad had croup. Mrs. Moth went into a bit of a tizzy. To her eternal credit she is a far better care-giver than I could ever hope to be (and it was bloody scary to find your kid sitting up in bed in the middle of the night, not able to breathe), but I surprised myself at how I took control of things. Got her to get the kettle going while I wrapped him up in a fleece and took him outside to ā€œcount the starsā€. A mixture of distraction and the cold night air helped immediately, then back inside for a good dose of steam, and got him back in bed and asleep 15 mins later. Cuppa and debrief session with the missus and we lived to fight another day - delighted that one of us wasnā€™t rushing to A+E with him.

For a single-parent, this type of incident must be hellish. No - Thank God for women. Iā€™m a lucky man that Iā€™ve never had to get up to sterilise or prep a bottle. A couple of shitty nappies and mopping up a bit of puke is as bad as itā€™s gotten. And sure anyway, I can sleep when theyā€™re teenagers. Right? Right?! Oh fuckā€¦

Anyway, hope nipper is on the mend.

This thread is a treasure trove of information.

Boxty knows the score

This thread makes fatherhood seem utterly utterly miserable. The last 30 odd posts have been shocking.

A lot of it depends on how hysterical your wife/partner is.

What else would you expect in a forum where lads come to let off steam?

If you want the happy stuff, check their facebook and instagrams

From once you marry a medical professional with a post-graduate qualification in project management youā€™ll be fine.

Lads. It honestly sounds shit. I donā€™t expect anyone to admit it though.

I have one good pal who is honest with me and admits that itā€™s a fucking rough being a parent. His significant other put a gun to his head (figuratively) and he had no choice but to go with it. I presume thatā€™s what happens most men. Either that or thereā€™s an ā€˜accidentā€™. This guy is counting down the days to when his kids are old enough to their deal with their own problems.

I can only imagine how hard it is for people with kids who have serious illnesses. I donā€™t know how they do it.

Heā€™s a dipshit so.

They are heroes in my eyes.

I know of a family with a man (now) with cerebral palsy. He is around 35.

He requires 24 hour attention. He also can be a very difficult character and if his routine is knocked out of shape even slightly he goes crazy. Things like visitors to the house, one of the parents being away and even parking in a different spot than usual can set him off. You can see how much your life can be completely changed caring for such a person.

The issue arose with him due to a lack of oxygen at birth. Hospital fuck up. The family never looked for a penny though - which they should have in my eyes.

Two of the nicest people you could meet. I think you have to be of a certain way to do what they do day in day out and not even bat an eyelid. They are in their late 60s now though so they canā€™t keep going forever.

2 consecutive nights of more than 6 hours sleep. I feel mighty again.

@briantinnion its probably not for everyone in fairness.

Five is loads pal

What was it Napoleon used to say? ā€œSix hours for a man, seven for a woman, eight for a foolā€

And Bill Hicks said ā€œI need 8 hours sleep a day. And another 12 at nightā€.

Any worry or stress that you have from work gets quickly forgotten.

It isnā€™t easy Brian,

1. Your life revolves around them
  2. You get fuck all time to yourself
  3. Theyā€™re extremely messy fuckers and youā€™re constantly cleaning up after them
  4. They try their best to injure themselves at every available opportunity
  5. They canā€™t do anything for themselves (this improves as they get older but only slightly)
  6. They have no concept of time
  7. They are extremely needy
  8. They cause significant financial strain while making very little financial contribution

In saying all that I wouldnā€™t change anything but I can see why some people wouldnā€™t be bothered with it all

100%
i no longer have it really
going to work can almost be relaxing, ah its different phases in ur life
you really cherish a nite out also, i watched C4 racing there for the first time last week in a year, christ it was great