Doesnât square with your âexam factoryâ
It doesnât invalidate what I said. The Institute is an exam factory, its sole purpose is the LC. Thatâs fine for what it is. It teaches you how to do well and that includes critical analysis. The LC no longer is just one exam for many subjects which is another point I was making.
The Institute is grand for what it is but I think when youâre going to school you want a bit more than that.
Regarding the CAO and another point raised on here, Iâve always thought it was a quite a fair system personally. The U.K. And the US have major issues with college acceptances, many of the metrics they look at are totally arbitrary and prone to bias. The CAO might be a fairly blunt instrument but everyone is treated the same. There are so many different routes to go as well that it isnât the end of the world if you donât get what you want first time out.
Not really when an A1 in Physics holds the same value as an A1 in Home Economics
Irish society needs home ec as much as it needs physics right nowâŚ
True. The quality of restaurants is getting worse.
I know what youâre saying Mac but not sure itâs valid with Home Ec. Iâm pretty sure the % who get A1s in Home Ec is one of the lowest in the whole of the LC and the numbers sitting Home Ec, whilst being a bit higher, arenât massively so. Biology would have far greater numbers sitting it vs. Physics, for example.
The big jokes in the LC are minority subjects like Russian which fuck all sit and the majority get A1s as that is probably their native tongue.
Irish being the other joke, which should no longer be compulsory at LC level but remains so to subsidise the Western economy.
And the standard of housewife nowadays is gone to pot altogether. My mate recently got married to a bird thatâs completely into golf, sports, etc. She literally cannot boil an egg. The problem is, neither can he. Theyâre fucked when they have kids. An obese family waiting to happen.
Nice hand grenade. I wonât be biting.
Heâs playing a blinder to be fair.
What is your issue here? The Irish language should be gone. Despite it being given a substantial amount of time from primary school onwards, the nation doesnât have a clue how to speak it. When you compare the amount of compulsory Irish time in Irish schools vs. European students and their standard of English it is laughable.
My personal opinion is that the teachers, DOE & the rest who formulate the language policy donât have any interest in it being spoken fluently. The reason is that if it did become a genuine dual language in this country you wouldnât have parents willing to fork out hundreds per annum in Gaeltacht fees and grinds so little Johnny can get that B in the Junior Cert. Thereâs an awful lot of housing extensions and other infrastructure built in the west dependent on summer influx of students.
Furthermore, you wouldnât have all those cushy jobs for Gaeltacht/Gaelscoil people in the classroom, on tv or in government. The current situation suits them down to the ground. They have money pumped into their pet projects & local economy whilst the nation continues to wander around thinking itâs funny that the only Irish they can remember from school is to ask can they go to the toilet. Itâs a cosy little state subsidised cartel they have going.
Unless the teaching of the language is radically overhauled at primary and secondary level, such that people are close to fluent when leaving school, it should no longer be mandatory at leaving cert level.
Lads,
Any advice on potty training? Young fella is nearly two and a half so itâs time to start Iâm told. Will the house be covered in shit and piss for a few weeks?
Summer is better than winter for it.now is the the time to strike
Weâre starting with our one in the next few weeks. The wife is off work at the moment so sheâll be in charge of it.
Doing it at the moment, total nightmare.
Youngfella has picked up the basics quick enough. Last week I was minding him when he had a shit and piss in the potty. Fair play I said to him and went into the kitchen to get some wet wipes, when I returned he had emptied the contents of the potty all over the fireplace which currently has a huge metal child guard around it.
An absolute fucking nightmare cleaning it all up.
Herself had the child at the doctor a few weeks ago and it came up in conversion. The (female) doctor reccomended that I let him observe me taking a dump and a wiz to get the ball rolling. How fucked up is that? She should be struck from medical register.
Youâre afraid to have your young lad see you taking a shite and a slash? How fucked up is that?
Iâd say most people would feel that way, Steven.
In 2016?
WTF?