The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

Take note of what? That yourself and @Appendage are two tards?

It’s a means to an end. As an exercise it has pretty much zero value in itself.

A lot of stuff in life is a means to an end. I’m all for a better solution (but I don’t really give a fuck either).

Many employers place a lot of emphasis on the leaving at graduate level so it’d be a bit dense to disregard it because it’s a pain in the hole.

Or we could all be free spirits and be creative and disregard education altogether.

It’s amazing - My original comment of course was tongue n cheek … but lads that have invested their life in rote learning can’t discern this… however, there is also a great deal of truth in my post, I don’t think these lads really know how bad the leaving has actually gotten - you literally have teachers typing up notes for students and all the student has to do is learn it off… the knock on effect is real, these kids are struggling big time at 3rd level. But, they will always be able to treasure the 525 points that their parents bought for them.

That’s exactly it. Nailed it.

Tongue in hole I’d call it.

Youre the expert, pal… we will roll with that so.

That’s a load of hogwash. Woah, the kids get to learn off a load of notes.:eek: They’ve been saying this stuff for donkeys years but not that you’ve finally grauduated from being a perpetual student to doing some teaching you’re the expert.

A “load of notes” learnt off won’t get you a good score in a language subject. It won’t get you through an aural or oral. It won’t get you through science practicles. The best example of something that you are describing is something like History but you that’s just inevitable with facts and figures. You still won’t get a good score if you can’t critically assess material. Further to that, to the “all they do is a final exam” brigade are totally wrong about the modern day LC.

The LC might not be perfect but it provides the opportunity for a broad range of subjects up to the age of 18 which I agree with.

“Dumbing down” has been a constant refrain about the LC and A Levels for years and years, it doesn’t mean it isn’t important and a great qualification to have.

You are not wrong. There has been a greater focus on looking at people’s Leaving Cert, particularly their English one of late.

Actual employers in the market place.

For any Galway-based posters with kids aged 6 and over, there’s a Lego robotics workshop at the CAFE (Carrabane Arts for Everyone) festival tomorrow. Only a few minutes off the old Dublin Rd in Loughrea.

http://www.thecafefestival.ie/

That’s quite possible. @Appendage certainly is. Doesn’t mean he’s wrong though. Your ridiculous assessment of the leaving cert in its current state ignores the vast majority of students who get by just fine and go on to have normal productive lives. You are the perfect representation of your over and underprivileged upbringing. Railing against the system and the supposedly useless fucks it produces while having spent the best years of your life cosily ensconced in university wanking over your thesis on early irish history while selling overpriced olives and asking lads on the internet to fight you.

Despite being the victim of vile abuse I’m LOL at this post.

No offence intended @Appendage it’s just the TFK way to have a swing at as many as possible while swinging.

:grin:

That’s a fucking belter of a post

Amazing post mate. Respect.

Do you mind me asking how do other kids react to your daughter? Assume they don’t see any difference?

19th century Irish history you fucking spastic.

Thanks @gilgamboa. Kids don’t see any difference really. Her brothers were shocked when it was explained to them. I remember one of them asking me how come other kids looked so much like his sister at a TdeM launch a couple of years ago. Other kids are on the whole great but it’s their parents who lead it as they make sure my daughter is always looked after.
It’s all about normalising Down syndrome. My daughters picture is part of the Here I Am exhibition that toured the country and that helped a lot too. Had to go on the Brendan O’Connor show once but that’s another story…
What’s put in front of them are kids reality, no more than the 5 year old that had his father calling him derogatory names.

It’s a great post Elvis and you seem to be trying to strike the right balance.
Though we tell ourselves and the kids a lot of the time that stuff like the Leaving is not the be all and end all, so they don’t worry about it. But really, it’s part of our job as parents to get them to those end of school exams - whether they want to go off and work with the starving masses, find themselves, go straight to a degree, whatever, they need to have that grounding and some form of educational qualifications. While Tim is a prick, the general just of what he’s saying is true - it’s all very well saying that Gates or Jobs or the like didn’t finish college, you’ve got to have some qualifications, even to get the most menial of jobs if you’re going to live.
But Tim, if your kid is living in fear of not getting a certain level of points to satisfy their father, then their father is being a prick and not working in the kids best interest.

Most companies that offer any sort of graduate programme now look for a 2.1 or higher. Getting into college is only the start. I’m sure some companies want a Masters. I know a company that will only take graduates from Trinity or UCD.

I think what @Elvis_Brandenberg_Kr did was right. If the little one was up since 5.30 then a relaxing walk and some reassurance from the aul Da was a perfect break.

Tim is a prick. No manual comes with fatherhood, Jaysus if you sat down and thought about most things you’d be terrified.

There was a lad in school in Malahide mad for the lessons. Sat at the front of the class, always studying, didn’t mix, didn’t play ball just studied. Didn’t realise but it was his fathers doing. Bumped into him while having a pint about 18 years in Duffy’s and he was mad as a brush. Had spent two years in Portrane Mental Hospital, brain gone.

Might be an extreme case but Id say his Dad regretted giving out the beatings to study.

Kids needs to study of course but kids aren’t all the same. Tim’s sweeping statement shows an immaturity that is soon lost when you sit looking into the cot and think that little thing depends on me for everything.

The leaving cert is important but if they have applied themselves and worked hard there is nothing more you can ask for.

Well done Elvis.